New Myvi - Lagi lagi best?? Get real!

haziq_evo

Ok - first of all before all Myvi lovers out there have a go at me without reading what I shall be complaining about, I love my new 1.3 Myvi. I know to many it is just average but its quirks and simplicity gets me going. What I can't stand is the company responsible behind it all - in terms of quality and after sales service.

Just bought the new "lagi baru lagi best" 1.3 Myvi 3 months ago - 2 months into owning it, the windscreen rubber glue (moulding) disintegrated itself. After going to the service centre straight away, they had no spare part so normal glue is the 'temporary' solution. They told me I have to wait one week for part to arrive. 2-3 weeks later, I called them having nobody contacted me again, and was told that there was no record of my car visiting that very service centre. After going there again (last week) they told me the only time they can put the part on my car was 2 weeks later (next week).

Today suddenly the rubber holding the windscreen and roof together came off again, worse - flapping around. Called them several times- nobody picked up my call (2.15pm - reasonable hour?). Called customer complains hotline - the solution was to drive the car to the nearest service centre (which I think is dangerous since the windscreen feels like it might fall off anytime), in which I will have to leave it there and not get another car to use to continue with my daily life.
Don't get me wrong, I love the new Myvi as a car if it were just normal - not asking for much am I? So to all of you out there on purchasing a perodua think about this - maybe it is just my luck? or is it not? - Hopefully it will not happen to anyone else.

Thanks for the sharing bro...

I don't think you said anything wrong that deserves shooting. About the defects, not sure it's a common thing or just an isolated luck case. It's normal that manufacturing lines have 1 or 2 defects for a certain number of units. As long as they rectify it, it is okay. That aside, I think the biggest problem here after sales service in which way you described it, is really really bad!

Shame on them...

Easy. Send a complaint letter via the Perodua main site (I think there's a complaint section?) and/or complain to tribunal. If not mistaken, P2 takes complaint letters very seriously and so far all the complaints I've ever heard about that's sent through the proper channels are resolved very quickly

http://www.perodua.com.my/contact

if im in your shoes...i'll sure bang them kaw2 wan....
buy new car spend over rm50k & get crap quality.......if rich man son ok la dun care..
but we work so hard just to afford a proper car.....but ended up shitty qualities...
anyways report to perodua as mentioned by Izso.....make a fuss over there...say if they dont resolve this problem asap, u will report to the press.....confirm they sure goyang wan...

Damn...I thought of getting a new myvi pula! If Perodua service sucks till this state, I really got
to reconsider my decision. So far, proton service still okay but also not up to par. Complain my
car got some weird sound when cornering, paper there written solve due to some loose nuts i
just drive out from the SC adi and cornering still got sound...

Not driveshaft problem but some weird sound as if the chassis is being bent..door kind of squeaking
sound. Haih...is it really we can't rely on local cars? :banghead:

bro,

my best experience would be Perodua PJ Service Center, En Roslan(Branch Manager) is very accomodating and helpful. I did went to other SC, in fact worst would be Shah Alam as they have the guts to turned down a customer.

I do agree that its a very good car, but the only drawbacks is you need to do some regular visits to the SC to get it in ideal shape. It defeats the purpose of getting a new car and to endure all these problems. I feel you as i was in the same situation previously. Perhaps they need to increase their QC to another notch looking at the number of cars sold in the market.

my advise to you - pay them regular visits and make sure you covered everything that you are not happy with. (We are the CUSTOMER, yes?)
my advise to them - please dont be too complacent, competitors are closing in and people ARE getting smarter.

I heard PJ one is good too by a friend of mine...just opposite TOC. So far, he said is the best Perodua SC la..

government said 'Support Malaysian Brand'..

how to support if the product has no quality ?

i can support.. but give me a reason la

low quality is the reason why i don't buy Malaysian car..

:biggrin:

Hey everyone! Thanks for the support! Thanks Iszo, I approached every method including the one you suggested to get the problem sorted out. Basically the service centre and the complaints hotline were not making my day easy with their first solution of driving the car (that I no longer feel safe in) to the nearest service centre.

It was a case of avoiding some guy going "why did you drive if you had a gut feeling it was going to get worse?" so I refused to drive it. In the end they towed it to a service centre where everything was fixed but I had to leave the car overnight.

