DSG to Manual conversion

Wow! VW are so ambitious. Haven't solve the problems with their 7-speed DSG gearbox, and I heard now they want to develop a 10-speed DSG. Remembered my cousin's VW Polo with manual-transmission which brought over from UK, not that many issues other than the usual wear & tear.

More parts = higher percentage of individual parts failure.

I don't think this 10 speed gearbox is a good thing since you have much more gear ratios to play with, your transmission will definitely shift more to maintain the efficiency in each gear. Since it is shifting more, I think the wear and tear will be faster too.

But to what I know the problem is with their mechatronics of the gear box only

Have seen quite a lot of VW owners displaying nice unhappy stickers about their VW's.

Thought this year VW Malaysia wanted to bring in VW Polo with the conventional Automatic Gearbox and Manual Gearbox.

Can't believe someone posted a comparison between his year old VW Jetta and 7 year old Proton Saga. His VW Jetta is the clear winner when it comes to workshop visits and breakdowns.

the total cost of converting 1.4 tsi jetta to a 2.0 manual is circa RM 50k (quote gotten back in mid-2014).
the cost today might be circa RM 70k due to our awesome ringgit...

the cost consist of -
- engine 2.0 ea888 (serious, literally just plonk and play due to the mounting position is similiar)
- 6 speed manual gearbox
- ECU + BCM + wiring harness
- GLI dashboard and the 3 pedals (dashboard of the 1.4 TSI can be reused too)
- workmanship (inclusive of ECU mapping)
- import fees / etc fees

:love:

the total cost of converting 1.4 tsi jetta to a 2.0 manual is circa RM 50k (quote gotten back in mid-2014).

the cost consist of -
- engine 2.0 ea888 (serious, literally just plonk and play due to the mounting position is similiar)
- 6 speed manual gearbox
- import fees / etc fees

Walao, but that's all new stuff, is it?

nope.... used...
mainly from crashed or totalled Jetta GLi in US of A...

Jetta GLi from USA comes with 6-speed DSG / Manual..

so u have to use back your existing dashboard as USA is LHD and we are RHD....

Have seen quite a lot of VW owners displaying nice unhappy stickers about their VW's.

Thought this year VW Malaysia wanted to bring in VW Polo with the conventional Automatic Gearbox and Manual Gearbox.

Can't believe someone posted a comparison between his year old VW Jetta and 7 year old Proton Saga. His VW Jetta is the clear winner when it comes to workshop visits and breakdowns.

They should consider offering a Polo GTI or Golf GTI manual to compete with Megane RS, Focus ST... It might attract more buyers since there is no DSG issue.

the cost consist of -
- 6 speed manual gearbox
- import fees / etc fees

Er, you mean you need to change the engine too? You can't retain your current 1.4 TSI engine and match it to a MT gearbox?

1.4 twincharge (160PS) only have DSG6 and DSG7...
no manual...

1.4 turbo (122PS) has option of DSG/manual

1.8 (petrol/diesel) has manual / automatic / DSG...

2.0 (petrol/diesel) has manual / DSG

but this is malaysia... so malaysia boleh...

jokes aside, since u are already changing the gearbox, might as well just plonk the 2.0 engine in since it is already mated to the engine.
else u have to go through the hassle of customizing wiring harness, ecu etc....

But imagine your bragging rights if you did spend that kinda dosh on a car that has no value now

i know the price because i ask for it....
i wanted to build a sleeper car....
:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

outside look unker and then u want to bully and suddenly u get left in the dust....
:biggrin:

i know the price because i ask for it....
i wanted to build a sleeper car....
:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

outside look unker and then u want to bully and suddenly u get left in the dust....
:biggrin:

Should have done it, then likely Izso will buy over your car now......lol:biggrin:

1.4 twincharge (160PS) only have DSG6 and DSG7...
no manual...

1.4 turbo (122PS) has option of DSG/manual

1.8 (petrol/diesel) has manual / automatic / DSG...

2.0 (petrol/diesel) has manual / DSG

but this is malaysia... so malaysia boleh...

jokes aside, since u are already changing the gearbox, might as well just plonk the 2.0 engine in since it is already mated to the engine.
else u have to go through the hassle of customizing wiring harness, ecu etc....

So for the case of Golf GTI or Scirocco R, they can just swap the gearbox right away since they are already using 2.0? Or is it the same engine that you are referring to?

yes... correct... it will be a straight forward swap..
but the electronics/tuning/harness etc will be a headache...

so it will be better to get a engine already mated to the gearbox aka half cut as all the necessary modules/controllers/etc comes together with it...

and yes i am referring to the same engine... the ea888 2.0...

yes... correct... it will be a straight forward swap..
but the electronics/tuning/harness etc will be a headache...

so it will be better to get a engine already mated to the gearbox aka half cut as all the necessary modules/controllers/etc comes together with it...

and yes i am referring to the same engine... the ea888 2.0...

I guess the gearbox swapping process in VW cars is not as easy as swaps in JDM cars where it is done quite commonly over here...