4G63T Club

starting from last week my vr4 engine got this problem...before this i need only one time crank to start the engine (cold/hot same). Now got this problem even when it warm/cold i need to crank it 2-3 times and a bit longer to start the engine. Are this because of my spark plug coil pack are near to dead or what?well that was told by my mechanic

already done this

1. Fuel presure? don't have fuel gauge tu measure it but my fuel filter +- 25000km old and fuel pump I rewired it for about 1 1/2 month.
2. Capacitor in ECU..i'm not smell any burn and does the JDM 200ps (87/88) ECU got the same problem? So far what i know only JDM 220ps and 240ps got the problem and the ECU are the same as USDM GVR4
3. Dirty air filter - well I already cleaning my K&N yesterday + reoil it using K&N cleaner kit.
4. BAD plug/plug wire- well my plug are +15000km old but i think cable will only effect on which piston/combustion chamber and not all engine.

any suggestion....anybody got coil pack..can used mirage/4g67 NA coil pack or what...same?

bujang... have u check the wirings and connections of your engine relay?
i suspect it might be some loose wirings or bad connection to your relay. give it a check. Usually u will not be able to start the car with a bad relay. So I suspect some bad connection. Coz I experience this b4.. the connector/wiring harness wasn't secured properly to the relay..
How about your earth wirings? sufficient or not?

just my 1.5cent advice stolen from other great sifu's

Originally posted by khoyos@May 10 2004, 10:23 PM
sdf, my car misfiring kow2, after compression test (dunno wether wet or dry), found out 2 piston got compression leak.

no white smoke, boosting black smoke... what could it be?
valve seal?

engine oil consumption normal.
well what are the readings for the conpression test ?. did you pour a cap full of oil while doing the compression test ?.

ezwong2002.......

< bujang... have u check the wirings and connections of your engine relay?
i suspect it might be some loose wirings or bad connection to your relay. give it a check. Usually u will not be able to start the car with a bad relay. So I suspect some bad connection. Coz I experience this b4.. the connector/wiring harness wasn't secured properly to the relay..
How about your earth wirings? sufficient or not?

just my 1.5cent advice stolen from other great sifu's >

well during the fuel pump rewired one month ago , I also did the additional cable grounding ( add 7 more wired)

Bad relay? which relay...aiya so many relay lor...starter relay, head light relay, horn relay...but the problem not at starter relay lor coz my starter working...the only problem like you start the engine with no fuel or spark....

hmm.. what i know is.. me and my sifu mech call that relay (engine relay) i dunno if it is the same with starter relay or not... that engine relay looks kinda huge with metal cover 1. I go spare part shop also they call it engine relay... i will post a pic of the engine relay soon.

Got it from a website:

Intermittent problems with startings are very difficult to find. When the problem of the no start occurs, here are some things to check: Load test the battery. Check that the battery cable connections are clean. Check for 12 volts to starter solenoid with the key in the start position. These things should be checked first then the ignition switch, neutral safety switch, starter and starter solenoid. One of these may be faulty.

this relay ahh...thank you...may i know where are the location for this relay at VR4 engine...is it before the spark plug coil pack...? anybody know the price for brand new and potong one...? :)

so far from Galantvr4.org i got some reply..they said maybe the crank angle sensor or bad capasitor in the ECU....vr4200 got this problem also ka?(bad ecu)

i bought my relay brand new is RM160 summore this is dealer price. second hand.. i have no idea. try to borrow from ur frens relay + ecu and check it out first la. my relay location behind my cd-player compartment there. it's very common for the mitsu's ECU capacitor to leak. I heard it can be changed quite cheaply.

Originally posted by sum-dum-fuk@May 11 2004, 08:18 AM
khoyos..

hmmm...wat engine u using ha ?
is the ECU re-chipped ?

looks more like over fuelling...
compression drop cud oso cause these symptoms...

have u checked ur spark plug ?
ur plug cables ?

