Hello Guest! Log in or Sign up for a full experience & ad-free!

NBTD - I'm BORED

Just for discussion sake. I was wondering how problematic a Subaru Impreza would be to maintain. Boxer engine wise does the GT86 have similar problems?
impreza vs gt86 the NA boxer ofc less bits in there... no intercooler, no turbo.... so its fair to say, simpler.

actually boxers ok je maintenance, my friends compared their bills for me, basic maintenance impreza vs evo actually not all that far apart surprisingly here and there. Major services, now here impreza costs more (from their bills) and rebuilds/overhauls for boxers aint exactly what i would call cheap. theres a bunch of mechanics who can deal with them so long as you can pay.

impreza vs gt86 the NA boxer ofc less bits in there... no intercooler, no turbo.... so its fair to say, simpler.

actually boxers ok je maintenance, my friends compared their bills for me, basic maintenance impreza vs evo actually not all that far apart surprisingly here and there. Major services, now here impreza costs more (from their bills) and rebuilds/overhauls for boxers aint exactly what i would call cheap. theres a bunch of mechanics who can deal with them so long as you can pay.

Thanks for the insight!
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

Today came back home and decide to check up on my atos, most thing seems okay, dont remember what the coolant level was but it was still okay. just top up abit up to the line (me being paranoid). Shall check for leaks the next morning haha.

I decide to spray some WD-40 on the joints of the hood cuz it was quite hard opening them, sprayed for the rest of the doors and rear boot as well. While spraying I found a roasted dead cicak caught in between the doors, eww. Also when I opened my boot in the spare tyre compartment, there was a screwdriver ( probably the first kedai I sent back in 2018. His foreman forgot to take out his spana and 2 years later I found this LOL. This must be what I heard rolling around in my boot when I'm driving). While looking in the spare tyre compartment I found a wired black box that seems to be some kinda circuit component?? and its not fastened to anything. Imma probably tape that to the wall to make sure it doesnt jump around alot when I'm driving.

Anyone still bored during this PKPP period?

Been working 'as usual'...everything seems normal only that everyone looks like darth vader...with face mask all the time.

I learnt that some brand of facemask is using plastic strip for the nose area. Plastic strip type does not give good seal and those with glasses will have fogging problem. Best type is mask which uses steel strip. Then, there is some brand of mask which wears out quicker.the material becomes loose and starts to tickle your nose before lunchtime.

I am beginning to appreciate face mask and most of the ti.e wears it even when riding home. During this time, more vehicle is on the road so more smoke. Can feel i am breathing cleaner air.

Company still being cautious esp on contractor coming in. Works still have to go on but risk had to be mitigated. Foreign workers must be controlled in the most stringent manner.

Inside office, i had to transfer to another cubicle at another wing as my original table does not comply to social distancing. I kinda like this new cubicle, much more spacious and the environment is soo like in the rainforest.

Shopping? so far from first phase of MCO, i transform into Mr. Mama, doing grocery run everytime. only the most recent time i went shopping with my wife to give her the experience of shopping during MCO...as ususal, first timer having hard time to adjust when seeing the long que.

On cars.
I replaced my waja plug coil connector. it just broke into pieces. lucky enough to find it online. The seller describe it for use on 1jz,2jz, etc...does not mentioned waja 1.8.
Also replace some wiring counduit...it just perished after 17 years.

Yesterday i removed the ABS module from my waja and will send it to a guy in Kajang. RM180 for trade in with a repaired unit or RM220 to repair my own unit. The brand of the module is Kelsey-Hayes but when i flip it there is a TRW sticker.

Next i will fabricate a tool to extract and install subframe bush for my blm

Been working 'as usual'...everything seems normal only that everyone looks like darth vader...with face mask all the time.

I learnt that some brand of facemask is using plastic strip for the nose area. Plastic strip type does not give good seal and those with glasses will have fogging problem. Best type is mask which uses steel strip. Then, there is some brand of mask which wears out quicker.the material becomes loose and starts to tickle your nose before lunchtime.

I am beginning to appreciate face mask and most of the ti.e wears it even when riding home. During this time, more vehicle is on the road so more smoke. Can feel i am breathing cleaner air.

Company still being cautious esp on contractor coming in. Works still have to go on but risk had to be mitigated. Foreign workers must be controlled in the most stringent manner.

Inside office, i had to transfer to another cubicle at another wing as my original table does not comply to social distancing. I kinda like this new cubicle, much more spacious and the environment is soo like in the rainforest.

Shopping? so far from first phase of MCO, i transform into Mr. Mama, doing grocery run everytime. only the most recent time i went shopping with my wife to give her the experience of shopping during MCO...as ususal, first timer having hard time to adjust when seeing the long que.

On cars.
I replaced my waja plug coil connector. it just broke into pieces. lucky enough to find it online. The seller describe it for use on 1jz,2jz, etc...does not mentioned waja 1.8.

Yesterday i removed the ABS module from my waja and will send it to a guy in Kajang. RM180 for trade in with a repaired unit or RM220 to repair my own unit. The brand of the module is Kelsey-Hayes but when i flip it there is a TRW sticker.

You're a busy busy bee. Hahaha

I've been wearing masks so much I have chaffing marks on my ear. It's damn painful nowadays so need to find those tie type masks to use.

On cars.

Does your company practice rotating basis?
For fogging issue, make sure you press the nose clip properly. And allow your spec on top of the mask.

still work from home. find I gain extra 2 hours from traffic jam. on the flip side I don't get to drive my car.

Does your company practice rotating basis?
For fogging issue, make sure you press the nose clip properly. And allow your spec on top of the mask.

still work from home. find I gain extra 2 hours from traffic jam. on the flip side I don't get to drive my car.
Was on rotation before but since can operate 100%, no more rotation.thats why i have to move to other empty cubicle.

The mask with plastic strip is hard to get a proper seal as plastic tend to go back to original shape.steel strip is best.

I did drive earlier when 100% operation is allowed but after 3 days the traffic is just too much...back to 2 wheel.

You're a busy busy bee. Hahaha

I've been wearing masks so much I have chaffing marks on my ear. It's damn painful nowadays so need to find those tie type masks to use.
Agreed, when i am sitting at my desk i will repositioned the rubber strap so it sits across my ear. this way it wont press so much at the back of my ears. Wearing the mask with good helmet on is a bit dangerous actually as sometimes i cant hear car or bikes in my blindspot.

Was on rotation before but since can operate 100%, no more rotation.thats why i have to move to other empty cubicle.

The mask with plastic strip is hard to get a proper seal as plastic tend to go back to original shape.steel strip is best.

I did drive earlier when 100% operation is allowed but after 3 days the traffic is just too much...back to 2 wheel.
Most company back to 100% dy, and the jams are back.......lol

Agreed, when i am sitting at my desk i will repositioned the rubber strap so it sits across my ear. this way it wont press so much at the back of my ears. Wearing the mask with good helmet on is a bit dangerous actually as sometimes i cant hear car or bikes in my blindspot.

You all wear mask all the time in office. It is suffocating wei... for 8 hours... salute...

Just imagine our frontliner esp those manning roadblocks wearing it during their shift on daytime...salute them.
Frontliner at high risk exposure. Tabik for them...
i took off mask when in factory site or in own cubicle. Except attending meeting, break time, crowded troubleshooting
Traffic is back to normal here in penang.

Frontliner at high risk exposure. Tabik for them...
i took off mask when in factory site or in own cubicle. Except attending meeting, break time, crowded troubleshooting
Traffic is back to normal here in penang.
We cant take off our mask....someone will get angry...hahaha...the first few days was like being watch by a sniper all the time.

