Can a V-tec NA achieve close to 300km/h?

I thought stock aerodynamics would work just fine since cars like R32, R33, R34 Skyline GT-R and JZA80 Supra can reach 300kmh even without much aero mods.

Skyline, Supra....all have longer body = wheelbase.....more stable on high speed run....with added aero mod is to provide it with more stability down force at such speeds. Evo and Impreza is shorter wheelbase and not as low slung as supra and Skyline....so more aero mods will be needed to get higher stability if needed to run top speed.

I see. Weight helps too I suppose as Skyline and Supra are heavier than Evo and Impreza.

That is correct. heavier cars are more stable in high speed driving. Just drive a Kancil and Merc, both at 110km/hr.....

But the trade off for heavier weight would be acceleration. For example like Kancil with turbo L2S or L5S engine sure will outrun a standard Merc in acceleration. Don't bring in the high end models of course.

Please enlighten me.

I'm always a turbo fanboy.

Till the day i drove my friend's FD2R. I'm really amazed by the vtec technology (my first time driving a honda seriously) although the torque is not as much as an evo or wrx can give.

At NSHW the engine is lively and it can reach 260km/h+ (hondata tuned 240+ ponnies, gruppe M intake and toda catback exo) and i'm really wondering it is possible for it to hit 300km/h on NA.

Like a K24A setup? i ever heard of K24A on K20A top producing 300+ ponnies on NA.

What's wrong with pushing another 40km/h is it that tough? and it definitely weighs lesser than a evo or wrx.

What's your views?

Please enlighten me.

Till the day i drove my friend's FD2R. I'm really amazed by the vtec technology (my first time driving a honda seriously) although the torque is not as much as an evo or wrx can give.

At NSHW the engine is lively and it can reach 260km/h+ (hondata tuned 240+ ponnies, gruppe M intake and toda catback exo) and i'm really wondering it is possible for it to hit 300km/h on NA.

Like a K24A setup? i ever heard of K24A on K20A top producing 300+ ponnies on NA.

What's wrong with pushing another 40km/h is it that tough? and it definitely weighs lesser than a evo or wrx.

What's your views?

the 40 km/h to go figure seems small and seems easy to achieve...

is it that tough?
what do u think?

go check out those videos of gazillion HP cars top speed run...
see the acceleration speed after 270 km/h.... than make your own conclusion....

probably he put Nitrous 24hrs until engine burst. reach 260km/h, after that nitrous the whole way.

40kmh might sound not much but as the speed you go gets higher, every single kmh is more difficult to achieve as well. Just like Veyron for example. The original Veyron with 1000hp marked a top speed of around 413kmh if I am not mistaken. Then came the 1200hp Supersports which marked 433kmh. That is just around 20kmh different only but why it needs 200hp to gain it? You need to consider the fact that the faster you go, the stronger the air resistance you will encounter. And there is this theory of relativity thingy about a faster an object goes, the mass will increase as well.

that sounds right, thanks for the enlightenment! :driver:

Please enlighten me.

What's your views?

The higher the speed the more aero drag that the car needs to overcome, not to mention pulling a tall gearing, and assuming the road is perfectly flat. Note also if you're judging your speed just based on the speedo reading then most likely you'll overestimate your speed as most speedo are overstated by 5-10kph.

Buggati Veyron only need around 270-280hp to reach 250km/h..
Additional 720hp just to get 163km/h more..

Perodua Viva only need 60hp to reach 140km/h...lol

I see. Weight helps too I suppose as Skyline and Supra are heavier than Evo and Impreza.

Not so..its all about horsepower, aerodynamic and gearing..
Lighter is always better..but heavy car (high inertia) wont affect top speed much...

2600cc or 3000cc surely better than 2000cc...more power and torque for longer gearing...

Heavy car are stable..that's for sure..
'Stable' here doesnt mean is handle better (like most people think)...
Driver would feel 'stable', but actually is doesn't react much to driver input..which is bad..