;) :D
me using 4G61T, standard ECU, everything stock standard, even boost is standard.
but i tried a chipped ECU for 1 hour, after that plug back standard ecu.
plugs, cables, coil and other stuff in good condition. mechanic said valve seal leaking, must do overhaul or find another engine kosong. :(

khoyos..

valve seals can replace...don cost much...bout rm 300 fer a 'head' job.. ;) (make sure he gets GENUINE Mitsu seals...last longer)

if compression dropped in engine...2 alternatives lar...
1. fastest way but not 100% sure = change engine kosong
2. 100% sure and reliable = overhaul bottom end

for now...check for air leaks....cud be some pipes or hoses leaking...so causing ur black smokes... ;)

khoyos.. ur car got experience loss of power? last time my intercooler steel pipe got a small crack.. slight loss of power -top end- and intermittent black smoke.. at first we(me and my mech) suspected the ECU, relay and fuel regulator have gone crazy.. coz my air/fuel way to rich.. has coz me and my mech so much headache until one fine day.. the crack in the pipe cracked even larger.. den only found the problem. So my lesson is to take out the intercooler pipes and check for leaks. that is the cheapest way to check actually. only cost me RM20 to repair the pipings. :)

mine also got some starting problems once in a while. Sometimes can start easily, sometimes don't even have any sound when I turn the key. Am I correct to diagnose the problem as a starter problem?

Also, when you park your car, is it normal to find some transparent liquid underneath? Or does it mean there is something leaking?

Danny, transparent liquid means normal water izzit? nothing to worry about la.. is from the air-cond. try to check where the water come from lo..

some other additional information on starting problems

1. the flywheel may be the cause of the failing starters. The flywheel is not very expensive but the labor to remove the transmission in order to replace the flywheel is.

2. Check the fuel pump pressure when you are experiencing the poor running conditions. You may have a malfunctioning fuel and/or a plugged fuel filter.

last time one of the tool that i used to detect ic piping crack are my SAFC karman reading....if the karman reading higher than normal ..maybe you have ic piping air leak....yeah my spark plug got lot of carbon..and my engine used lot of petrol duing that time...

I'm also using safc, how do you notice the karman reading is low? what is considered low and what is considered high?

ezwong - ok thanks will check fuel pump... might be the cause also, now I'm using the 1.8 wira fuel pump, maybe it is insufficient. However one of my friend using a weaker fuel pump(1.3 satria) & his vr4 still works up to 0.9 bar. I tried boosting up to 1.3 bar but can hear engine knocking sound, so I decreased back to 0.8-9 bar.

btw today I was at a proton spare part shop, they recommended me to use 3M injector cleaner, supposed to save fuel consumption by cleaning your injectors - anyone tried this? Only costs RM30 per bottle. Quite eager to try it before my next fuel topup if it works.

Danny, maybe it's ur fuel filter..too dirty liao. Ur car got hesitation at high RPM and speed? Some cars with over 100,000km that have not had the fuel injection serviced and appear to be fine. If your car starts idling poorly and losing mileage. Den u can consider cleaning the system. But what the heck for RM30... give it a try lah.. shouldn't cause any harm if the sparepart shop is known to be honest, however i dun trust the supermarkets selling those injector cleaners.

Danny
wah used wira 1.8 fuel pump boost at 0.9 arr...please dont laa...last time i'm using my ori perdana fuel pump for my vr4 engine...2 month running at 1 bar...my exzos manifol crack and turbine housing crack...dengerous lor...running stock boost maybe ok..and make sure your fuel filter change to new one lor....and rewired your fuel pump...safety maa.....
As for karman ready....for idle it should be at 30-40hz and cruising at 90kmh should be around 200-250hz ...if more than that eg 350-450hz during crusing, maybe you ic piping leaking....

Ezwong...
My starting problem not solve yet ar...don't have time to check ar..always go to work using my bike...my car already 5 day haven start ooo....but i got some info so i need to check at my
1. ECU - maybe leak capasitor
2. Crank Sensor - give a clean up
3. engine relay - maybe
4. Coil plug -maybe