edelbrock intake vs skunk 2

dcloo

to all honda kaki here
just wan to ask some stupid question
i just buy a edelbrock peformer x intake manifold but i still not decide to install it
just wonder skunk2 or edelbrock peformer x which was better
pls don't ask the price/how i boughtto m'sia just can tell u skunk 2 was cheaper abit

some information about this intake
-65mm bore for thortle
-support 8 injector/additional nos
-9" straight flow
-6 vacum nozzle at behind

here r the some of pic i taken
http://foto.home.net.my/img/11896/06042007093.jpg
http://foto.home.net.my/img/11897/07042007094.jpg
http://foto.home.net.my/img/11898/07042007095.jpg

to all honda kaki here
just wan to ask some stupid question
i just buy a edelbrock peformer x intake manifold but i still not decide to install it
just wonder skunk2 or edelbrock peformer x which was better
pls don't ask the price/how i boughtto m'sia just can tell u skunk 2 was cheaper abit

some information about this intake
-65mm bore for thortle
-support 8 injector/additional nos
-9" straight flow
-6 vacum nozzle at behind

here r the some of pic i taken
http://foto.home.net.my/img/11896/06042007093.jpg
http://foto.home.net.my/img/11897/07042007094.jpg
http://foto.home.net.my/img/11898/07042007095.jpg

Hi bro..

Did a check for you and found the alignment issues/problems with this intake from Honda Tech in USA.

Have a look at the post and check your intake.

http://www.honda-tech.com/zerothread?id=1891450&page=5

I think the slight difference in plenum volume and runners might make a difference..
Hard to say for sure.. one tune over another might result in different results.

Eight injectors sounds nice.. but management is an expensive option.. where are you going to find a cheap/affordable ECU that can drive 8 injectors? (O_o)

shiro,

You should read the post i attached, it shows the issues in USA they had on the mis-aligned ports or not so perfect ports. Interesting when i did search and found this

shiro,

You should read the post i attached, it shows the issues in USA they had on the mis-aligned ports or not so perfect ports. Interesting when i did search and found this

Yeah.. I did.. It's actually quite expected.. things that are 'cast' usually have slight problems with the finish.. and like you and I know.. some USDM manufacturers are crap at manufacturing close to JDM quality... so far I think only crower, s2, AEM (on some of their stuff) approaches JDM quality and finishing..

Edelbrock's Performer X I think it's one of their base level ones I think, so maybe the finishing isn't so top notch as their more extreme level ones.. But even so, I don't think their flagship models have that good a finishing compared to S2/DC sports stuff.

Seeing password JDM's strutbars also gave me an good impression.. but I wonder how close is the bolt on fitment.. Since never did an install of those parts or ever seen one being installed (although I've seen Chong's one), hard to say.. Although I've heard that they too have less than impressive track record on manufacturing finishes. (which is still good though, though but less than impressive means not very close to JDM quality)

Notice I did not once ever talk about edelbrock... :P
They are known for US Domestics/Chevy stuff.. not imports.. I don't think they're that popular for US honda's either, since I've never ever seen a featured honda car with an edelbrock turbo.. your guess is as good as mine on this one.

so obviously they're not very import oriented as some USDM manufacturers that go specific for imports. They're trying to tide over customers from JDM stuff, so obviously you know why people are so fickle over JDM-ness of a part over in US, and how S2 and other manufacturers for imports are more quality oriented than most.

Better hope the JDM craze doesn't end so soon though.. or you might see quality suffer from USDM parts manufacturers.

It could be a one off thing for the edelbrock manifold though, so let's see how dc_loo's fitment goes.

The fact that the intake flange ports are bigger than the head (and at the sides too) might mean that it's a manufacturing defect or something.

DC_loo, why don't you plonk a stock intake gasket on and line up with the bolt holes and see how it goes.

Eight injectors sounds nice.. but management is an expensive option.. where are you going to find a cheap/affordable ECU that can drive 8 injectors? (O_o)

NOS kit injector mah :P

i found out 1 thing this manifold
its prefect fit dc5 k20a type r injector at behind
the problem was fuel rail have to custom made due on injector sitting at rail
i done on internal port+polish since the finishing not really good

will make a dyno run after installed
i still waiting for the answer how much diffrent on hp n respond

NOS kit injector mah :P

i found out 1 thing this manifold
its prefect fit dc5 k20a type r injector at behind
the problem was fuel rail have to custom made due on injector sitting at rail
i done on internal port+polish since the finishing not really good

will make a dyno run after installed
i still waiting for the answer how much diffrent on hp n respond

HAhaha.. haven't seen a NA NOS monster for a long time.. Going for NOS as a power adder?

