4g91

alvin24 said:
performance better of course la... coz' mivec got high cams mar... but reliability isn't there. 1.6 head is not exact fit onto 4G91... compression will still be lost, and the head cooling will be a serious issue here, coz' the water jackets placement if not mistaken are different... this is the main reason why those 4G62 plonk in 4G91 head will have gasket leak every now and then. If u 4G91 plonk in 4G92/93 head will have the same problem confirm!

Besides that... 4G91 got rev cut at 6.8k for a reason... u can't just hike up the rev cut to 9krpm or 10krpm wihtout doing something with the internals. Confirm this engine will kong out the bearings, of blow a hole thru ur pistons, even the 1.8mivecs (4G93 block) also kong out their bearings, u think 4G91's wan can last ah!?! 4G93 has stronger internals than 4G91 lar brader. Even so, u know how much it'll cost for u to plonk in a mivec head + ecu + rechip ar? My workshop can get a mivec complete engine at 3.5k... might as well drop in straight the mivec engine. At least it will be problem free, you'll have high compression internals, comes with g'box everything lar.

If u use 1.8 wiring + ecu... it will definitely produce a super-potato mivec engine! This is because of the tuning part. Mivec when open liau will be running on a completely different fuel mapping.. in other words can be said that mivecs have 2 different fuel mappings. But 1.8 ECU can only contain one. So u'll have to choose to either be super rich at low end before mivec open (which means power loss + super makan minyak), or super lean after mivec open (which means ur engine will knock and kabooom.. u get the picture).

IF u ask me... i say dun spend on all these funny mods lar. Just go for pnp la.. change what head lar. Pointless... coz it effects your reliability too much.

totally agree wif alvin......its not tat easy to 'rojak' the engines wif other parts wifout proper consideration to the tuning and consequences.......there's a reason for every part and ecu mapping to b designed as such.......ok i'm a mivec user but i do believe this theory applies to all sorts of engine modding (e.g mivec turbo, 1.8 mivec, vtec 20b bla bla bla).....dun simply mix n match n think ur car will fly man......

regarding my loss power problem...already send to mech to what is the problem...check the timing of cam..ok then change the electronic distributor...then my car have all the power again...so the car dont have proper timing coz of distributor....now my car like kebah from demam...got all the power back.....

Panadol???

Wlw! guyz serious arr... panadol works for radiator????

normal drive can put in or not ?? next time no need to upgrade double layer /Aluminium radioator already.

anyone knows what a problem when we high rev at high speed we can hear some bunyi kling..kling..klongg..klengg..kleng...on bottom of our engine..but when low speed and low rev don hear sound...my mech adjust advance the timing...& he said that tis is coz of our petrol octane....true is when using petronas the sound is ticking on 80KM of 3500 RPM..onwards...means more high more kuat dia punya kling..klong....ktung...ktang...macam nak pecah engine....but as advice to try other petrol...i try esso...sound arrive at 120KMH....try caltex reduce a bit 140 KMH arrive...mybe true it is about kandungan octane in our petrol + of my advance timing....or any other explaination...?

hi brothers.... pls jump to this thread... http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/showthread.php?t=16273&page=21&pp=15
lets discuss here..(",)

I noticed the last posting was only in 2005....damn...err any update on the price now??? how much would it cost to transplant a 4g91 into my wira?and how much is 4g93 ....

hi, wira lover..tis my 1st time chat at here..i juz downgrade my wira from V6 2 litres to 4g91 last yr..halfcut is 2.4k n 1k of upah...

one year ago the halfcut is 2.4k oni???
dats cheap wei!!!
i oso convert one year ago....
i paid 5k for everythin...
halfcut edi 3.6k if i not mistaken.....

anyway...
its kindda old thread ler...
dunno whether got ppl will read o not...

n...
u from which part of JB???
wanna join JB zth member's for TT???

my car at kuching actually, i'm currently working at s'pore..i heard my fren said , my hometown oso sell 3k+ now..i'm very fortunate..heheheh..but my halfcut engine mileage oledi 150k ...

any,sifu..here.
anyone can give me some info regarding lighten the flywheel..how much should i lighten for my 4g91 origin gearbox flywheel?

TS car got 100hpler with 4g93 cam in it...dyno proven...hahahaha.

2.4k is damn cheap for halfcut, 3k abit fair, but now normally 3.5k or so rite?

sifu fred should knwo the current price..hehehehe

40 pages ler...
who will read??
heehee.....

anyway...
abt the flywheel....
after lighthen u'll feel ur car lighter....
cannot lighthen too much la...
i oso dunno my mech lighthen how much...
should b around 1kg lesser??
not v sure.....

n ur engine mileage really kindda high ler....
but then if in good condition then shouldnt hav big probs la.....
good luck dude.....

abt the halfcut price....
its arounf 3.4k-3.6k now i suppose....
price climbing like mad!!!

calvin, can u share wit me abt ur mod? heheh..if i put in 1.8 putra cam n PnP de hp wil increase how many n cost me how much leh? any idea?

hmm...
i got no idea abt the hp la...
coz i not so rich to do b4 n after comparison on dyno....
1.8 cam + pnp i can oni feel smoother power....
not v much increase....
but then oso coz my mech din setting properly la...
coz i told him the next day i goin to set my cams...
then next day send for setting cam....
damn chun....
engine feel lighter......

but now dun hav the cam setting edi.....
valve seal got prob....
need to open the cams to change...
so hav been suffering wif the power loss.....
i oni get to enjoy the set-ed cam for 1 week.....
heehee.....

anyway...
its based on my own experience la.....
about the hp....
i'll let u know when i get the readings...
but then most probably end of the year...
saving up for piggyback....
heehee

less ppl join here...they all at 4g91 gang..
anyway, thankz for ur info, calvin
paisay..bcoz i juz a beginner ..so mycar stil stock..
juz changing extractor, middle n muffler, iridium spark plug..
n i juz bought items as below...
1. trust open intake airflow
2. cusco front strust bar
3. momo stering

all is 2nd bcoz more cheaper..heheh...