Hello Taikos and Bros...
(Been a while since my last DIY posting here. Was doing Car specific DIY articles for the last few years)...
These days, Haze la, Weird Weather la, Malaysia very hot... So, why not have a FREE (or almost free if you have to buy materials) air con modification to cool your car down faster and more efficiently?
Do you sometimes feel that your car aircon gets very hot in traffic jams? But it's ok when it's moving?
This is what you need... Insulflex (or any brand) foam tube. This is usually used in Home/Office aircon units to protect the piping from heat and to keep the chilled gasses from the compressor to the aircon blower.
I found this in a construction yard during lunch
so it's FREE
Next, locate where your car's AirCon piping is. It is easy to spot, usually with a refill cap on it and it will be filled with water and cold after you stop your engine from a hot drive.
Carefully slice the Insulflex tubing open. Use scissors for cleaner cut... I used knife, so it's rough...
Wrap it around the tube, anywhere that is exposed.
Just follow the pipe and go all the way to the compressor. Careful not to let the hose touch any belting or pulley.
Cable tie it... Make sure you have the whole pipe covered, and you are DONE!
---------
After effects... Air Con noticeably cools down faster in hot weather, in heavy traffic jam and air con compressor does not need to work so hard (tik tak tik tak in slow traffic)...
Since it's next to no cost at all... Why not give it a try?
It works for me and am lovin it!
(Been a while since my last DIY posting here. Was doing Car specific DIY articles for the last few years)...
These days, Haze la, Weird Weather la, Malaysia very hot... So, why not have a FREE (or almost free if you have to buy materials) air con modification to cool your car down faster and more efficiently?
Do you sometimes feel that your car aircon gets very hot in traffic jams? But it's ok when it's moving?
This is what you need... Insulflex (or any brand) foam tube. This is usually used in Home/Office aircon units to protect the piping from heat and to keep the chilled gasses from the compressor to the aircon blower.
I found this in a construction yard during lunch

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/members/johnsonlam-albums-diy-aircon-hose-cooler-picture10012-jl-diy-airconhose01-this-is-insulflex-usually-used-in-office-home-aircon-piping-to-keep-the-coolant-chilled-in-the-pipe-and-heat-away-from-it.jpg
Next, locate where your car's AirCon piping is. It is easy to spot, usually with a refill cap on it and it will be filled with water and cold after you stop your engine from a hot drive.
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/members/johnsonlam-albums-diy-aircon-hose-cooler-picture10013-jl-diy-airconhose02-this-is-your-aircon-pipe-this-is-where-we-are-protecting-against.jpg
Carefully slice the Insulflex tubing open. Use scissors for cleaner cut... I used knife, so it's rough...
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/members/johnsonlam-albums-diy-aircon-hose-cooler-picture10014-jl-diy-airconhose03-slice-the-aircon-hose-open.jpg
Wrap it around the tube, anywhere that is exposed.
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/members/johnsonlam-albums-diy-aircon-hose-cooler-picture10015-jl-diy-airconhose04-balut-the-insulflex-on-it.jpg
Just follow the pipe and go all the way to the compressor. Careful not to let the hose touch any belting or pulley.
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/members/johnsonlam-albums-diy-aircon-hose-cooler-picture10016-jl-diy-airconhose05-all-the-way-down.jpg
Cable tie it... Make sure you have the whole pipe covered, and you are DONE!
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/members/johnsonlam-albums-diy-aircon-hose-cooler-picture10017-jl-diy-airconhose06-cable-tie.jpg
---------
After effects... Air Con noticeably cools down faster in hot weather, in heavy traffic jam and air con compressor does not need to work so hard (tik tak tik tak in slow traffic)...
Since it's next to no cost at all... Why not give it a try?
It works for me and am lovin it!