DIY Honda ECU Repairs- P30 P08 P27

anyone have rechipped a stock ecu with external chip already. i am sure its stock since solder was very clean and the same with other components. p08-900 auto

question: i remove the chip and place the chip bed then put the chip back.

remove rp17 and jumper rp18

tested and all is ok..

now i place a switch so it can run stock and chip.

tested switch to chip, everything is ok no CEL

tested switch to stock, CEL 19 WTF!

please need inputs thanks

Key off then key on again. Still got cel19?
First time after switch will occur Cel, but after key on and key off, it should run normal...

yes, CEL 19 will not go away. no matter how may time i on/off key and remove and put back the ecu..

Your auto to manual mod is correct assuming you did not damage the copper trace.
(pls recheck.. the continuity of rp18 and it trace.

The other possibility.... It is not a P08? Let me know the board version... E.g 1550-1500

Tq

yes conversion from auto to manual is correct because when switched to external chip no cel 19
but when switched to internal chip cel 19

i install a toggle switch at J1 to switch from external chip to internal chip

by the way the external chip is factory chip. it was soldered directly from the 28 pin location. no signs of manual soldering. so this is stock chip

j1 has 000 resistor untouched

all capacitors was un touched

373 untouched

i am sure its a p08. i have 3 in hand.. this is the only one weird

Hi Bro, I am new to this ECU things. Recently I have my EG engine replaced with D15B Auto. And the gearbox was then converted to manual, still using the P2J auto ECU (that come with the engine). Everything was fine, no CEL code and the engine was running fine EXCEPT for one problem. When cold start, the RPM will rev at up to like 1500 rpm and stays and I need to wait till the temp goes to about half of the gauge then I will switch off the engine. Restart again then the idle rpm will stay at about 600 - 700 rpm which i think it should be. After on the road for more than 15 minutes maybe, when the car is stopped, the idle rpm will drop to less than 500 rpm (which is very low). My question is, could it be ECU problem? do I need to mod this ECU or replace with another one? and which ECU should I replace for this 3 stage VTEC D15B?

Hi... who did the engine installation?
It could just be dirty throttle body or the sensor position.
Btw check with your pomen, how did he byPass the auto check lite?

For P2J seldom hv ecu trouble...
Is there a manual ecu for 3 stage, i will hv to reconfirm..

---------- Post added at 04:38 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:27 AM ----------

Your ecu long type or square type?
Your ecu socket hv 3 or 4?

Anyway suspect is still more to the throttle body...
The water passage could be dirty... Try knocking the bottom part
of the TB and see is if effect the idling.....

Thanks for your reply...I ll check with the pomen on the byPassing of the auto check lite.Yes, there are manual ECU for P2J 3 stage but they are very rare. My ECU now is a square type with 4 sockets (OBD2) and all sockets are plugged in though I think one socket that is for shift position indicator not plugged in on the other end at the meter. Wonder if I can downgrade to OBD1 by using either P27 or P28 manual ECU. Or can this P2J auto ECU be converted to manual?
And I already have the TB cleaned and its still the same. Suspect more on the ECU.

Dino
Let me know your current rev cut....
Obd1 p27 will not support your 3 stage vtec, so forget
about tat idea.
Will check for you the auto to manual ecu modification on
P2J square 4 socket ecu...

---------- Post added at 08:18 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:18 PM ----------

Dino
Let me know your current rev cut....
Obd1 p27 will not support your 3 stage vtec, so forget
about tat idea.
Will check for you the auto to manual ecu modification on
P2J square 4 socket ecu...

Good day Sir......Thanks for your reply. I dont get your question on rev cut. Is it the red mark on the RPM meter? If it is its at 7200. If its a safety rev cut, honestly I dont know at what it was set. I hv not asked the pomen yet about bypassing the auto check lite, he just got discharged from hospital (motor accident- hand phone broken- pity him). Really hope some mods can be done on the P2J ECU.

yes conversion from auto to manual is correct because when switched to external chip no cel 19
but when switched to internal chip cel 19

i install a toggle switch at J1 to switch from external chip to internal chip

by the way the external chip is factory chip. it was soldered directly from the 28 pin location. no signs of manual soldering. so this is stock chip

j1 has 000 resistor untouched

all capacitors was un touched

373 untouched

i am sure its a p08. i have 3 in hand.. this is the only one weird

If the EPROM is original from factory then you shoudn't leave it empty. You either remain it or repalace it with another upgraded chip. If leave it empty sure will have problem.

Hello E-Tech..
I got a problem with my p08 ecu.. the car will start and idle normally.. after a few minutes, it idle goes down and i found out that the a/c compressor is on although i did'nt on the a/c. this problem didn't happen when i change to another p08 ecu.. please need help.. Thanks..

Hello E-Tech..
I got a problem with my p08 ecu.. the car will start and idle normally.. after a few minutes, it idle goes down and i found out that the a/c compressor is on although i did'nt on the a/c. this problem didn't happen when i change to another p08 ecu.. please need help.. Thanks..

Hi bro...
Confirm ecu problem.
A/C not control... Always on.

I send you a pm.

Thanks E-tech 4 helping..
FYI the ecu b4 this get a code 4.. i just replace burnt capacitor c27 and repair a CKP copper track.. i put in the car, n the code is gone.. but the other problem i cannot solve is the a/c compressor "on" a few minutes after start although i didn't on it.. hope you can help me.. thanks again..

Hi E-Tech.....reference to my previous thread regarding D15B and the auto P2J ECU on manual transmission. Really need to have the ECU replaced with manual type, as long I can make use of single VTEC for ECOnomy which the engine will run with 12 valves out of this 3 stage VTEC. Which ECU should be suitable for this. Please help........

hye dino.. i have experience on using d15b 3 stage vtec engine and its p2j obd2a auto ecu (long type) like http://www.mudah.my/Ecu+computer+box+dan+auto+control+unit+honda+ek3-10558401.htm.. when i convert to manual, the ecu will not check for auto tranny bcoz it using tcm.. i just take off the tcm, so there is no problem when i use p2j auto ecu.. idling is normally 1200 after start.. after a few second it will go down to 750.. your idling problem, like sifu e-tech say maybe it is becoz TB.. try to service the TB and check for iacv..

Thank you very much Bro on the tips. I assume you re still using the Auto ECU on manual tranny and it works fine after taken out the tcm, and no CEL illuminates. I ll disconnect the tcm connector and buy the Carburetor cleaner to clean the IACV and TB again. Thanks

Hi Bro... just some update, I have serviced the TB and IACV but its still the same... and I cant find the TCM.....I know its supposed to be at the back of right kick pedal.....help me

Thanks E-tech 4 helping..
FYI the ecu b4 this get a code 4.. i just replace burnt capacitor c27 and repair a CKP copper track.. i put in the car, n the code is gone.. but the other problem i cannot solve is the a/c compressor "on" a few minutes after start although i didn't on it.. hope you can help me.. thanks again..

Hi... component QM3 might require to be changed.

---------- Post added at 08:04 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:00 PM ----------

Hi Bro... just some update, I have serviced the TB and IACV but its still the same... and I cant find the TCM.....I know its supposed to be at the back of right kick pedal.....help me

If your car is right hand drive, then it is on the left side kick panel.
Ur in 1m'sia correct?