DSG to Manual conversion

the total cost of converting 1.4 tsi jetta to a 2.0 manual is circa RM 50k (quote gotten back in mid-2014).
the cost today might be circa RM 70k due to our awesome ringgit...

the cost consist of -
- engine 2.0 ea888 (serious, literally just plonk and play due to the mounting position is similiar)
- 6 speed manual gearbox
- ECU + BCM + wiring harness
- GLI dashboard and the 3 pedals (dashboard of the 1.4 TSI can be reused too)
- workmanship (inclusive of ECU mapping)
- import fees / etc fees

:love:

1.4 twincharge (160PS) only have DSG6 and DSG7...
no manual...

1.4 turbo (122PS) has option of DSG/manual

1.8 (petrol/diesel) has manual / automatic / DSG...

2.0 (petrol/diesel) has manual / DSG

but this is malaysia... so malaysia boleh...

jokes aside, since u are already changing the gearbox, might as well just plonk the 2.0 engine in since it is already mated to the engine.
else u have to go through the hassle of customizing wiring harness, ecu etc....

Now that's some awesome findings you have.

Interesting, all that for RM50K, i assume is from the MK5 GTI.

However, if it's since 2014 I would think it'll cost less now since there'd be more supply and product deterioration, despite unfavorable currency conversion rates. After all,it's a Golf GTI that are available in abundance?

This is the type of Polo GTI that I saw before when I mentioned about it earlier.

Probably can eat stock Evo and STI.

How much is that thing weigh? If about 1-1.1 ton then it has almost the same power to weight ratio of a std CT9A, so it may match them but I wouldn't be so confident to say it will eat those yet! In tighter traffic it may have advantage to zip in and out of traffic easier but in more winding open roads or touge routes still not so sure. Anyway where got std Evos and STIs these days??? :biggrin:

I got smoked by a GTI on NSH just now, haha. Great car.

Sent from my SM-N9208 using Tapatalk

In your brand new AMG CLA45? Still new la, masih sayang2 & takut2 la, later once you got used to the power, it should eat those pesky GTIs for breakfast! :biggrin:

I agree, give him 6 months to latest 9 months :smokin:......lol:driver:

Now that's some awesome findings you have.

Interesting, all that for RM50K, i assume is from the MK5 GTI.

However, if it's since 2014 I would think it'll cost less now since there'd be more supply and product deterioration, despite unfavorable currency conversion rates. After all,it's a Golf GTI that are available in abundance?

its from a 2011/2012 jetta mk6 GLI from the USA... as there is a manual Jetta 2.0 in the US (which is essentially is a GTi with a boot)...
no where else is there a Jetta 2.0 manual... only USA (not even europe) :bawling: ...

that is why i mentioned about the unfavorable currency conversion being a bitch...

:bawling:

this is the previous gen polo... but it is still a killah....
:driver:

its from a 2011/2012 jetta mk6 GLI from the USA... as there is a manual Jetta 2.0 in the US (which is essentially is a GTi with a boot)...
no where else is there a Jetta 2.0 manual... only USA (not even europe) :bawling: ...

that is why i mentioned about the unfavorable currency conversion being a bitch...

:bawling:

this is the previous gen polo... but it is still a killah....
:driver:

So only in US can get manual.....:bawling:

That kilah also need someone who knows to maintain it.....:hmmmm:

How much is that thing weigh? If about 1-1.1 ton then it has almost the same power to weight ratio of a std CT9A, so it may match them but I wouldn't be so confident to say it will eat those yet! In tighter traffic it may have advantage to zip in and out of traffic easier but in more winding open roads or touge routes still not so sure. Anyway where got std Evos and STIs these days??? :biggrin:

Well, usually the newer Evos and STIs are standard ma. Look at the abundance of those CZ4A Evo X and GVF/GRF WRX STI (auto) being sold at mudah. To be honest, I don't feel right at all about having an automatic WRX STI. Sure, the power will still be better than other auto JDM cars like Fairlady AT, RX-8 AT, 86/BRZ AT but it still feels wrong to have the car in auto. :banghead:

So only in US can get manual.....:bawling:

That kilah also need someone who knows to maintain it.....:hmmmm:

I think UK also is available but with different engine options.

UK got 1.8 TDI and/or Petrol manual option....

still no EA888 2.0 manual in a jetta... LOL

I thought there are manual EA888 for Golf GTI MK6 in Europe?

yes there is.... for GTi mah...
For jetta elek..

yes, its the same EA888 + manual, but because its from a golf, there might be some additional modules/harness required if u are to do a DSG to manual swap... after all, no matter how many parts sharing across VAG models, there bound to be some model specific modules...

so yeah...

yes there is.... for GTi mah...
For jetta elek..

yes, its the same EA888 + manual, but because its from a golf, there might be some additional modules/harness required if u are to do a DSG to manual swap... after all, no matter how many parts sharing across VAG models, there bound to be some model specific modules...

so yeah...

I thought the similarities between Golf and Jetta is very minor like between Wira and Satria for example. Thought they only differs in one being a hatchback while another being a sedan.