2006 Bahrain

kimi as usual from last to third....amazing

I found that now we can see competitive racing with V8 engine
lotsa overtaking & drama

what happened to Massa ? brakes & suspension failure ?

alonso looks so "pondan-ish" or queer-like mannerism/antics at the end of the race.

could the stories be true? the "soft" champion amongst the man-world drivers???

man, i sure a lot more queer chaps will be rooting for him this season.

BlackSamurai said:
i personally think that Renault and McLaren have a faster car. Ferrari need to have a good tactic to win.
but thing may turn around when they get back to Europe. :)

true and false, renault does not have a faster car, but their car is currently on par with the ferrari. McLaren is not bless with a faster car, the way they qualify shows that the car is not fully prep for race day and yet for the whole season.

ferrari is well known for their tactics since last few years, their times of glory, but they have to approve that others improved a lot during the years too

cheers!!

Right, I'm sure you would know better compared to Alonso, Schumacher, etc.

Bahrain has demonstrated that Ferrari and Renault are equals and we got a good view thanks to Alonso and Schumacher's tussle at the front, we saw Honda showing ample pace but couldn't capitalise thanks to some mediocre drivers (read Button and Barichello) and Kimi displayed what the McLaren is capable of by coming from the back of the grid on to the podium. He could easily have been in the reckoning for the win if not for the qualifying incident.

1 second shorter pit stop was what it took for alonso to win. if he stopped for 8++ seconds like schuey, he surely will come out behind him and since overtaking was almost impossible he would end up at 2nd place.

but alonso drove well (the reason he was last season's champion). but i am happy ferrari fought back from zero in the last race 2005 to hero yesterday. ferrari will give renault some hard time this year, especialy with tyre change rule is back benefitting Bridgestone lah!

but in terms of acceleration, i think renault has the upper hand. m schumacher determination is lower than alonso too. perhaps, 2nd place on the podium was good enough for him.

massa was good, as well as rosberg.

1 thing i noted is that small F1 teams did better job of finding new talents.
example Nick Heidfeld, Kimi Raikonen, Felipe Massa all started F1 with Sauber. Even world champion Fernando Alonso and Mark Webber begun as Minardi drivers! (used to be backmarkers)

I want mclaren n kimi raikonnen to win this season..3rd place is gewd expecially starting from way bak at the grid..hope more action happens in sepang..like bahrain..newayz the race was great!!go kimi go..!!!

si|verfish said:
Right, I'm sure you would know better compared to Alonso, Schumacher, etc.

Bahrain has demonstrated that Ferrari and Renault are equals and we got a good view thanks to Alonso and Schumacher's tussle at the front, we saw Honda showing ample pace but couldn't capitalise thanks to some mediocre drivers (read Button and Barichello) and Kimi displayed what the McLaren is capable of by coming from the back of the grid on to the podium. He could easily have been in the reckoning for the win if not for the qualifying incident.

button n barrichello might not be the same level as MS, FA or KR.. but they are for sure not mediocre.. in fact if it wasnt some bad luck both honda would be fighting strongly for the podium n maybe even the win.. while kimi drove a great race from the back of the grid.. its mainly due to a good strategy from mclaren and some good luck he has on race day (note: drivers from top team retiring or having their own problem with cars).. he might win the race if the qualifying incident dint happen but its not as straight forward as it seems as there are 4 equally match team this yr n some mid level teams that are not far from behind in terms of performance

zan said:
1 second shorter pit stop was what it took for alonso to win. if he stopped for 8++ seconds like schuey, he surely will come out behind him and since overtaking was almost impossible he would end up at 2nd place.

but alonso drove well (the reason he was last season's champion). but i am happy ferrari fought back from zero in the last race 2005 to hero yesterday. ferrari will give renault some hard time this year, especialy with tyre change rule is back benefitting Bridgestone lah!

but in terms of acceleration, i think renault has the upper hand. m schumacher determination is lower than alonso too. perhaps, 2nd place on the podium was good enough for him.

massa was good, as well as rosberg.