Everybody was suddenly extra polite and they even had someone to drop me home. Had several reassuring phone calls regarding the problem. I even had the bluetooth issue (which they initially quoted would take 3 weeks to solve) resolved overnight. I also received a mail yesterday about a one year free "Smart Assist" which came with a card; not sure if everyone else receives it too or has it got something to do with the recent debacle?

As Darkfibre mentioned we as customers have our rights and we should damn well exercise it. Hopefully nothing else will fall apart as the car is all good for now :) Once again, thanks for your all your support and advice, hope this problem only happened to me as I really wish that P2 is close to becoming a manufacturer which Malaysians deserve.

Hmm every time I start to consider buying a P2 (last time was Alza and now Myvi 1.5), then always come to hear about quality issues and bad service reports like this! Wonder if the power window is also still problematic like the older version.
I also just noticed that the front grills (either the top one or the bottom one) are not completely open but partially covered on the right side. Why is that so? It makes it look fake and the aero drag must not be good. So far Myvi is the only car I noticed to be like this.

Hey everyone! Thanks for the support! Thanks Iszo, I approached every method including the one you suggested to get the problem sorted out. Basically the service centre and the complaints hotline were not making my day easy with their first solution of driving the car (that I no longer feel safe in) to the nearest service centre.

It was a case of avoiding some guy going "why did you drive if you had a gut feeling it was going to get worse?" so I refused to drive it. In the end they towed it to a service centre where everything was fixed but I had to leave the car overnight.

Everybody was suddenly extra polite and they even had someone to drop me home. Had several reassuring phone calls regarding the problem. I even had the bluetooth issue (which they initially quoted would take 3 weeks to solve) resolved overnight. I also received a mail yesterday about a one year free "Smart Assist" which came with a card; not sure if everyone else receives it too or has it got something to do with the recent debacle?

As Darkfibre mentioned we as customers have our rights and we should damn well exercise it. Hopefully nothing else will fall apart as the car is all good for now :) Once again, thanks for your all your support and advice, hope this problem only happened to me as I really wish that P2 is close to becoming a manufacturer which Malaysians deserve.

Would it be fair to say you are satisfied with the steps they took to rectify your issue? You have clearly stated your unhappiness, but to P2's credit I think they finally resolved it well.

Some questions
1. Which SC did you initially go to? authorised 3rd party or p2 owned?
2. Did you get a receipt/invoice/service remark in your booklet after your first service to indicate they do something? the "temporary solution"? always get written confirmation of ANY work done to your car, cause if shit happens they will deny

I've owned a Myvi since '06. The car has its fair share of problems, but I won't rate it as excessive and it is fairly well documented in myvi clubs.

The key problem is the service center, or rather, the people working there with the "tidak apa" attitude. thing is, its not limited to P2, I have heard horror stories of Toyota, Nissan, Honda and even Ford owners alike with similar issues. A guy with a current modelHonda Accord Tak Guna, or the Nissan X-Trail Lemon are some examples.

I'll give you an example of my dealing with P2.. the Myvi is famous for its brake rotor warping issues, the root of the problem is due to the improperly sized caliper pin, which cause the calipers to be stuck and in turn warp the rotors. Back then we weren't aware of the caliper pin failure, all we know is the brake is vibrating like an energizer powered dildo. So I went to my favorite P2 authorised service center and they ordered the part for me, told me it'll take 2 months. I waited for a week and thought, wtf, this is taking too long, so i went to P2's own service center in SS13 (its now closed and moved to USJ1) and told them the issue, they tested the car and acknowledged the problem, and then said I had to order and wait, then I ask them you guys are P2's own service center and you don't have parts for such a common problem? The guy just smiled and say will order for me. So I went back, and guess what I did? I called the Perodua customer support number from their website and spoke to a nice lady. I acted like an idiot and the story went like this "HALO? perodua ah? saya ada myvi hor dia brek losak.. saya pegi itu pelodua servis senter, dia sulah cek kata ada problem jugak tapi perlu tunggu dua bulan hor. macam mana saya takut oh ini BREK oh kalau tak boleh HENTI hor saya mati wor.. macam ini kereta saya tak boley pandu ah? macam mana? you pelodua hari hari jual myvi tarak spare part mana boleh you sendiri kilang di melaysia. minggu depan i balik kampung bawa saya ibu, nenek, bapa, makcik oh.. kalau brek rosak kat highway hor bukan saya pergi jumpa saya keluarga di kampung dia mari jumpa saya di hospital saya sangat takut ohh. kalau tak ada part hor tolong bagi surat bagitau saya dua bulan baru ada so kalau ada apa2 berlaku pada brek atau aksiden saya boleh cari perodua"

the lady put me on hold, and possibly went to spoke to the manager or something.. then she came back to me and said she will contact the SS13 SC and get someone to contact me..

in my heart i was thinking YEAH RIGHT you're just trying to get me off the line and ask me to F!@# myself. so I asked for her name and said tenkiu tenkiu.

