Replacement of clutch

eejart

Hello all! Sorry if this is a noob question.. My almost stock E7 has been running about 20k KMs from when I took it over from the previous owner with no info on the clutch and has recently been slipping a lot. i.e when I want to floor it from 3rd gear the revs go up first and I'm forced to release the accelerator to let it catch up with the speed.

So my question is, what is the average cost of replacing the clutch (or what ever the part affected is) for our car? I've ruled out trying to do it myself :P and my regular workshop which only does normal cars doesn't want to do it. Also, what is a clutch you guys recommend for a standard Evo like mine?

any help is appreciated!

Hello all! Sorry if this is a noob question.. My almost stock E7 has been running about 20k KMs from when I took it over from the previous owner with no info on the clutch and has recently been slipping a lot. i.e when I want to floor it from 3rd gear the revs go up first and I'm forced to release the accelerator to let it catch up with the speed.

So my question is, what is the average cost of replacing the clutch (or what ever the part affected is) for our car? I've ruled out trying to do it myself :P and my regular workshop which only does normal cars doesn't want to do it. Also, what is a clutch you guys recommend for a standard Evo like mine?

any help is appreciated!

buy ori mitsubishi clutch bro..
clutch + bearing price abt - Rm 1800 & installation cos abt - Rm 500.
u can go kevin workshop at subang area..belakang r1
satisfied with his job ...just my opinion..

oic, that's not too hefty thankfully! good info, thanks ;) but I'm kinda biased by many online opinions saying that the ori Evo clutch is weak, is this true?

if after market clutch set will cost u almost triple from the stock one....anyway it depends on yr requirement...u can go fro twin plate racing clutch if u want....hard to drive but great grips and fast!! bout rm5k for it.

contact evokit, his workshop at old klang road...he does many of our evo, nice workmanship and reasonable price too.....

Icic. Actually was hoping to hear some reviews and recommendations for Exedy's Hyper Single but it looks like a small upgrade is going to tear up the budget kaw2.. I'll contact evokit and seek for his advice :)

thanks guys!

I have used Exedy Hyper single before ... for that price, u are either better off sticking to original or upgrade to twin plates to take care of future upgrades and some runs on the track every now & then.

I have a new HKS GD PRO Twin plate with conversion kit and new bearing for sale. ... look in the Marketplace section.

Thanks Pablo! Now that I've got the rough idea (figures) edi.. PMed evokit already as well and am awaiting his word of advice :) thanks a lot!

U r welcome, Eejart!

Ohh, i also have a twin plate Ogura Racing clutch for 5 speed for sale ... plates betweenn 50% to 70 % intact.

Comes with conversion kit. Needs new bearing.

will post all that in the Marketplace section.

Wah bro,

Where u hidding for long ? So many clucth for spare .. told u ur car must use triple-plate lah .. not twin plate

no laa ...Han.. de-modding ... what ever out from car ready for sale laa ... i hiding from 'ah longs' laa... :bawling:

demodding ka bro....you're not old enuff la bro...my father in law still keeping his RX7 and he is 75...hehehehe

Bump: demodding ka bro....you're not old enuff la bro...my father in law still keeping his RX7 and he is 75...hehehehe

Your father different maa ... me fm golongan miskin ... not golongan Datuks!! :adore::thefinger::rofl: or for that matter, golongan anak Datuks!! :thefinger:

woahh.. stuff for monsters man! doesn't belong on a stock waja like mine :adore: just out of curiosity though.. how much you wanna sell the ORC?

you don't have to be Datuk wurt.. can be Dato/Tan Sri/Tun Sri etc also qualify :D

Your father different maa ... me fm golongan miskin ... not golongan Datuks!! :adore::thefinger::rofl: or for that matter, golongan anak Datuks!! :thefinger:

hey our bro zi not only datuk .. lah ..is golongan tan sri ..:listen: U dont simply categorize later u kena ISA ..

Hmmm....

Clutch issues..i kena one time at hari raya..hehehehe..nobody open garage that day..kena open up myself with a help of my cousin (mechanic that normally service kancil & proton), buy the spare myself & end up 7 day man...hehehehehe...but fully satisfy on what i did...

If you dont want it to happen on the road, i think u better change it before its too late..otherwise. :bawling:.u know lah..hahahaha..just my experience..