Opinions on Oil Additives

miriguy

Anyone ever tried STP products? Mainly the Octane Booster and Fuel Injector Cleaner. Are they any good? Or is there any other better additive than the STP brand?

frankly it depend on your car, if your car oil hasn't been change or engine dirty even u put rocket fuel it wont do any difference, however if u did put on carburetor there abit of difference if injection it like u put petrol on a bicycle (coz the fuel is electronically control not manual), but for me better put the rm18 on fuel can get 10L of petrol (than 500ml of unknown liquid)

my best advise if want to save fuel, if your car is 10years, overhaul (either top or major) clean throttle body or carburetor, get the car tuned properly and buy good tyre (cleaner engine=better burning= save fuel)

i use yokohama, before use goodyear. yokohama give me comfortable ride, better handling and save abit of fuel

p/s: clean your trunk, of un needed junk, then if have roof rack take it off and use only if needed, n spoiler take tht off if you not going more thn 200kmh, i will just slow u n give more weight and drag to car,

hope tht help u

Bump: oh forgot the fuel injector cleaner are no good, the best way to clean is to take it off, beside ur car are running everyday tht fuel injector hard to get dirty, wht u need to clean is the carb coz tht will get dirty faster tht injector, there are other brand like stop oil, x1r n few more

Well I do use X1-R, but my dad's the one who keep puttin it in the car. But here's a top tip from Fifth Gear. After watching it, I kinda lose my faith on fuel additives.

First of all, a lot of Malaysian miss interpret the words additives.

When it come to additives, everyone will think about increasing horsepower. But in the real world, additives in for car consumer like us should comprise of function
1. To reduce wear
2. To enhance fuel efficiency
3. Lower running temperature
4. improve knocking
5. reduce noise
6. Detergent abilities

alot of additive is found in the shelf in oversea and each have it function not like in malaysia where the power up and fuel saving additives is all they claim.

For those who want to use additives, first is to ask why do you need that additives? DO you intend to increase the power ? to enhance fuel efficiency? to reduce tear and wear? to clean the engine ?

Ask yourself why before you buy!

If you are not sure what you are buying, stick to the basic, get a good engine oil or any other oil from good brand , good supplier. SO next time when you pay for your stuff, you know why is more expensive then the rest or something similar, because its already contain the additional additives you wanted.

I seen before joker actually add brake oil additives into their braking fluid. PLEASE do not do that all ZTH, you must be kidding with your life when you do that...:stupid:

Uiii... brake oil additives into brake fluid? O_O
Is that fella still ok? Bahaye~

got, remember all oil is from same base oil. of course base stock oil got various grade, but in general your engine oil, transmission oil, gear oil axle oil all same from step one, but latter add modifier + additive so it turn out to be the desired oil we want

same goes to brake fluid, coolant, is all derive from oil into as chemical product we see. in order the brake fluid to work it magic, we need to include certain amount of additives and enhancements to it

Say DOT 3 comes with a wet boiling point of ~140C & DOT 4 gives about ~150C, so in order to increase the 10C in boiling point, we need a substance to do that, and that we call and additives or enhancement.

But the case here, the joker actually added some yellowish fluid into the brake pot and I am sure is not the right thing at all because it cos him 3.90 for 500ml .. :biggrin:

later his brake jammed baru tahu, my car kena once brkae jammed, lucky it end up on a oversteer

hua~ scary... In conclusion, use what's usually used instead of adding things up.

but even now the good engine oil has engine treatment/ cleaning agent so why tambah?

I think just let the engine oil manufacturer comes up with better things instead of us trying to make things better while dunno what the heck r we puttin in our engine.

but even now the good engine oil has engine treatment/ cleaning agent so why tambah?

besides the cleaning agent, the addictive that adding into the oil is bout less than 5% ppm. we can make it better coz the addictive is almost the same or better than from fac that we can get outside.

some good engine oil has the function of even cleaning the injectors.

This is a very crucial factor for the diesel with tdi technology. because in a tdi the presurre is raise up to 10000 the atm pressure, therefore it can create alot of power and torque. but 2 fundamental problem also created 1- temperature 2- pressure. under such high temp and pressure, all parts must be in it optimum condition.

so if any part is starting to loosen up , it will damage other parts too.

the common engine in the market is not able to cope up with this techonlogy so the manufacturer comeup with a newer standard for the oil giant to come up for TDI application.

so for example, the VW group name 505.01 as the specification for this purpose. In this engine oil has the required special additives and cleasing agent to maintain the cleanliness of it injector.

Sad to say not many engine oil in Malaysia market is equip with such specification, and to make matter worst, alot of drive categorized diesel engine oil as 2nd class citizen... :hmmmm:

feedback from some of my frens about engine oil additives,smooth on first application,but when comes time to service the engine oil,seems like the oil becomes more "sticky" so not sure if thats good 4 the engine,as old oil might still be in the engine and not entirely flushed out...dunno in the long run.