Actually the escort police, especially the outriders right up front are fukn brave. A lot of them do die while escorting (let's not argue about life vs VIP protection and escort) VIPs cause they are the front line. People aren't aware of them coming. By the time the rest of the convoy approaches, people know for a fact that a VIP is coming past.
Especially the UTK guys. If you notice our YDP Agung has two black motorcycles riding by his window as do PM and DPM. Usually there will be XC90s with blacked out windows following behind. The reason its blacked out cause trust me, you don't wanna see whats inside. These UTK guys are alot different than normal cops. But during long distances, instead of the motorbikes, the XC90 will drive alongside the car, like maybe 1-2 feet from the window from which the VIP is seated.
If I'm not mistaken, the proper protocol is 12 police outriders up front or something for Heads of State such as YDP Agung or visiting leaders from other countries. Note that when other leaders arrive, their bodyguards are not armed similarly if Pak Lah goes overseas, the UTK guys are not armed. The host country is responsible.
Normal Cabinet Ministers are allowed to have a single police outrider. But of course they don't use the outriders all the time. It's only when they are late for very crucial events like receiving VIPs from other countries or our Rulers. It's also protocol for an outrider to be on standby at the toll for Cabinet Ministers when they drive outstation. For example if a Minister drives to Melaka, he would go in his official car with a driver and bodyguard but the moment they enter Melaka, a local police outrider would await cause they are more familiar with routes etc. This is the responsibility of the Ministers bodyguard to liase with local traffic police.
The only Cabinet Minister that does have a black UTK motorcycle alongside his car at all times is the Minister of Home Affairs. Other than that, their bodyguards are normal PDRM but all Minister's houses are protected by UTK.
Sorry for the long post, didn't realize I went on for so long. I should become an writer and publish novels. Hahah.
Hope they use for a good purpose and dun pick on other ppl.Myb the patrol for catching Sg/Jb monsters,hee.But yeah,500hp on EVO quite fast
but still can they catch up a PORSCHE or FERRARI?i heard 500hp EVO had a hard time to outrun Commodore Police in OZ
I`m sure anyplace patrol police will be trained but it still depends on driver arm n leg
I remember how the Aussie Police used to have Holden Commodore SS which at the time was the most powerful V8 Holden, above that you would have had to buy the HSVs (Holden Special Vehicles) which had even more HP.
After awhile, they had to replace those with the V6s because so many police officers crashed. It's understandable given the torque and RWD lol.
Having said that, the Aussie police are required by law to abort chases above a certain speed at which point its considered endangering the lives of the Police officers not to mention innocent road users. I believe the speed was around 200-220km/h but I cannot confirm cause we've always gotten away LOL.
Kaminari - I'm sure Suki and Yuri have told you about our younger days of police choppers, road spikes etc.
Anyways, are the Evo X's speed limited @ 180km/h? Would be dumb if were so I'm sure its removed. Anyone care to confirm?
guys be positive ..when the Italians use Lambo's everyone goes wow and kepo ' but when our police force upgrade sikit...already kena negative comments...how we Malaysians can improve like ths....make no mistake they are skilled drivers and riders...ive personally seen police outriders in action,I have high respect for them.
If I'm not mistaken, car makers like Lambo, etc usually contribute a car to their local police. Porsche donated 911s to the German Police for use on the Autobahn in the past.