2 hours later the SS13 SC manager called me, and scheduled me to get my brakes replaced that weekend itself. when i went back, i cheekily asked the same guy who attended to me and ask him "eh nape tiba2 ada pulak? hari tu kata tarak" then he slyly said.. ini orang lain yang order belum ambik..so bagi you dulu.

the moral of the story is.. ALL cars have problems, none are perfect. the key part is how tactful are you in getting what you want. sure, they are "supposed" to help us fix the problems, but factors such as lazy irresponsible staff, company controls & procedures (such as claiming for part need to wait - which i can understand to avoid theft and loss of inventory), and sometimes the customer himself being a pushover or too lazy and ignorant to find out more.. some myvi drivers naively believe "caliper grease" will fix this problem.. if they bothered to do their own research on ZTH and myvi clubs..they would know.

every car owner will claim (or would like to believe) their car is invincible, go to each respective car club and see, hahaha. but being very honest with you guys, the Myvi is a very practical [strike]boat[/strike] car. For people who drive according to road speed (you will complain if you are trying to break speed limits cause it will take forever in the Myvi) and civilized, no zig zagging or trying to Schumacher corners, it is absolutely fine to drive to work and back, fetch the kids, go shopping etc. But for long distance I'd pick a Persona (same price bracket). The Lagi Best Myvi has improved in the NVH department tremendously over the previous model.

since the new Myvi and old one is practically the same (same engine, suspension etc.) problems and wear/tear maintenance is well documented, and there are plenty of parts, ranging from perodua, to "oem" to japanese half cuts..

truth be told however, at the price point, the Saga FLX definitely behaves more like a car, the Persona is nice too. If I don't own a car and I am considering the Myvi Lagi Best today I might end up with the Persona or the Waja CPS, who knows :)

EDIT: oh and my favourite authorised SC that said they will order the part did call me back, 3 months later and ask me to come get it fixed. i guess being third party and all they are probably slower to claim parts. but they are great when it comes to troubleshooting problems.

Hmm every time I start to consider buying a P2 (last time was Alza and now Myvi 1.5), then always come to hear about quality issues and bad service reports like this! Wonder if the power window is also still problematic like the older version.
I also just noticed that the front grills (either the top one or the bottom one) are not completely open but partially covered on the right side. Why is that so? It makes it look fake and the aero drag must not be good. So far Myvi is the only car I noticed to be like this.

Do what I did, cut it open myself with a blade. :biggrin: There's a reason la, just to keep out water from that particular section I suppose. Either that or the manufacturing costs to cut that piece of plastic probably was saved.

I really think it's just your luck. My wife and parents Myvis (2004 and 2008 models) are both problem free until today except the 2008 one has a wonky boot switch. Otherwise power windows and all are all in fine running condition.

the Myvi is a very practical [strike]boat[/strike] car. For people who drive according to road speed (you will complain if you are trying to break speed limits cause it will take forever in the Myvi) and civilized, no zig zagging or trying to Schumacher corners, it is absolutely fine to drive to work and back, fetch the kids, go shopping etc. But for long distance I'd pick a Persona (same price bracket). The Lagi Best Myvi has improved in the NVH department tremendously over the previous model.

since the new Myvi and old one is practically the same (same engine, suspension etc.) problems and wear/tear maintenance is well documented, and there are plenty of parts, ranging from perodua, to "oem" to japanese half cuts..

BOAT! HAHAHAHA!!! AGREED! But personally I don't think it's fine for shopping and picking up the kids. Boot space is atrocious and I have my doubts on side impact and rear impact safety.

The old Myvi has a slightly shorter wheelbase so it actually has an even smaller boot. Cabin wise it's almost the same size. The lower roof line makes it that much slightly more aerodynamic and the EPS helps the FC. So not quite the same but parts wise is transferrable like you said with many other models.

