4G63T Club

coughing black smoke ? i also donno , but like what sdf said could be leaks , maybe the blow valve hose didn't reroute back to the airfilter ?. just check it out .

anyway yesterday spend hole day on the car , clean the throttle body , damn alot of carbon build up's , and now its more responsive . :lol:

http://www.fivio.com/vestax/vr4/diy/resize.jpg

http://www.fivio.com/vestax/vr4/diy/resize4.jpg

i notice the spare throttle body i took out from the mirage eci multi inlet , looks like its smaller then the cyclone tb , vr4 is on 60mm right and the evo are 54mm , looks like its the size of the evo tb . but people say eci multi has less restriction then the cyclone . damn pening aready ..

http://www.fivio.com/vestax/vr4/iscthrottle.jpg

http://www.fivio.com/vestax/vr4/diy/inlet.jpg

thanks for your diagnostics sdf and vestax... will inform my mechanic to check it tomorrow. I also suspect something is loose coz it happened when I revved up to approx 6000rpm then suddenly the car stalled & when I restart it started coughing black smoke immediately.

btw just in case one of the hose is cracked/torn, any idea where to get replacements?

that red arrowed thingy there.. chocolate color thingy.... is dat the one dat always fail and ur timing goes a little crazy? Vertax.. u know any idea how much dat thing usually will cost?

ezwong2002 ,
the thing is called ISC " idle speed control " , yes if the isc is spoild you`ll face idling surge . i don't think the kedai potong will sell the isc alone , im sure they`ll sell it togather with the throttle body .

Bought those before guess its 50 bucks.. Just wanna ask a few question is the throttle body for evo and gsr the same size... which is 54mm.. wat about the intake manifold for the evo ? Is the evo have a shorter track than the VR4...and a smaller dia...

Just curios.. Can we fix in a 93T clutch on an evo engine and will it slip or not... Can it last... :D

Originally posted by GSRTurbo@May 7 2004, 02:33 AM
Just curios.. Can we fix in a 93T clutch on an evo engine and will it slip or not... Can it last... :D
evo runs on 7 bolts so i don't think the gsr clutch will fit in . if not mistaken gsr , mirage & vr4 using the same clutch and has 6 bolts on the flywheel .

Originally posted by vestax+May 7 2004, 06:11 AM-->
QUOTE (vestax @ May 7 2004, 06:11 AM)
--QuoteBegin-GSRTurbo
@May 7 2004, 02:33 AM

evo runs on 7 bolts so i don't think the gsr clutch will fit in . if not mistaken gsr , mirage & vr4 using the same clutch and has 6 bolts on the flywheel . [/b][/quote]
Clutch for both GSR, VR4 and EVO I-III are the same size... the clutch size follows the flywheel size...

as for the flywheel.. both GSR and EVO I - III are using the 7 bolts while VR4 using the 6 bolts...

Originally posted by GSRTurbo@May 7 2004, 02:22 AM
Bought those before guess its 50 bucks.. Just wanna ask a few question is the throttle body for evo and gsr the same size... which is 54mm.. wat about the intake manifold for the evo ? Is the evo have a shorter track than the VR4...and a smaller dia...
RM50? Are u sure? I got for RM105 bucks used summore..... Can u tell me where to source dat thing for RM50??? Did u know this thing is rarely sold separately?

Got it some time in Klang but the problem is still there so just use the bypass valve to ctrl the aircond.... Not sure wats the problem maybe its the wiring though....

I'm using the 93T clutch on the evo but seems to be not so durable... Need a bit of info whether its the same size or not... thks.

gsr..

the 93T clutch smaller... 8 1/2 inche
4G63 = 9 inch...

datz da diff... :D

I thought the 93T is havin 9" while the 93P is having 8.5 so its 8.5" for GSR and 8" for 93P. izzit?

Originally posted by CarismaGT+May 7 2004, 07:45 AM-->
QUOTE (CarismaGT @ May 7 2004, 07:45 AM)
Originally posted by vestax@May 7 2004, 06:11 AM
--QuoteBegin-GSRTurbo
@May 7 2004, 02:33 AM

evo runs on 7 bolts so i don't think the gsr clutch will fit in . if not mistaken gsr , mirage & vr4 using the same clutch and has 6 bolts on the flywheel .

Clutch for both GSR, VR4 and EVO I-III are the same size... the clutch size follows the flywheel size...

as for the flywheel.. both GSR and EVO I - III are using the 7 bolts while VR4 using the 6 bolts... [/b][/quote]
oh gsr is on a 7 bolt too ? alright thanks didn't know that , so that means mirage & vr4 share's the same clutch and flywheel .

Originally posted by sum-dum-fuk@May 7 2004, 01:43 PM
hmm..as far as i know...the 93T oso 8.5"... :D
sdf -

Last time I ordered clutch for my 4G93T 4WD G/B... the deng sparepart fella also say same size with 4G93P gearbox 1..... when i got the clutch.. it's smaller den the original 4G93T GB clutch... however I did not measure the diam... too bad. But my guess is 8" for 4G93P and 8.5" 4G93T GB. :)

vestax & sdf... woohoo... problem solved..thanks.. at least now I can drive the car around. Hope that it is reliable enough to drive on a daily basis.

May I know, is there anyway to increase the top speed for gsr gearbox? Not used to the close ratio.. I think 180kmh is the max & most of the time I am cruising at 4th or 5th gear in the city.

Also, what is a safe boost to run at? Now it is 0.6 bar but cannot feel the ooomph...hehehh...my friend's 0.9 bar can feel my back sticking to the chair.

Originally posted by sum-dum-fuk@May 7 2004, 10:57 AM
gsr..

the 93T clutch smaller... 8 1/2 inche
4G63 = 9 inch...

datz da diff... :D
SDF: there are cases whereby some 93T comes wiff smaller flywheel... i have seen 3 units... as for my 93T and other of my fren's flywheel is the same size as EVO I-III but if u were to follow the clutch catalog actually its the same size for EVO I-III and VR4