i thing i noted is that small F1 teams did better job of finding new talents.
example Nick Heidfeld, Kimi Raikonen, Felipe Massa all started F1 with Sauber. Even world champion Fernando Alonso and Mark Webber begun as Minardi drivers! (used to be backmarkers)

the tyre rule might not have benefit bridgestone team completely due to some graining issues n also first lap performance.. however it did make it closer for teams this yr

MS wasnt having lower determination.. he is playing smart.. its the first race of the season so no much pt throwing pts away jus for an extra 2 pts.. (n benefiting KR who might be his main competitor for WDC this yr).. plus he needs to take care of the engine for the next race.. so its pretty smart although i admit it was disappointing he dint give it all the lst few laps

smaller f1 team is not better in fnding drivers.. alot of these so called better drivers are put in these smaller team by bigger team.. for instance FA n MW, they are put in Minardi by flavio.. bigger teams cant risk training a rookie as they might loose the constructor championship.. so they normally leave it to smaller teams

DarkFibre said:
true and false, renault does not have a faster car, but their car is currently on par with the ferrari. McLaren is not bless with a faster car, the way they qualify shows that the car is not fully prep for race day and yet for the whole season.

ferrari is well known for their tactics since last few years, their times of glory, but they have to approve that others improved a lot during the years too

cheers!!
not true and false, just agree and disagree, that was just my personal opinion. :biggrin:

but i dun know why you guys says that Renault is on par with Ferrari?
Alonso suffer some time lost due to heavy traffic and the absentive of blue flag while he is trying to sqeeze all the time out at Schumi's last pit (you can see the frustraded Alonso waving his hand on the air), but still, Alonso manage to snatch 1st place from Schumi.

but on par or not, it's good to see more head to head racing in F1 :biggrin:
Like schumi said, if you look at Ferrari's last year performance, and compare with the race yesterday, fuck, they improved damn a lot.

AND I LIKE THE BRAND NEW QUALIFYING! the only draw back is the last session (20 mins) is too long, all drivers just go out and burn their oil at the first few minutes, it will be nicer if it's shorter (15 mins maybe?)

GT3 said:
button n barrichello might not be the same level as MS, FA or KR.. but they are for sure not mediocre..
In my book, they are not top drawer, therefore, mediocre. Of course, Button may go on and prove me wrong this season. Barichello on the other hand, his time has come and gone.

in fact if it wasnt some bad luck both honda would be fighting strongly for the podium n maybe even the win..
Nobody denied that

while kimi drove a great race from the back of the grid.. its mainly due to a good strategy from mclaren and some good luck he has on race day (note: drivers from top team retiring or having their own problem with cars).. he might win the race if the qualifying incident dint happen but its not as straight forward as it seems as there are 4 equally match team this yr n some mid level teams that are not far from behind in terms of performance
Eh...is that any different from what I've said? And tactics is part of racing as was brilliantly demonstrated by Renault and Alonso in Bahrain.

si|verfish said:
In my book, they are not top drawer, therefore, mediocre. Of course, Button may go on and prove me wrong this season. Barichello on the other hand, his time has come and gone.

Eh...is that any different from what I've said? And tactics is part of racing as was brilliantly demonstrated by Renault and Alonso in Bahrain.

ah ok.. well im not sure mediocre can be use to describe any f1 drivers.. some of them might not be like michael schumacher but they are far from mediocre.. but thats personnal.. no right or wrong..

hehe there is abit diff.. u said mclaren could hav easily be reckoning the win.. jus saying its not that simple..

GT3 said:
ah ok.. well im not sure mediocre can be use to describe any f1 drivers.. some of them might not be like michael schumacher but they are far from mediocre.. but thats personnal.. no right or wrong..

hehe there is abit diff.. u said mclaren could hav easily be reckoning the win.. jus saying its not that simple..
Mediocre in the arena of F1. Even Pat Symonds agrees. Of course not when comparing to normal people. Are you fully awake today?