I personally hate the suspension on the Myvi though. It's too stiff for its weight and that makes it a pretty rough ride when you're alone or when the rear isn't loaded.

I second that, its like driving with a aftermarket absorbers, but cant complain though the stiffness of it do help in some corners..:driver:

Does it really? Perhaps mine is more worn out than I thought. Cuz mine body rolls pretty bad in corners but is stiff and bumpy like an adjustable suspension on a straight road.

install rear anti roll bar and you will feel the different, where anti roll bar will not sacrify much comfort.

Does it really? Perhaps mine is more worn out than I thought. Cuz mine body rolls pretty bad in corners but is stiff and bumpy like an adjustable suspension on a straight road.

The stiffer suspension setup on the new MyVi does improve handling a little if compared to the previous ones but still isn't good enough to tackle corners aggressively. Still good enough for a city car.

thread owner issues is probably isolated cases, probably it's just luck...

you need to understand the suspension system setup for the rear...
it's meant for comfort, which is what 'torsion beam' are...

i'm with a new 1.5SE, after 5years with 1.3... it for my wife actually...
does not face any issue except rear suspension for the 1.3... change twice under warranty...
upgrade handling and braking only after warranty that's 3years...

now having TITAN in hand but scare to install to the 1.5SE coz of warranty...

i like to recommend the part to upgrade, as it's the same kind of parts i've upgraded for my SEG...
- suspension - i'm using TITAN for both car type
- UR bars - upper and lower front, fender and rear anti roll bar (ARB)
- brake - i ask my mech to create a groove line on the rotor + steel lines + good brake pads

even with all the above installed, there's still a bit of body roll on the MyVi...
'macam nak bergolek'... kata orang kampung...:biggrin:

hi,
im new owner to a myvi which is now ~2 mths old.
apart from some squeking noise from the dash during certain speeds, there's been no other
defects until recently noticed some rattle/ clicking noise during morning engine startup.
the noise will stop after engine warmup for about a minute. anyone have idea what may be the cause of this rattle/ clicking noise? ive checked the drive belt and its not loose.
could it be some bearings / chain problem?

appreciate your helpful advice on this, cheers!

Do what I did, cut it open myself with a blade. :biggrin: There's a reason la, just to keep out water from that particular section I suppose. Either that or the manufacturing costs to cut that piece of plastic probably was saved.

I really think it's just your luck. My wife and parents Myvis (2004 and 2008 models) are both problem free until today except the 2008 one has a wonky boot switch. Otherwise power windows and all are all in fine running condition.

BOAT! HAHAHAHA!!! AGREED! But personally I don't think it's fine for shopping and picking up the kids. Boot space is atrocious and I have my doubts on side impact and rear impact safety.

The old Myvi has a slightly shorter wheelbase so it actually has an even smaller boot. Cabin wise it's almost the same size. The lower roof line makes it that much slightly more aerodynamic and the EPS helps the FC. So not quite the same but parts wise is transferrable like you said with many other models.

but persona fc quite high= =

thread owner issues is probably isolated cases, probably it's just luck...

you need to understand the suspension system setup for the rear...
it's meant for comfort, which is what 'torsion beam' are...

i'm with a new 1.5SE, after 5years with 1.3... it for my wife actually...
does not face any issue except rear suspension for the 1.3... change twice under warranty...
upgrade handling and braking only after warranty that's 3years...

now having TITAN in hand but scare to install to the 1.5SE coz of warranty...

i like to recommend the part to upgrade, as it's the same kind of parts i've upgraded for my SEG...
- suspension - i'm using TITAN for both car type
- UR bars - upper and lower front, fender and rear anti roll bar (ARB)
- brake - i ask my mech to create a groove line on the rotor + steel lines + good brake pads

even with all the above installed, there's still a bit of body roll on the MyVi...
'macam nak bergolek'... kata orang kampung...:biggrin:

I agree on installing the items mentioned above. Wat's the result of ur car after installing the UR bars btw?

I have a 1.5l and installed rear arb, front strut and rear lower arm. The result is satisfying. Less body roll (alot less!) and can feel the handling is improved. Im planning to install front ARB and lower front, and fender would be last coz i dont wana rip anything yet.