Discussion: what makes a vehicle fun to drive?

keeltha; Crazy oldman !! lol the way he dive into the corner just crazy !! and Driver weight shifting ? :rofl: Love it !![/QUOTE said:
lol yea that old man Motoharu Kurosawa would do everything for the win, saw some videos that he made contact with other cars alot kinda stress up those colleagues :biggrin:

proper manual gearbox and a car that make u take the longer route home every damn time. for my case is my precious Swift Sport. lovin every minute of it, just hated it when petrol warning light is up. High compression punya pasal

I am assuming that you're referring to the video and that I am implying its fun for the Satria to overtake the Porsche? Nay.

If you look at the Porsche during the corners, it wags its tail, the driver panic and over compensated, and he does this consistently in every corner, he's not having fun because he's probably holding on for his dear life..

So the Porsche, to the driver, wasn't fun to drive. If I were him I'd be scared shitless cause as you can see he don't even know why the car is behaving that way.

If you're a good driver, any car would be easy to drive, easy is relative. Just because its easy doesn't mean it isn't fun. I don't see how driving a hard to drive car is fun, its probably dangerous. As for Alex Yoong, he has a lot of fans here and I do not wish to comment, he's a better driver than me that's for sure, but I bet I'm a better sailor than him.

Maybe the Porsche driver haven't got his car for long so still learning and getting used to it.

this is very subjective on many points, but it'll all comes down to how much your balls have evolved to becoming titanium... or melt.

I just like a car with a balance between power & being precise on the control.
It's kinda wasteful... big horsepower & torque.. but you couldn't even use more than 50% of it on the tarmac and keep the car
going where you want it to go or do what you want it to do. That's just mental.

Just wondering, how long did you keep your FD? State of modification?

It was stock. But what I didn't realize at that time was it was a zenki model, freaking old and I had very little knowledge on rotaries. Biggest monetary mistake of my life. Lucky for me I had a very special arrangement financing the car which let me get out with minimal bruising. And thank god for the awesome resale value of the FD!

What makes the FD so great?

I've got a FD3S pinned on my wall, and that's the ONLY car on my wall. Its not that I don't like the car, I love it, the curves are timeless, but I don't see it being very fun to drive for a nooblet like me and most average joes.

How many people do you think can take a corner balls out with a turbocharged RWD without traction control. If you can't go balls out with your car, you ain't having fun.

I don't know how other people have fun, but fun is not how fast the car can go, or how great the car is. It's how fast YOU can go in the car without killing yourself, or the car.

I've got more than 1 FD3S on my walls. :biggrin: It's been the car of my dreams since its launching and if I ever have a windfall the first thing I'll source for is the Spirit-R, preferably unmodified.

I know the FD is idiotically hard to corner hard (for a newbie like me) and fast in and spinning out is no fun. But I personally feel it's very manageable in the FD assuming it's completely stock. I have no idea how those crazy fellas here in KL and in Aussie drive around in their 400bhp variants.

Fun to me is how a car feels when I drive it. Does it make me smile and make me think at the end of the day : "Yeah.. I wanna drive this car again", or is it one of those 'mehh' type of cars? A simple Wira like mine to me is a fun car to drive. I enjoy driving my old beatup junk mainly because of the way it handles and the countless hours and $ I've put into it. Having said that I've test driven a few other Wiras before and not the same can be said about those cars. Except for one lightweight barebones Wira, the others weren't as engaging or fun to drive. So all boils down to personal preference.

I love FD, you do not. So, bleh to you dude. :thefinger:

Haha, thanks for the info. Cheers Izso.

Shame to say I've never driven an FD before, but it is achingly beautiful.

IMO, fun is how a car makes me feel when I drive it. Some cars are fun at some times, but the good ones are the ones that makes you happy most of the time. For me, it's the instantaneous response you feel when you push the throttle pedal, the noise it makes when you build the revs, and the confidence it gives you to push hard during a corner. The kind of car that makes you give it a pat on the hood after a drive and say "Thank you for that!" (yes, I did that lol).

Fun is subjective after all so it's no surprise that everyone has a different view about it.

Just maybe, I've put the facts into more feeling based than technicality and specifications based.