Still remember when i stopped at the nearby police station to handover letter related to MCO, met a cop friend and have a chat..he is back from checking and collecting a dead body. It was the 2nd week of MCO. In the basket of his bike are some gloves and a bottle of sanitiser. He said it was one of the scariest moment of his life not knowing the cause of death when they inspect the body. Turns out the guy choked to death while eating.

Got another time when i arrive at the station, 2 guy on a bike arrived being escorted by my cop friend. They are caught fishing under the bridge near Batu Berendam FTZ. The cop's question is still fresh in my mind 'kau memancing tu satu kehendak atau keperluan?'. Both guy just accepted their fate.

Anyone have any opinions of a CR-Z? Is it a pretty good affordable sporty car for single dudes? My friend told me he would K20 swap that thing ones the battery dies LOL.

The CRZ is either a love it or hate it kinda car. The manual was a nice car to drive, the solid shift, the features and functions, but it's a meagre 1.5L engine so don't expect it to be fast. It's overall a pretty nice package and girls dig it most of the time. So if you're single and looking for a decent comfortable ride that does handle to some extent with reasonable space - it's alright. All depends on the money it's asking for.

Swapping a K20 engine isn't a straightforward thing btw. 1.5L to 2.0 is illegal as far as JPJ is concerned so I don't know how it's going to get endorsed unless you don't plan to. And a lot of the functionality of the original car is going to go away unless your tuner mechanic knows his wiring. Plus this transplant is not a cheap affair - my guess is about 30k plus minus. Might as well change car.

The CRZ is either a love it or hate it kinda car. The manual was a nice car to drive, the solid shift, the features and functions, but it's a meagre 1.5L engine so don't expect it to be fast. It's overall a pretty nice package and girls dig it most of the time. So if you're single and looking for a decent comfortable ride that does handle to some extent with reasonable space - it's alright. All depends on the money it's asking for.

Swapping a K20 engine isn't a straightforward thing btw. 1.5L to 2.0 is illegal as far as JPJ is concerned so I don't know how it's going to get endorsed unless you don't plan to. And a lot of the functionality of the original car is going to go away unless your tuner mechanic knows his wiring. Plus this transplant is not a cheap affair - my guess is about 30k plus minus. Might as well change car.

I see. is the battery gonna cost a bomb to replace?

between 4k to 6k last i heard. I could be mistaken since this price was like 2 years ago. Nowadays there might be cheaper alternatives.
Holy crap. I could afford one but once the battery needs to be changed thats a big price to pay.

you didn't know? hybrid batteries last about 5-8 years and depending on the brand (Toyota/Honda/etc) the price varies. There's a reason why you see so many Prius-C on the used car market. Almost all need a battery change and that's 6k but i heard there's aftermarket these days which is much cheaper, but it's still about the 2k price range.

I knew about the big price tag but I expected it to come down. Are newer hybrid cars the same? I heard the newer ones were cheaper to replace. One of the reason of swapping the engine was to not deal with hybrid batteries haha.

i hear you bro - having to maintain the battery is a pain. I'm not a huge hybrid fan so I can't really tell you much. My only opinion is if you're going to k-swap a CRZ, you're better off doing it on a different platform like a Honda EK or EG or EF hatchback or just get a FD2R cuz you're gonna spend a shit ton of money swapping the K20 into a CRZ and making half the electronics not work anymore in a gadget loaded CRZ is sort of a shame.

I remember when i drove the CRZ manual around, one of the things i liked the most was the lights and bling. Very futuristic and the cocoon feel of sitting in the car. I just wasn't a fan of the slow acceleration. But then again I drive a Myvi most of the time so who am I to complain about slow.

Oh btw the Toyota hybrid system imho is better than the Honda one for one reason - the aircon runs on electricity whereas the Hondas one doesn't. So everytime you stop at a traffic light with the stop-start system on the aircon goes warm. Toyotas doesn't. hahaha