4g63t tappets making noise

my mech didn't charge me ler... coz i was doing top overhaul as well.
RM80 is for taking out the tappets (workmanship) alone... not changing tappets. Servicing the tappets they charge extra ler... RM50 like that lor...

vestax said:
3rd gen lifters , can get them on ebay ! but its expensive as hell :)

Is it worth it to buy this 3rd gen lifter...if yes, i will purchase this lifter in the e bay by this week....but only can test it next month....pls give me advise...

well according to vfaq its worth it , its much better using it . check the price and compare it with our local workshops , shipping cost a bomb , those stuff are heavy , even you are a staying there , its still gonna be heafty to pay for shipping .

or not you could drop by any mitsubishi dealers back there and ask for thsoe stuff , some dealers has them in stock , might save cost on shipping .

vestax said:
well according to vfaq its worth it , its much better using it . check the price and compare it with our local workshops , shipping cost a bomb , those stuff are heavy , even you are a staying there , its still gonna be heafty to pay for shipping .

or not you could drop by any mitsubishi dealers back there and ask for thsoe stuff , some dealers has them in stock , might save cost on shipping .

This 3rd gen lifter cost about rm 500(16pcs) including shipping.
Hope this will stop the noisy tappet sound....

bro...i notice regarding this 3rd gen lifter postings has d word "shipping" in it...care 2 let us know "shipping" from where???

thnks

Pls go to this web site and search for lash adjuster....
http://www.store.partsdinosaur.com/index.html

hi again ppl....i recently read in d Star papers on sunday...someone was kind enough 2 send in his queries in d papers so dad "daddy fixit" cld share his expertise...coincidently d query was about noisy tappets in his mitsu pajero...basically d reply give by our "mr. daddy" was dat tappets CANNOT b serviced (especially hydraulic ones famous in d mitsu range...)..it has 2 b replaced...dis is indeed bad news 4 us mitsu owners especially s we know d price 4 these tappets (about rm70-80 a pc i think....x 16 pcs=damn a lot of $$$$!!!!)

anyway i checked d above website about d 3rd gen tappets being sold in d states. d good news is i might b going 2 d US either august or early september...so i might (just might...if time permits) 2 go look 4 d shop which sells dis n get it 4 my car...i know few wld want me 2 get d same 4 them but its unfair 4 me 2 ask d $$$ in advance s trust is a very difficult thing...n 4 me 2 buy a few sets wld just cost too much (conversion 2 RM is about RM500 4 d whole set/16pcs...)

anyway,will update later

In d mean time...appreciate other/more opinions/advice/solutions...anything at all related 2 dis matter...things we can use 2 try n eliminate dis problem...

rgds

ok ppl.....confirm flying off 2 d US dis weekend....will try n get dis item (n a namely d EMANAGE ULTIMATE....)....c ya all when i get back...in d mean time keep d postings coming...

go for it!!! if you have $$$$...already install in my 4G63T with this 3rd gen lifter....sound now like a new car....very smooth...

yo e*terna...mind telling us where u got it from??did u order d same site (in d web) or did u get it from here??do tell...

e*terna said:
go for it!!! if you have $$$$...already install in my 4G63T with this 3rd gen lifter....sound now like a new car....very smooth...

juz like 2 share...

after switching from various brands of oil...to ELF 10/40 semi now my tappet noise is gone but still got a lil during cold start...juz a lil :)

fazidk said:
yo e*terna...mind telling us where u got it from??did u order d same site (in d web) or did u get it from here??do tell...

Pls go to this web site and search for lash adjuster....
http://www.store.partsdinosaur.com/index.html

hi ppl..apart from e*terna's suggestion of getting d 3rd gen lifters thru d net...any other shops here in KL (or m'sia) dat sells dis??maybe if there is then cld b cheaper n less hassle...

i also read in here somewhere (cant remember..) a member mentioned dat his car (evo/vr4) using SOLID lifters instead of d original hydraulic lifters...any1 knows HOW dis can b done?? n maybe result or consequences or etc etc

thnks

fazidk said:
hi ppl..apart from e*terna's suggestion of getting d 3rd gen lifters thru d net...any other shops here in KL (or m'sia) dat sells dis??maybe if there is then cld b cheaper n less hassle...

i also read in here somewhere (cant remember..) a member mentioned dat his car (evo/vr4) using SOLID lifters instead of d original hydraulic lifters...any1 knows HOW dis can b done?? n maybe result or consequences or etc etc

thnks

Fazid,

Tried the decarbonizing thingy yesterday to try to solve the 'bogging down' issue when WOT after multiple troubleshooting.. it not only solved my initial problem but the tappet sound too!

Maybe you should give it a try. Wouldn't cost you a fortune for it, just merely for RM85 :)

bro...care 2 share more info on dis process....how?where u did it?maybe i shld try dis 1st since it work 4 u...only then if it DOESNT work will i try something else...worth a shot...thnks...

p.s. hows bisnes...????so lansi now...

hamsap said:
Fazid,

Tried the decarbonizing thingy yesterday to try to solve the 'bogging down' issue when WOT after multiple troubleshooting.. it not only solved my initial problem but the tappet sound too!

Maybe you should give it a try. Wouldn't cost you a fortune for it, just merely for RM85 :)