Transplanting entire aircon system from one car to another

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator
Mar 28, 2004
15,389
6,411
5,213
KL
Is it possible to transfer the entire Myvi 1.5 aircon system to a normal 1.3 Myvi?

Or is the Avanza aircon system transferrable to Myvi? I know the compressor hoses are a bit different for the Avanza and needs some modification. But if I were to move the whole thing over - would that work?
 

loose_end

3,000 RPM
Senior Member

loose_end

3,000 RPM
Senior Member
Jul 29, 2009
3,649
197
1,663
Malaysia
Why not just key components such as compressor ?
 

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator
May 11, 2010
29,998
8,385
1,713
Petaling Jaya
They aren't completely compatible. The compressor from Avanza isn't a complete fit for Myvi
If that is the case, how can you transfer the whole system. Hose length, bracket and other mounting area, etc....
 

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator
Thread starter
Mar 28, 2004
15,389
6,411
5,213
KL
If that is the case, how can you transfer the whole system. Hose length, bracket and other mounting area, etc....
It's not a complete fit, just need to shave off the mount on the pipe joints and reconnect with bolts and nuts.
 

gunnerzz

2,000 RPM

gunnerzz

2,000 RPM
Jul 3, 2014
2,109
695
713
38
Melaka
Is it possible to transfer the entire Myvi 1.5 aircon system to a normal 1.3 Myvi?

Or is the Avanza aircon system transferrable to Myvi? I know the compressor hoses are a bit different for the Avanza and needs some modification. But if I were to move the whole thing over - would that work?
Can...why not?
Piping needs a bit of customization works.
Myvi 1.3 & 1.5 using different compressor?
 

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator
May 11, 2010
29,998
8,385
1,713
Petaling Jaya
It's not a complete fit, just need to shave off the mount on the pipe joints and reconnect with bolts and nuts.
Make sure the compressor mounting fits well as the belting have to align properly.....:driver:
 

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator
Thread starter
Mar 28, 2004
15,389
6,411
5,213
KL
Can...why not?
Piping needs a bit of customization works.
Myvi 1.3 & 1.5 using different compressor?
I honestly don't know. But I know the 1.5 doesn't have aircon issues. 1.3 aircon gets hot when you drive in the hot afternoon in a jam.

Make sure the compressor mounting fits well as the belting have to align properly.....:driver:
Yeah, that's why I'm asking about retrofitting and whether it's possible or not
 

punk

Known Member
Senior Member

punk

Known Member
Senior Member
Aug 6, 2011
360
76
528
Negeri Sembilan

Attachments

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator
May 11, 2010
29,998
8,385
1,713
Petaling Jaya


Based on blog attached below:
Myvi 1.5 Compressor can fit Myvi 1.3 but need some modification on belting adjuster bracket.

Myvi 1.5 compressor does look bigger compare to myvi 1.3 compressor

http://senangeja.blogspot.my/2017/06/kompressor-myvi-pecah-magnetic-cluth.html

Myvi 1.3 and myvi 1.5 cooling coil size look the same for me.
Bigger compressor is like a house 1hp vs 1.5hp air con, so should cool faster and better but will zap some power from the engine since only 1.3L....lol
 

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator
Thread starter
Mar 28, 2004
15,389
6,411
5,213
KL
Bigger compressor is like a house 1hp vs 1.5hp air con, so should cool faster and better but will zap some power from the engine since only 1.3L....lol
considering how weak it is to begin with - nevermind la. Another -5-10 hp isn't much when you only have 60.
 

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator
May 11, 2010
29,998
8,385
1,713
Petaling Jaya
considering how weak it is to begin with - nevermind la. Another -5-10 hp isn't much when you only have 60.
If you have 200 taking 10 is nothing, but if have 60 take 10 is a lot.....hhahhahahhaha:rofl:
 

Random Post Every 5 Minutes

i heard that i can fit starlet terbo 1.3 engine in to my kelisa is it true ....cos the engine is much more cheeper than yrv engine and do i have to lift the hold engine
to change the timing belt cos the engine to snug...? thank.....
Ask a question, start a discussion or post something for sale!
Post thread

Enjoying Zerotohundred?

Log-in for an ad-less experience