Been in the reckoning means he would be fighting with Schumacher and Alonso at the front. Of course it isn't simple. Man, go get a cup of coffee already.

the new japanese team when enter the pit stop......hit his own pit crew...and kena ban....

so funny

2zzge said:
the new japanese team when enter the pit stop......hit his own pit crew...and kena ban....

so funny
Super Aguri's rookie, Y.Ide, but i don't know that he get a ban for next race.
New F1 pit lane rule? Schumi did that few years ago and nothing happen to him.

*QUOTES OF THE RACE for 2006 Bahrain: :biggrin:

"Another day, another win. Just give me the Championship now, save everybody the trouble. Look at my crotch!" - Fernando Alonso

"Settle down there, Junior. Don't make me hit you with my walker. *sigh* Kids these days..." - Michael Schumacher.

"mmbmmml rmmummbl pmmmblsmm mbm. mmnmbmmvmbmm." - Kimi Raikkonen (has there EVER been someone who looked less happy to be on the podium than Kimi today?)

"No, really. This year for sure I'll win. Hey, where are you guys going?" - Jensen Button.

"I was completely invisible this race. At least I didn't run into a backmarker. Tennis anybody?" - Juan Pablo Montoya.

"Today’s race was superb, a really good job by the whole team, we really could not have asked for more." - Mark Webber. ("Yes we could. We could have won." - Sir Frank Williams)

"I'm 21, intelligent, good-looking, single, and I'm a F1 driver. God, I've got a wonderful life." - Nico Rosberg.

"*staring daggers at Rosberg*" - Christian Klein.

"I must say that it really was a pity. I had a very competitive car, and (falls off chair)." - Felipe Massa.

“I flat spotted early on when I was wheel to wheel with Nick (Heidfeld), which afterwards caused huge vibrations in the car. There’s so much vibration when that occurs, you lose visibility, your eyes are shaking in your head and it feels like you’re sitting on top of a spin drier. You can’t read the pit board nor the displays in the car. The team wanted me to do an oil transfer, but I had to ask them what colour the button was that I needed to press, as you can’t read anything when it’s like that. It’s horrible and rounds off a pretty disappointing weekend.” - David Coulthard's Chin (note: real quote)

"What is this 'Toro Lawnmowero'?" - Vitantonio Liuzzi.

"Are you sure I'm not Mark Webber?" - Nick Heidfeld. (note: we're sure.)

"Speed. Spelled s-p-e-e-d. American." - Scott Speed.

"Would you like fries with that?" - Ralf Schumacher, practicing for his next job.

"*sob* It's a new year, a new team, and nothing has changed. *sob* gimme another beer..." - Rubens Barrichello.

"I just pushed as hard as I could for the whole race - but the harder I pushed the slower I seemed to go! Maybe I should have tried the pedal on the right?" - Jarno Trulli.

"The car is definitely faster and better than it was last year. It's not quick enough at the moment, but I'm sure we can find the speed." - Tiago Montiero (note: try four places ahead of you, Tiago.)

"It is a fantastic result for us. I think that the boys in the garage deserve to be happy because they worked so hard to get us here to Bahrain. And all the bodywork is still attached!" - Takuma Sato.

"So I'm supposed to STOP in that little box? Really? Well! Who'd've thought?" - Yuji Ide.

"*sniff sniff* Hey, who's barbequeing? Wha? AIEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!" - Jacques Villeneuve.

"Those wacky Renault engineers... they forgot to put the cap back on the hydraulic lines. Hahahahahaha. What a great practical joke! (sob) They hate me." - Giancarlo Fisichella

"No, I've had no problems adapting to Midland. Feels just like Minardi, actually." - Christijan Albers.

Do you realise that Fisi's bad luck continue?
Alonso won the race and Fisi DNF again (How many DNF he have last year?)

quote from Fisi
Fisichella however had time to temper his emotions and said on Monday, "Last year, I won the first race then had a difficult season. This year, I hope it will be the other way round - a bad race then a lot of good results!"
Fisi cursing Alonso... :biggrin: :biggrin: