Obit Piggyback Ecu

normality78 said:
ok, 1-2 question.

1. How to tune Obit? i means does it like Unichip need a proprietary cable and software? Thing is everyone have thier own fav tuner. for example, the unichip case (some of them dun like VS tuning skill).

2. Any idea the compability issue on new I-dsi ecu?

Bro

The best person to answer your questions are the OBIT tuners themselves

JB call Dwayne 0127609143, KL call Gerard 0123073928

Yes, I've heard some negative feedback on tuning by Vis but honestly I can't verify that. Like I mentioned earlier best you test drive a car that has been tuned with OBIT better if same model car, I'm not too sure about the policy here in MY, but in Singapore there is a money back guarantee if the OBIT does not give you any performance improvements.

alittle bit back on this topic.

would the setting in the memory being erase off should the batt connection being remove?

normality78 said:
alittle bit back on this topic.

would the setting in the memory being erase off should the batt connection being remove?

I can't tell for sure if the main OEM Ecu will be reset..What I did during my last battery change was that I used a jumper cable to maintain the +VE connection to another battery, then changed the old battery with a new one..So that the battery connection is maintained throughout..

hi there... so i can still get obit frm gerard??? may i know his location... thx...

razaksa said:
Hi

Gerard's new number 0176186948..Cheers

I just talked to Gerard just now and he says he is no longer doing Obit anymore.
So much for that.

I also read in a singapore forum that the the originator of Obit is pissed with their singapore distributor and hopes to get rid of them.

so now who shall we talk to??? any other dealers in kl???

razaksa said:
The O-BIT is a piggyback fuel and ignition controller. It intercepts signals and modifies them to manipulate the factory ECU. Control primary injectors, a second (up to 6) set of injectors and ignition timing. The O-BIT is one of the most advance piggyback controllers on the market today. With 128 tuning sites through the RPM/load range and another 16 sites for tuning via boost or temperature the O-BIT is perfect for your turbo pro

Fuel Modifications

The O-BIT can tune fuel in several different ways.

Lambda Tuning - Modify the o2 signal to control fuel in closed loop
Air Flow Meter Tuning - Modify voltage, frequency or current based meters
Manifold Pressure - Modify the MAP sensor signal
Engine Temperature - Modify the ECT signal
Air Temperature - Modify the IAT signal
Extra Injectors - Control up to 6x16ohms extra injectors

hi ,
for lamda tunning , to modify a narrowband o2 signal, can obit be use to tune
to stay at AFR of 15-16 while cruising?
(provide there are measures to counter the knocking problems)

rcchong said:
hi ,
for lamda tunning , to modify a narrowband o2 signal, can obit be use to tune
to stay at AFR of 15-16 while cruising?
(provide there are measures to counter the knocking problems)

for that you'll have to check with Dwayne 0127609143..Coz my car was tuned using the Map sensor signal

For more details of OBIT www.perfectpower.com.sg

normality78 said:
Hi razaksa bro,

FYI, Dwayne no longer dealing with Obit.

yup thats right..He still has 2nd hand units available

Personally I think it's a good product esp it's able to handle closed loop systems for that price it's good value for money fyi only Haltech/Motech Standalone can match this feature.

I've been using it myself for 6 months on my gen2 and no complains whatsoever with over 20% hp gains..also I'm still getting tuning support from Dwayne and Gerard

But too bad the Obit dealers are getting squeezed by the suppliers...which is main reason Dwayne & Gerard no longer carrying Obit..In short good product but poor distribution management..

hi bro rakzasa
20% hp gain is quite good for any bolt on tunning,
job well done!
as for the close loop tunning it's what I though so
as you can tune for cruising and idling on map to
have better miledge .
how is your fuel cost if you are not pushing too hard?
like cruising 110kmh to 130 kmh ?

thanks for the quick reply.

that's the setback. im quite worry with after sales support. reffering more to hardware side

I'm also using Matspeed 258 cams and free flow intake/exhaust modifications..FSE fuel regulator.

But suprisingly my fc has hardly increased over stock and I drive my car quite hard..70% highway average 110-130km/h due to fear of traffic fines.. and 30% city driving..FC 12.5km/Litre

Response and acceleration definitely way much better and smoother compared to OEM and get the full benefit of the fast-road cams with no reliability issues.In short a great daily driver with the ocassional Track/Time Attack days..

I can say that the Obit hardware is quite reliable, having used it mysellf and know of a number of other users here in Singapore, have not heard of any complaints..Most important you have a competent tuner to install it properly and then tune it up..

call this no. 012-4804806..., his the Obit dealer/tuner for northern region....!!!

Closed-loop, the ECU continuously adjust air-fuel ratio (without using values in the fuel maps) based on O2 sensor feedback. Very useful for fuel economy, especially when driving at part-throttle (eg highway driving), but well-tuned maps can also give reasonable fuel economy.

Open-loop, the ECU ignores O2 sensor feedback, it uses values (or injector timing) from fuel maps, no processing is done, it's merely lookup, normally used when throttle is at least 2/3 opened (in systems having both closed-loop and open-loop mode).

Older engines (eg L2 or VR4 i guess) only have open-loop mode.

So does this mean:-

- SGti what have O2 sensor all is running on Closed-loop system ?
- Wira 1.8 DOHC and first batch of Putra that running in Co2 adjuster (they dun have O2 sensor at exhaust) is running on Open-loop system ?

But for power responsive Open-loop is more aggresive than Close-loop system right ? :_:

so razaksa u fitted obit into ur gen2 r u still using your stock siemens ecu? obit is just a piggyback isnt it im quite new in this stuff wanna know more about obit.