DIY: Changing Myvi absorbers.... solves the kluk kluk sound.

I feel the car height is higher than before as easier for me to come out from the car.

Hmm, maybe we use firm better than stiff as I did not feel it's stiff but more firm and stable.
Looks like the Alza ones are much better......lol

The original absorbers? If yes, then you need to compress the springs....

Yeap, it's the original absorbers.

Is it possible to do it with the car not jacked up ? I somehow think that the absorber mounting is gonna shoot out when I unscrew the absorber mounting without the car on jackstands

Yes, you need to compress the spring to detach the absorber mounting. Btw, you can opt for alza's mounting (bearing mounting) instead of rubber type mounting.

Benefit:
1. Durable than rubber type (myvi ori is suck).
2. Improve handling.
3. it's plug & play (cucuk dan main).

cons:
1. Higher ride height.
Thanks for the reply man.
Yeap I got tips from foreman saying alza mouting with bearing is better lol.

Yeap, it's the original absorbers.

Is it possible to do it with the car not jacked up ? I somehow think that the absorber mounting is gonna shoot out when I unscrew the absorber mounting without the car on jackstands
You need to jack up the car to remove the suspension. The top mount is lock down by a nut on top or do you mean the mount have torn apart?

I saw a guy posted in his blog, he didn't use spring compressors, he unscrew the absorber mounting, slowly jack up the car and the strut slowly comes out. After he use another jack to jack the lower arm to put the new absorber mounting into place since the spring compressor was not there with them. It's in baikisendiri blog but I think now the blog was removed, couldn't find it.

I haven't tried doing it yet. This is just what I read from the blog. Any sifus here can confirm ?

I saw a guy posted in his blog, he didn't use spring compressors, he unscrew the absorber mounting, slowly jack up the car and the strut slowly comes out. After he use another jack to jack the lower arm to put the new absorber mounting into place since the spring compressor was not there with them. It's in baikisendiri blog but I think now the blog was removed, couldn't find it.

I haven't tried doing it yet. This is just what I read from the blog. Any sifus here can confirm ?

Wah.. that's a crazy insane amount of work to remove the top mounts. You can do that but why?

I think I'm gonna do that man since I don't have spring compressors.
Mechanic also wanna charge me 120 labour charge to replace absorber mounting
Good Luck, as not much space for you to work with....

Thanks man.
Appreciate your response.
Needed some clarification before trying it out.
Are you guys going to conduct a Meet up & DIY sessions ?
Can't wait to join you guys to learn more stuff

This is an interesting method. Had not seen this before, but understanding your explanation, it should be doable. Dangerous, but doable.....

edit: found a video on youtube showing the technique.

Yeah seems pretty doable, only thing IMO is to loosen/tighten back that center nut might be a problem as the shaft with the threads can turn when you turn the nut, usually we use an impact wrench to loosen and tighten them back up. But you can try. All the best.

https://www.diytacra.com/2014/10/top-mounting-absorber-replacement.html

This guy did it on his Proton car.
he removed the upper part of the drop link to allow the strut to come down slowly.

He also said this

langkah ini hanya boleh dilakukan bagi mereka yang menggunakan adjustable atau spring sport sahaja. sekiranya menggunakan spring standard anda perlulah mengeluarkan keseluruhan absorber dan memprosesnya di luar kerana tekanan spring standard sangat kuat jika dibandingkan dengan adjustable atau spring sport

He's using an adjustable coilover suspension and the spring pre-load is very low. He also say that it is better to remove completely and use a spring compressor as standard car springs have a very high amount of preload due to it being alot softer than coilover suspension springs. I personally think it's do-able, but not sure if you should....

Don't later just because you want to save RM120, you end up spending even more when you remove the absorber halfway and encounter complications and ending up have to call a mechanic for on site service lol

True bro lol.
Need to think it thoroughly and really know how it works before doing it. Later do halfway dunno how to do. gone man.

found another guy who did it on his toyota tacoma. the spring damn big.

True bro lol.
Need to think it thoroughly and really know how it works before doing it. Later do halfway dunno how to do. gone man.

found another guy who did it on his toyota tacoma. the spring damn big.

Then again nobody had done this before(that I know of), so no matter how much research you do pun in the end still trial and error saja. I saw on YouTube 1 video a guy change some spring off some American car and that spring barely have any preload as well! Really depends on the car

Yeah seems pretty doable, only thing IMO is to loosen/tighten back that center nut might be a problem as the shaft with the threads can turn when you turn the nut, usually we use an impact wrench to loosen and tighten them back up. But you can try. All the best.
Was about to say the same thing, if need to lock the nut cannot reach the shaft....lol

Alright. Thanks, guys for your opinions.
You guys are legends man. I've been reading up on alot of posts from you guys. and learning from here and there.
Vr2turbo, Nightstalker1993 and Izso.

Nightstalker1993, you studied engineering is it ? I saw one of your posts in lowyat forum regarding on turbocharger.

Alright. Thanks, guys for your opinions.
You guys are legends man. I've been reading up on alot of posts from you guys. and learning from here and there.
Vr2turbo, Nightstalker1993 and Izso.

Nightstalker1993, you studied engineering is it ? I saw one of your posts in lowyat forum regarding on turbocharger.

Wahhh what post you dig up worr until can find me talking about turbocharger on LYN :laugh:

What makes you think I'm an engineer lerr :burnout:

He's quite literally a helicopter technician/engineer/sifu/bigballs guru besar