Buggati Veyron only need around 270-280hp to reach 250km/h..
Additional 720hp just to get 163km/h more..

Perodua Viva only need 60hp to reach 140km/h...lol

Not so..its all about horsepower, aerodynamic and gearing..
Lighter is always better..but heavy car (high inertia) wont affect top speed much...

2600cc or 3000cc surely better than 2000cc...more power and torque for longer gearing...

Heavy car are stable..that's for sure..
'Stable' here doesnt mean is handle better (like most people think)...
Driver would feel 'stable', but actually is doesn't react much to driver input..which is bad..

Viva 1.0 is the one with 60hp. Turbo 660 Kancil also have 60hp but can go even higher. But if 60hp on motorcycle, it can go even faster.

2600cc or 3000cc is better than 2000cc but Evo and WRX STI's 2000cc have the potential to push out higher hp and torque than the 2600cc or 3000cc stock.

Weight will affect handling but suspension setup must be considered as well. Lightweight car with bad suspension setup is still useless. Heavy car like R35 can still handle well.

At high speed, your engine will be working very fast and the valves opening time will be very short that's why Lift technology came up which let the valves opens more so more air can enter the CC for combustion and more power. On ordinary engine with no Lift on NA much will suffer at higher RPM....choking because the engine can't get enough air inside to CC to create more power. That's why you see those hp torque chart always start to drop like flies after a certain RPM. More air into CC more power you have that's why intake and exhaust mods have so much affect on an NA engine.....on FI, the turbo helps cramp the air into the CC....

TO achieve speeds in range of 300 or over....aerodynamic, gearing,suspension and power play very important roll....higher the speed your car will generate more down force and more pressure on the tires....power is to help you get there, aerodynamic is to make sure your car don't flip over or float at such speed, suspension to make sure you still have control, gearing gives your more speed..

On the weight side, a lighter car with more power that can achieve 300km/h or more will be heavily relying on aerodynamics improvements to keep it planted on the road. That's why you see race car have so much aeordynamics parts on them and when 1 of the parts get damage you can see their lap times get slower...heavier car they already have weights in the 1st place so aerodynamics add on can be lessen but it's still as important.

Renesis VIII, This is an Evo I used to drive in Japan....450hp...capable of 280-290km/h I've done some on the aero parts...It has flat under panels too...the pic is before put in the rear diffuser..

At high speed, your engine will be working very fast and the valves opening time will be very short that's why Lift technology came up which let the valves opens more so more air can enter the CC for combustion and more power. On ordinary engine with no Lift on NA much will suffer at higher RPM....choking because the engine can't get enough air inside to CC to create more power. That's why you see those hp torque chart always start to drop like flies after a certain RPM. More air into CC more power you have that's why intake and exhaust mods have so much affect on an NA engine.....on FI, the turbo helps cramp the air into the CC....

TO achieve speeds in range of 300 or over....aerodynamic, gearing,suspension and power play very important roll....higher the speed your car will generate more down force and more pressure on the tires....power is to help you get there, aerodynamic is to make sure your car don't flip over or float at such speed, suspension to make sure you still have control, gearing gives your more speed..

On the weight side, a lighter car with more power that can achieve 300km/h or more will be heavily relying on aerodynamics improvements to keep it planted on the road. That's why you see race car have so much aeordynamics parts on them and when 1 of the parts get damage you can see their lap times get slower...heavier car they already have weights in the 1st place so aerodynamics add on can be lessen but it's still as important.

Renesis VIII, This is an Evo I used to drive in Japan....450hp...capable of 280-290km/h I've done some on the aero parts...It has flat under panels too...the pic is before put in the rear diffuser..

About intake on NA engines, some people modified the intake manifold into independent throttle body (similar to F1) setup to get more air isn't it? But those setup are not so suitable for our country's climate...

Then about aero parts, will bodykits and aero parts from companies like Voltex or Varis help in this? Or they are just more for show purposes?

If 450hp is capable of 280-290kmh, then I think another 100hp at 550hp should enable you to reach 300kmh... BTW, nice Evo you've got. Is it a VII, VIII or IX?

RENESIS VIII, notice the red MR badge....well that tells you the version...yes, this car is capable of more power. Voltex and Varis are aeroparts that have gone through testing....they are functional aeroparts....

Actually very shy to say even with 450hp getting to 280 takes a while and when you see a GTR fly by you....you would start to think your car is slow.....

During my meet with the friends there occasionally on weekend, most of them which are into top speed runs are driving GTR or Supra...we have a few Evos and very few Impreza....some would be driving inline 6 bimmers. As far as I know and info given by them they like to keep their GTR and Supra in the Hp range of 550 to 650 and that's pretty much will get you to 300km/h very fast. I know a guy personally from Osaka, Araki san he has a black supra capable of doing 320 but his car is having 700hp. For 4 bangers like us...even we can get close to 300...if we see a GTR or Supra we won't go challenge them because would literally get pawned over and over again....the time they get to 300 is so damn fast compare to our puny 4 banger....Also there will be some really fast RX7 also....

RENESIS VIII, notice the red MR badge....well that tells you the version...yes, this car is capable of more power. Voltex and Varis are aeroparts that have gone through testing....they are functional aeroparts....

Actually very shy to say even with 450hp getting to 280 takes a while and when you see a GTR fly by you....you would start to think your car is slow.....

During my meet with the friends there occasionally on weekend, most of them which are into top speed runs are driving GTR or Supra...we have a few Evos and very few Impreza....some would be driving inline 6 bimmers. As far as I know and info given by them they like to keep their GTR and Supra in the Hp range of 550 to 650 and that's pretty much will get you to 300km/h very fast. I know a guy personally from Osaka, Araki san he has a black supra capable of doing 320 but his car is having 700hp. For 4 bangers like us...even we can get close to 300...if we see a GTR or Supra we won't go challenge them because would literally get pawned over and over again....the time they get to 300 is so damn fast compare to our puny 4 banger....Also there will be some really fast RX7 also....

re amemiya and panspeed 20B rawksssss :driver:

On the ITB, it's good for higher engine speed because the air does not need to travel through a whole length of intake pipe to get into the engine.....BUT, BUT ITB is not a simple plug and play thing...an ITB can be setup to individual preferences and usage...like how big is the butterfly valve size, length of the velocity stack, as these parameters will affect your power band....

BTW, this is the pic I took during the 2010 TAS in Tokyo....you can see this is Varis booth....and 1 of their demo car...

Ah, then I know which Evo this is already. Rear bumper is stock right? Thanks for the info about Voltex and Varis.

Perhaps the GTR had even higher hp? Their RB26DETT can easily go over 500hp and above through a few mods.

Well, those Supra and Skyline have higher cc and more cylinders than Evo or Impreza. 4 cylinder struggles to pull out high hp while the other 6 cylinders needed less efforts. For RX7, I'm not sure how much hp can the rotary engine push out. 500-600 is possible I guess...

So this means the aero parts on this Evo below really help to stabilize the car at high speeds?

attachment.php

• DSC_0516.jpg
    DSC_0516.jpg
    121.2 KB · Views: 324
  • DSC_0514.jpg
    DSC_0514.jpg
    69.5 KB · Views: 327
On the ITB, it's good for higher engine speed because the air does not need to travel through a whole length of intake pipe to get into the engine.....BUT, BUT ITB is not a simple plug and play thing...an ITB can be setup to individual preferences and usage...like how big is the butterfly valve size, length of the velocity stack, as these parameters will affect your power band....

BTW, this is the pic I took during the 2010 TAS in Tokyo....you can see this is Varis booth....and 1 of their demo car...

Will installing ITB affect fuel consumption? I think there are quite a number of 4A-GE with ITB setup in Malaysia. For Honda B and K series engine with ITB, I don't think that is so common over here...

Nice M3. All carbon bits I suppose? I thought stock M3 had already sufficient aero to make it reach high speed.