So how about stock honda injectors? fitment not ok ah?

The mounts seems to be there... so maybe edelbrock want you to use their own proprietary fuel rail?

Anyway.. if you checked the pics, if the ports were slightly smaller at the intake flange compared to the hole, then port matching is possible by opening up the intake side..

But the ports are actually bigger on the intake part as shown on honda-tech, so instead of that part being shaved to port-match, you need to port the head's intake ports to match..

Why don't you show the gasket and the intake flange together.. if it firs perfectly, then the guy on honda-tech simply got a bad version.

HAhaha.. haven't seen a NA NOS monster for a long time.. Going for NOS as a power adder?

The mounts seems to be there... so maybe edelbrock want you to use their own proprietary fuel rail?

Anyway.. if you checked the pics, if the ports were slightly smaller at the intake flange compared to the hole, then port matching is possible by opening up the intake side..

But the ports are actually bigger on the intake part as shown on honda-tech, so instead of that part being shaved to port-match, you need to port the head's intake ports to match..

Why don't you show the gasket and the intake flange together.. if it firs perfectly, then the guy on honda-tech simply got a bad version.

I also really think the guy in Honda Tech just got a bad one. I really can't think it can so mis-align so much. If it is, edelbrock really got to look into this issue man..

Ya, get an intake gasket and line them up and see whether it is that bad.

If it is that bad, i think you better just sell them off and then come my place to see new stuff. haha... :_:

the problem was not the head stick inside the engine bay dunno how to match it
just measure my head then port it to prefect fit it n hondata heat shield gasket have to port as well cause its just fine fit to b18cr head only since my head port 2 mm bigger then original type r

the problem was not the head stick inside the engine bay dunno how to match it
just measure my head then port it to prefect fit it n hondata heat shield gasket have to port as well cause its just fine fit to b18cr head only since my head port 2 mm bigger then original type r

Hmm.. that's means no fitment issues like the guy on honda-tech experienced.

So far, what kind of setup planning? 1.8? or 2.0L?

just hope will reach up to 230whp after added this manifold

With 2.0L.. or 1.8? Secret?

Either way.. Unless if the manifold is a restricting factor in your engine build.. you won't see big increases like 20hp or so but more like a higher torque curve for the entire rpm range.... what is your current whp?200-210? (which is around the baseline of a 2.1L B20(base-tuned) with ITR manifold and stock B16A cams, I think.)

64mm TB? or 68?, which seems likely, since you need aftermarket manifold to go that big, I think..

Good luck on your hp target.. if B20... easy pickings.. if b18C.. hahaha.. that one a very difficult oh..

he is running 2L... oit whats ur hp now? hehe....
faster2 install that thing... see how it can make some improvement...
but i personally dun like the design...
for me design come first.... perfomance belakang citer... haha

With 2.0L.. or 1.8? Secret?

Either way.. Unless if the manifold is a restricting factor in your engine build.. you won't see big increases like 20hp or so but more like a higher torque curve for the entire rpm range.... what is your current whp?200-210? (which is around the baseline of a 2.1L B20(base-tuned) with ITR manifold and stock B16A cams, I think.)

64mm TB? or 68?, which seems likely, since you need aftermarket manifold to go that big, I think..

Good luck on your hp target.. if B20... easy pickings.. if b18C.. hahaha.. that one a very difficult oh..

Heard he had a B20 with Toda C. The car sounds garang man. :cyclops:

lets ur guys c something

http://foto.home.net.my/img/11914/dynochart.jpg

Fuyoooohh..

216whp with 150ft/lb in Joshua dyno is no joke.. But bro, power not drop yet la. I think if you rev higher to 8.2-8.5k you probably gain another 5-10whp (if power band cont to climb) to get you over 220whp!

My friends EK with B20 and TODA C power peak only at 7800rpm but power was 230whp at joshua place, but his timing bearing broke and now the engine RIP. :)

Chris..RIP = Rest in Pain :D

hehe.. Lucky that B20 not my car.. That's why now my B18C with 205whp with stock bottom end, i'm quite scare lio as ignition is quite high to make that power. :confused_smile: