B16 engine?

aranny2001

guys, i want to know is that if i transplant a B16 into my current civic EG , the fuel consumption will be better compare to D16 engine? i meant normal drive, not open vtec all the time as im not really a person who like to race.... cause i heard a friend of mine say so when he did the transplant, he said the honda civic EG and EK body is heavy...:confused:

try and find the manufacturer's fuel consumption claim... should be able by googling abit..

that should give u an idea

The answer varies. How far you travel per day etc.

As for me, I transplanted a B16 into EG8. Everything is great. Power is definitely there. FC does have an improvement. Depends on how I drive lar :)

In your case, dont have to buy half cut. Just get the things that is not compatible with your new b16 and get it fixed. Honda half cut isn't cheap. Try to minimise your cost as much as possible. Of course if most of the parts are not compatible, then might as well get a half cut.

Btw, its better for you to google the manufacturer's fuel consumption claim as it will be more accurate as those tests would have been carried out in the same way. If you were to ask people here, you will get all sorts of answers because of the difference in roads we use, distance travelled and driving style.

how bad is ur FC that ur thinking of transplanting the B16 into ur car just to save fuel?

the transplant itself is gonna cost thousands already....

perhaps a change of driving style would be more financially viable.

guys, i want to know is that if i transplant a B16 into my current civic EG , the fuel consumption will be better compare to D16 engine? i meant normal drive, not open vtec all the time as im not really a person who like to race.... cause i heard a friend of mine say so when he did the transplant, he said the honda civic EG and EK body is heavy...:confused:

And trust me, the words in bold are beyond your control when you are driving a B16. :driver::driver:
Instead of trying to save money by saving fuel, you will tend to spend on mods to make it faster. :smokin:

And trust me, the words in bold are beyond your control when you are driving a B16. :driver::driver:
Instead of trying to save money by saving fuel, you will tend to spend on mods to make it faster. :smokin:

Or you might even ended up doing the frankenstein swap, B20 block :hmmmm:

better transplant b16a...more suitable.

you do a BOT you will end up spending more money... just transplant to b16a...get a vafc to tune the car for good FC...

better transplant b16a...more suitable.

you do a BOT you will end up spending more money... just transplant to b16a...get a vafc to tune the car for good FC...

bur how come the half cut still so expensive~~~ :bawling: i saw an EG9 on the highway just now... im driving the camry 2.4 cc i can see the EG9 accelerate damn fast! cool~ even my camry i dun think can chase after it.

turbo really that bad? cause i expect to boost very very low only... about 0.3 bar... thout turbo low boost can save fuel and give power?

---------- Post added at 11:01 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:56 PM ----------

Or you might even ended up doing the frankenstein swap, B20 block :hmmmm:

hahah... that one impossible :rofl:

half cut is getting more expensive & that EG9 maybe modded. u wont know what he got under his hood.
my own experience is B16 fc better than D IF u drive below 4k rpm where i doubt it.:idea: soon or later sure will press into vtec point alot.
pressing to high rev doesnt mean racing. as for myself, i merely wanna reach the cruising speed asap. :biggrin:

You should be able to get the whole thing done under RM10k. I'm not sure how much the half cut costs now, but shouldn't vary a lot I guess. Those days it was just RM6k - RM7k.

For OP's case, does he really need a half cut? or just the engine? If halfcut, depending on b16 specs, could be over RM10k nowadays. If just engine transplant, RM7k would do the job.

after u change to b16 den u install a e-manage n tune yr engine..u'll get a better balance of fuel consumption n power..