1. The look of the car has to be sporty, fierce, special and most important the driver must be proud of it.
2. The muffler sound when you go thru LDP short tunnel or SMART tunnel then it makes you wanna drop a gear and go faster.
3. The feeling of you come out from the car when you park at mamak for TT. =D
4. The feeling of being able to keep up to another powerful car when you're cruising on highway at midnight or even daily basis =D
5. The "G" you get when you hantam SS19 corner while taking exit to federal highway.
6. The joy you get every time you wash and vacuum the car by yourself.
7. The ( SUPER JOY ) when your new date or gf actually appreciate the stuffs you do to your car and the way you drive it.

Just maybe, I've put the facts into more feeling based than technicality and specifications based.

1. The look of the car has to be sporty, fierce, special and most important the driver must be proud of it.

This one got SCOOP, sporty. Fierce.. got gigi in front, yup. Special.. of course special..its custom one off yo. Only one in the world like Ferrari p4/5

Extreme+bodykit.jpg

2. The muffler sound when you go thru LDP short tunnel or SMART tunnel then it makes you wanna drop a gear and go faster.

oGJf6oC.jpg

I prefer to hear the turbo spooling sound or VTEC sound or V8/10 sound, not muffler sound. Disgusting like ah beng.

3. The feeling of you come out from the car when you park at mamak for TT. =D

Large%20Image.jpg

And people will feel like you're a cock?

4. The feeling of being able to keep up to another powerful car when you're cruising on highway at midnight or even daily basis =D

I'm quite sure that you're not keeping up to that S500, that S500 let you accompany him.

5. The "G" you get when you hantam SS19 corner while taking exit to federal highway.

turtled+avanza+toyota+avanza+accident+toyota+subang+empire+shopping+mall+accident+2013.jpg

6. The joy you get every time you wash and vacuum the car by yourself.

Ditto.

7. The ( SUPER JOY ) when your new date or gf actually appreciate the stuffs you do to your car and the way you drive it.

She just wants you to buy her something.

Sorry I cannot help my self. Cabut.

ixeo... I admire ur efforts LOL

I guess this thread shu be abt whats the factors make a car consider "fun to drive", is more about driving :tounge:

p/s: Anyway, I pay respect to all type of car enthusiast altho I onyl enjoy driving :biggrin:

there's another group of good, fun cars to drive...

Sleepers. There are always something hateful, yet admirable about sleeper cars... fully tuned on the power and on the handling... but leaving everything external all factory stock... even the rims and the exhaust...

all you get when the sleeper pass you by... and leave you farther behind him while you struggle at WOT in your, dynoed, 'tuned by xxxx', carbon fibre bodyparted car... dat feel of 'WTF' and wanting to laugh at what just happened... and that WTF feeling haunt you for days coz you can't exactly decide what to do.

I guess LSD is important too. To keep all power distributed equally on the 2 wheels.
Surprised nobody said that yet.

I guess LSD is important too. To keep all power distributed equally on the 2 wheels.
Surprised nobody said that yet.

Have you ever tried driving a FWD with LSD? it's freaking heavy wei. Not fun at all

Of course no. :bawling: But it seems to be a must thing.
Ohhhh? Different LSD maybe? 1 way, 1.5 way, 2 way.... E diff. Lol

Unless your car comes with it straight from factory, retrofitting an aftermarket LSD on a FWD will guarantee a heavy steering man. Even with power steering working.

Izso: under normal driving, basically u won't feel any differences if the car is loaded with the Cusco 1.5way type RS LSD.. Not even a sound, unless the initial torque on the LSD been modified then maybe it's a difference story maybe. Give a try...bet u will say that's the best mod u ever had :)

As for the topic, I think...its will always fun if the driver managed to tune the car to suit their own driving style :)

This one got SCOOP, sporty. Fierce.. got gigi in front, yup. Special.. of course special..its custom one off yo. Only one in the world like Ferrari p4/5

Extreme+bodykit.jpg

oGJf6oC.jpg

I prefer to hear the turbo spooling sound or VTEC sound or V8/10 sound, not muffler sound. Disgusting like ah beng.

Large%20Image.jpg

And people will feel like you're a cock?

I'm quite sure that you're not keeping up to that S500, that S500 let you accompany him.

turtled+avanza+toyota+avanza+accident+toyota+subang+empire+shopping+mall+accident+2013.jpg

Ditto.

She just wants you to buy her something.

Sorry I cannot help my self. Cabut.

:rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl:

As for the topic, I think...its will always fun if the driver managed to tune the car to suit their own driving style :)

Erm... I dont really get what you mean tune the car to our style, please enlighten :idea: