4G91 Gang..

haha bro nothing d. i guess i understand what u mean d. XD hahahah anyways
still thinking whether to BOT or not le. when i suddenly browse back towards this thred at around p 370 onwards.. hahah

---------- Post added at 04:47 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:47 AM ----------

haha bro nothing d. i guess i understand what u mean d. XD hahahah anyways
still thinking whether to BOT or not le. when i suddenly browse back towards this thread at around p 370 onwards.. hahah

Dear 4g91 Gang, just wanna ask few questions here. Recently i plan to convert my 4g13 manual transmission engine to 4g91 manual. The foreman tol me that now a day the price of 4g91 manual halfcut in the market is very high, he suggest me to use the 4g91 auto halfcut and use back my original 4g13 manual gearbox....he said it is more powerful and hav better pickup instate of using the original manual halfcut,coz the 4g91 manual and auto hav different computer chip and the manual 1 hav cut off...i just wana confirm whether the info that is foreman gav is true or not...does any 1 hav any experience on this matter ....thanks all who willing to share...

Dont really know a lot about GB though.. but mine is from a 91,manual.. was an auto b4..But there was an issue with the check engine light that came on 2 months after i change the gearbox..Change the ECU solve it..Some say it might be the auto ECU having problems reading. Since it is a manual already..Duno how true it is though.. GB code, F5M21....think it is the same as a 4g13/15 also...

4G91 gear ratio and 4G13 if not mistaken is the same.

The only difference would be that 4G91 manual gearbox uses clutch pump and the 4G13 gearbox uses clutch cable.

Power shouldn't have any difference... if anything the auto would be less powerful than the manual instead.

But anyhow, buying an auto halfcut and using back the 4G13 manual gearbox is a pretty common way to convert. But I wouldn't recommend you to use racing clutch, if otherwise the tension is a bit too high for clutch cable. Can potentially cut through your firewall.

gonna get my high cams done soon...

lets say in a couple months time i wanna bot it, will the cams be wasted? since bot give alot on mid end torque.... and cams should start kicking at about 4-5k rpm.. hmmmm

---------- Post added at 09:20 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:19 PM ----------

is it gonna be worth while... hope i didnt regret in putting high cams.. =|

BOT also can be tuned for high end... the question is whether the engine can tahan or not? lolz...

Do a dyno on the cams first lor... see how's the power profile like... if the cams deteriorate the low end a lot, means when you BOT also u're gonna experience more turbo lag coz' the low RPMs not power enough to push the turbine =p

alvin,
hmmm yeah the question is whether the block can tahan anot. sighs. lol woah if really lose alot low end, then damn sien if in city. XD but i guess shouldn't be la i read only d, power band should come from 2k rpm -6k rpm.. should be gua for 272/272 cams..

acq,
hmm i bought the duratech ones for 4g93, 272/272 degree and lift is 10.85mm..
haha okay i will let u know soon, cuz right now changing the pistons too, so i dont know need to run in or not first or straight away after pasang everything then can dyno d.. hmm will post it up soon. ;D

re-bore ur block as well?? What size??
Do go 4 a dyno test,wana know the results... My stock 91 pumping out 98.63whp...huhuhu..117Nm... :burnout:

high cams got a lot of overlapping... the overlapping also causes a weaker low end. The overlapping is the actual reason why your car won't be able to idle properly.

Med,that is with ur high cams eh?? what other mods have you done to ur 91??
Interesting....almost 17hp higher then mine..hehehe

Acq,
Haha bro i just change hi cam, gasket, n k&n droP in bro. That's the major mods la I think.. No management no afpr... 15'' enkei rpf1 alloys, cap ayam extractor n muffler xD I think that's all la. And the feeling is at any 4.3k rpm I feel a sudden kick haha not so strong but the kick can feel la hehe advanced exhaust + retard intake I get quite some top end.. But low end its still there la haha but need to always rev high to feel the power...

lolz... next you should go for adjustable pulleys and a management... should help improve the powerband. Also, if you can find, get a 4-1 extractor. I saw before last time, but I forgot who makes them, I think it's R3. It's around 300-400 bux brand new if i remember correctly.

4-1 extractor helps improve your high end... should be suitable to go with cams.

agreed wif alvin.... as i feels the output is a bit low lo....
last time i using Gti cams wif 1.6 block edi getting 107 on wheels.... n 12.++ kg of torque... after tuning wif emanage.....
i believe highcams wif proper management can do better than 115... perhaps should wait for bro joe to come in n share his experience....

hello everybody, im newbie here even almost after a year been monitoring your conversation. Whoa so many info..

Im using 4g91 auto for almost a year already, got termakan racun by reading this forum hehee.. Some apek said im like apek.. Hahaha no mattter la.. im not into fast and furious anymore.. Very standard one, and have tune the engine to give the safer fc. And as a result i got 13-14sen/km during city driving.. Whoaa.. Pretty safe huh?? sometimes do the full run on highway and found out the max speed is just about 167kmh. not to fast huh? I guess cos it was auto transmission.
the only thing is, the pick up is to bad... So.. I dont want to change to m/t but i really want to have a better pick up, then im thinking of doing bot. A very lite one..

Can i put bot without changing to many part from the stock engine? Im thinking about to have a boost under 0.5, really hope this wont need me to change the piston also. And if can, do you think what is the max boost setup can i put in it? To all those sifu... Really need ur expertised here...

alvin & calvin,
i already had my adjustable cam pulleys on, done the setting i think advance intake retard exhaust or either way round i forget need to check again.. hmm management soon la. but now thinking of supercharging it for spirited driving. hehe already got the supercharger kit. but still thinking the stock internals can tahan or not. but since u are already boosting 0.8 bar with stock internals and i most probably will be boosting around 0.3-0.4bar so i think sure can tahan rite? but the thing is the high cam setting when it comes to forced induction... i dont really understand... u said overlapping will cause the unstable idle, and since forced induction dont support the overlapping meaning i wont have the burp burp kinda sound from my exhaust la.. hmmm..

calvin bro,
about the power, i guess i need the management to get it done higher, and since my rev cut is at 6.8k so i think cant unleash the maximum from the cams i guess...

Skut,if ur planning to just make do with low boost,i think it is safe to use the stock internals..Plug and play from a 93T..Some frens have been tempting me to do that as well...hehehe