Odor on seat even after steamwash.. =(

arrowhead

hey guys, i have this problem. i bought a 2nd hand seat from a forummer here. the seat had some odor, which smells like those not dry shirt kind of smell (tak kering). sent for steamwash, smell still there. sent 2nd time (FOC of course) smell kinda gone, but not entirely sure. however the smell still remains in my car, not as strong as the first time, but its still there.. how can i solve this? probably still coming from the seat... thought of pouring my whole bottle of ambi pur on my seat... :confused:

advise much appreciated.

Last time how I clean my seat odor is, remove the seat then use multipurpose spray and spray on the seat and then wipe and use brush to gosok.. Then let it put under hot sun.. Then later, the odor gone... =) But I not sure can help you or not because the odor on my seat last time is those market chicken and fish water drip into my seat. >_<

I can never bring myself to buy 2nd hand seats or stuff that people wear/sat/do whatever on before la.. Imagine the hassle next time if got any problem or smell. Like what happen now to you.

Why don't you return to the seller? Or he already warned you about the smell?

Keep it inside the store for 1 year and the smell will gone :)

You can try Arc Flash. But not too sure if it is as good as advertised.

I can never bring myself to buy 2nd hand seats or stuff that people wear/sat/do whatever on before la.. Imagine the hassle next time if got any problem or smell. Like what happen now to you.

Why don't you return to the seller? Or he already warned you about the smell?
I also like this de... Especially from seat, carpet, steering which from half cut shop.. Dunno why got those feeling.. Hahaha...

Send for 3rd or 4th time sure smell gone. :biggrin:

nitrus: owner did not warn me about the smell, probably cuz he also didn't know. probably he kept it at some place, maybe in the store or something for far too long.

singchaii: i dried the seat under the hot sun for about 2-3 days continuous, smell still there =( even tried febreeze... failed

csl: arc flash? where can i get more info abt this? i think the reason for the smell was because it was stored somewhere for far too long.. cuz the smell is like... very damped kinda smell..

g88: wah each time wash rm25, can go broke man LOL

i couldnt get new pair of seats because proton sells this satria SE OEM seat for rm800+... no way in hell would i buy it from them :sleep:

Oh.. Stock seat? Like that very tulan with the smell ler.. If you dun settle, later whole car also got that smell.. You know the seat de la.. So thick... The smell still so strong?

yaaa.. previously the smell was damn bad. once enter the car can smell adi. makes me wanna go back out lol. but after the 2nd steamwash, the smell on the kinda gone laa... but when u just enter the car.. can smell that smell again.. not as strong as before.. but its still there...

before this, i put my nose on the seat, can smell it liao. but now.. not really there.. however the smell is still IN MY CAR!! ARGHHH :mad:

can cause blackout while driving

da*n.. You still put ur nose near the seat and smell.. 2nd hand seat some more.. >_
Sent to wash it again lor. I think maybe can.

da*n.. You still put ur nose near the seat and smell.. 2nd hand seat some more.. >_
Sent to wash it again lor. I think maybe can.

desperate to find the source of the problem maaaa....

i think no choice la.. sometime later on gotta re-send for washing once again. aih..

Yeah.. re-send to wash it again.. I think 2-3 days under sun is not enough.. Better make it longer as the seat kinda thick.. Make sure is under a very hot sun...

Hahaha singchaii yeah la sama sama ..

I feel sorry and understand arrowhead's frustration la.

Arrowhead, u know i was thinking.. Dry shirt smell right, u said?

Why don't you try put that Hippo thing in your car, those they use to place in cupboard or shoe racks wan.. What's the name of the product, i forgot..

It's used to absorb moisture or something? I dunno if that will work.. What do you think?

Worse come to worse.. Just spray some nice smelling perfume or anything on your chair la , but not too much, just enough to kill the smell and replace it with the perfume smell..

Why don't you try put that Hippo thing in your car, those they use to place in cupboard or shoe racks wan.. What's the name of the product, i forgot..

It's used to absorb moisture or something? I dunno if that will work.. What do you think?

Worse come to worse.. Just spray some nice smelling perfume or anything on your chair la , but not too much, just enough to kill the smell and replace it with the perfume smell..

i think i know what u mean, the hippo thing... will give it a try... heck its cheaper than sending it to wash.. haha.

as for the perfume, yeah i just did it awhile ago. i had this free sample perfume, i sprayed it on the seat. hopefully the perfume will overpower the smell.

oh and nitrus, its not dry shirt smell its shirt NOT DRY punya smell LOL! :biggrin:

you can try using charcoal to get rid of the smell. put a few pieces of charcoal on a newspaper, then put some near the front seat and back seats. make sure to leave it there for a few days or a week if possible.

cannot la... If the smell haven't rid off and you spray perfume inside, then sure more smelly.. haha..

you can try using charcoal to get rid of the smell. put a few pieces of charcoal on a newspaper, then put some near the front seat and back seats. make sure to leave it there for a few days or a week if possible.
Charcoal will absorb those smell but, will it rid the smell which inside the seat? But TS have no choice.. Have to try everything. Who know it help.. Put pandan leave as well. Hehe.

yeah .. my fwen used dis also to get rid of the ciggarates smell ..
and to make the car smell nicer .. he add in some "daun pandan leaf"
hope dis help bro !

oh and nitrus, its not dry shirt smell its shirt NOT DRY punya smell LOL! :biggrin:

Time to put that damn hippo in your car! :biggrin: And try charcoal / daun pandan .. Just dump everything in, the more the merrier.. After all these stuff very cheap n wont do bad.

So either it'll work or just no effect only. No bad effect..