1988 Corolla Liftback - 4A-FE

terry-byte

hie guys.... okay .. noob here... but just wondering what's the power rated for this engine and what modifications can i do to it in order to harness more power..

hmm.. in the mist of rebuilding this car and hopefully y'all can give comments on it.... as for the putting in supercharger and expensive mod.. i dun think i'm financially sound to do that now.. hehe.. so minor mod which bolsters some power from the engine will be greatly appreciated.. hehe... thanks guys for helping in advance....

not so sure but, it should be around 100ps and 100lb-ft or 13.8kg-m of torque. hope that helps.

wan your car to be faster ar? last time the advice given to me by all those sifoo is to upgrade the handling of the car first, touch the engine last. wan get more power from the engine for now, try revving the engine in the correct power band, reving a 4afe in the 3-6k rpm range would be good for power.

just my 2 cent.

yeah power output as per quoted by rollakid becoz the same engine with EFI; 4A-FE fitted on 1991 AE101 Corolla SE-G and 1995 AE111 Corolla SE-G dont even have 105bhp. but the engines are ultra reliable, low in maintenance, not so expensive to repair, quite economical and the said cars themselves are nice to drive.

as the 1988 AE92 Corolla 1.6GL u mentioned terry-byte is 4A-F and equipped by single carb (not EFI) thus the power outputs shud be lower than that. uprating by transplant is easy however.

As rollakid mentioned..handling first then touch engine last..i think this only implies to those who plan to race in the track or join any sso. Coz im still using stock suspension..cornering tekan ur car will flung..Haha!

hmmm..... seems like it's got little power ... argggghh.. it doesn't help to change car...hehehe.. currently driving mazda astina.. thought it's gonna be more powerful than that....i'm disappointed.. hehe...

well well, will try to see if i can save up money to have a engine transplant.... saw 1 near my workplace in DU with 4A-GZE (datz superchrage) rite.... cute lil' intercooler on top of the engine.. haha...

As for engine maintanence and extra parts... i think it should be easily source since it's a toyota.. heeh.. they have quite made a name for themselves for 'quality engines' eh...hhehe..

hopefully fuel-saving too since gov't looking towards hiking oil prices more in the future...

oh yeah, you guys mentioned handling 1st then only internals... hehe.. was thinking of putting sports suspension but i want comfort too... i guess sports and comfort can't go hand in hand huh.... koni??? tein??? kyb??? Actively searching for rims too.. perhaps i should visit klang sometime soon.. hahah... get some nice a** rims and give it an ol' skool' feelin;'.. hehehe....

anyway, thanks guys for all ur info and help!!! cheerssss~~

erm, some personal advice...get a good set of tyres and decide which size and profile u wanna go with before u tune the suspension. otherwise its juz a waste of time.

its like this...

try 205/45R16 and if u feel the ride is firm enuff but at the same time improved handling, then no need to lower the car so much. just an example. if u feel 16 inch wheels are a little bit on the heavy side, then u might try 195/50 R15. u will lose grip and handling a bit compare to the 16" but rides better.

and get some advice from sifus...all the best!! :D

I heard that those old toyota engines are built like a tank. Tough and all that shit. How true are those claims?

that's wat i heard from old timer mechanics..especially Nissan engines.

from a point of view, old engine blocks were made of cast iron therefore they are tougher even though heavy and not efficient as modern engines which are made either of aluminium, alloy or mixture of both.