Originally posted by e f i n i-@Feb 18 2005, 14:45
hmmm....curious... how come 2JZ cant rev that hard when civics and all those can rev till 8k rpm or higher...
is it cuz of the peak power gain that is at 5600(is it?) or around 6000 rpm?
how if the supra has already been modded extensively?
but then, if power gain is at, say, 6400rpm, theres not point revving it till 7000rpm cuz the power is dropping edi, right?
sorry, very n00b here.
its not really about when is the peak power, but its more like where is the torque band.
lets say peak power at 6400rpm, yeah your power might drop, but they didn't say it dropped instantly to zero, its just not as high as the peak power.
so you might ask why rev pass the peak power? no benifit right? well one thing to remember is where you will end up when you upshift..
example, atlantic 4ag, let say its torque band is from 8000rpm to 10000rpm, peak power at 9500rpm. let say the gear ratio will make it drop 2500rpm when shift. you go to 9500rpm, and then shift up and it drop to 7000rpm, and then you tell yourself "alamak no power"...
thats why just continue reving the engine until you know that you will have more torque after you shift, then you shift, so you won't lose power. eg, rev to 10200-10500rpm before shifting up so you will ended in 7700-8000rpm, which is the begining of the torque band..
all this info found in some drag racing info page, teaching about shifting to get the most out of the engine.
don't flame me on the stat of the atlantic 4ag :ph34r: .. example only... only read from atlantic page that 16v trd 4ag peak torque 7700rpm peak hp 9500rpm :ph34r: