Experience on 3SGE Beams on AE111

Not sure... But for me, I prefer to retain stock injectors and put 2 more auxilary injectors to supplement instead. That way, the stock injectors can maintain good fuel atomisation for low rpm/low load.

BEAMS in ae101 body is an understeer devil
u will need good traction tyres or else torque steer plus under kow kow
if u just do daily drive then anything oso can as long as it meets your requirement for comfort
most important thing is UPGRADE your BRAKES b4 u do anything coz i am oso another road user ... hehehe

ps ... i have been driving a BEAMS since 2001 ... sold it off in 2008
lots of events and few track days ... the day i sold it off still no makan minyak or any drippings on the floor but the wear and tear very very kow already ... estimate maybe only 120-130 on wheel only that time
FC is about the same as bt20v ... u dont need to throttle so much to get the same performance with the torque of the BEAMS compared to a bt20v

good luck !!!

Sifoo Alan has spoken...:driver:

I've driven a stock 3SGTE on stock AE111...
driving pleasure wasn't so nice compared to stock AE110 with stock 20V...
although the power is more then enough for me...still, not so nice...the car back end felt so light...

I don't about you guys...

but still power is nothing without "kontol" ehhhh...control...hahahahaha

for daily driving, better get a PnP engine..

but for racing, sky is the limit

juz my RM0.02..

:biggrin:

although the power is more then enough for me...still, not so nice...the car back end felt so light...

Im not sure about this, but 3sGTE much heavier then 3SGE? I guess overall weight of 4agte or 4agze, comparable with 3SGE? 4aGTE due to turbo stuff and gZE due to heavier gb and shaft.

I don't about you guys...

but still power is nothing without "kontol" ehhhh...control...hahahahaha

Put some bricks in the boot mar...

Seriously, I don't think the AE101 body weight is that much different from the ST150 Corona's. Like I said before, the alleged front heavy issue, to me, it's a matter of suspension setting. If you're still using the same spring rate as the lighter 4AGE, then it will not be able to support the additional weight properly causing the understeer & lightness feeling in the rear symptom.

If any of you are still having a Beams in the AE101 body & complaining of the understeer problem, I recommend that you review your suspension setup; especially the spring rate.

I'm just sharing my daily experience of living with my Beams & my BT.:driver:

normality78 - not too sure about the weight, but GTE should be heavier a bit...but if you compare the spec Caldina spec , between 3SGE (1410kg) n 3SGTE (1470kg) , this are for auto model, both 4WD...you see there 60kg different between both model...but can really sure is it heavier because of the engine wise or else...

yeah you can saw the differences may be similar between 4AGE 20V and 4AGZE...

2 Old 2 Rusty - ngehhh put bricks...later wife will asked..."no wonder my vase bricks missing" hahahaha...

hmmm...might wanna put the heavy steel railway line...
plus...a stiffer ARB...some say UR ARB stiffer then TRD's one...need to try it out...
my mech can do the setup for that...

but still for me...the 1.6 chassis can't compared with 2.0 chassis n handling wise...
if the stock setup wasn't so nice...you need to adjust here n there...the comfort level is not there...
i would rather stick to the old setup...less headache thinking to solve a problem that I've created...

well is up to our own personal preferences...everybody got his own taste maaa...

all i can say...the felling will be like having a full spec EVO engine...but in a Proton Wira... :D
power is there...but not the handling n comfort wise...if you know what i mean...

I've reached a point where...I've sold my fully mod AE101 n buy a bigger CC with single cam summore!!!...why ? well...that's another story... :driver: :driver: :driver:

I think I share your sentiment, Chin.

That's why my BT's stock suspension (well, almost) coz I don't feel like driving like a mad man all the time. There're times when I feel like driving like a normal sane human & enjoy the scenery.

So I set up my cars to be Jekyll & Hyde kind of split personality contrast. The Beams for when I'm insane:stupid: & BT auto for a relaxing:slug: drive...
:laugh::laugh::laugh:

yup...not that bad...

It would be nice if some could source out the TRD 2000 (AE101) Spec sheet...

ae101 is by nature a tail happy car at higher speeds (meaning faster than u would drive in a housing area)
make the front heavier ... and the tail becomes even more happy (relatively speaking)
but ....
in tight/sudden corners the front will give way (at housing area speeds) ... this is almost true for for most cars ... it is even more true for a head heavy car
when u go from 90kmh into a 90degree corner and drop to 1st gear or maybe not and take the corner at the max speed u dare ... u will see what i mean by heavy front understeer devil compared to stock (lighter) front (all using the same suspension setup la)

chinozie has pointed out ... the car with 4AGE and BEAMS/SS is around 60kg difference
i know coz i weighed it at a commercial weigh bridge

in my EX CAR ... it has super struts .. way way better than when using macphersons
coils slightly firmer but lower than stock (shocks still stock for daily drive) .. additional 20mm wider front tracks .. rears having hard shocks with stock coils
this makes for a really comfortable daily drive with handling to match .. from seremban highway (going towards seremban) turning into MRR2 near sri petaling exit ... 110-120kmh in middle of corner easy with cigarette in hand and using cheapo MAXXIS daily drive tires

while everybody stresses on the performance of this BEAMS REDTOP .. i had it in my ae101 when the kedai potong ppl oso does not know what it is
from day 1 ... the power just blows away everything (almost) .. conservative dyno shows 170whp
then comes events and track days .. over the years ... very very hard wear and tear on the engine and car (how many ppl changes 4 sets of front brake pads in 1 year ?? hehehe)
daily driven oso i whack 7k rpm everyday .. 12km/L
come the day i sold my BEAMS .. i estimate nothing more than 130whp ... the engine needs a full overhaul to regain its full potential

all in all ... i was very happy with the BEAMS in an AE101 .. good FC .. good performance and very very reliable (even with power drop there is NO LEAKS or MAKAN MINYAK HITAM)

but please .. UPGRADE your BRAKES .. my current car has no mods except brakes upgrade
go fast but please stop faster ... hahahahahaa

ae101 is by nature a tail happy car at higher speeds (meaning faster than u would drive in a housing area)
make the front heavier ... and the tail becomes even more happy (relatively speaking)
but ....
in tight/sudden corners the front will give way (at housing area speeds) ... this is almost true for for most cars ... it is even more true for a head heavy car

Bro... How can an FF be tail happy unless you tune it to be? You nave any chassis bars? Because FF and factory tuned to gently induce understeer at the limit.

when u go from 90kmh into a 90degree corner and drop to 1st gear or maybe not and take the corner at the max speed u dare ... u will see what i mean by heavy front understeer devil compared to stock (lighter) front (all using the same suspension setup la)

And bro... No offense... But I think 90km/h drop to first gear does not make sense. 2nd gear ok la... Even if you are at 40km/h drop to first gear your eyes will want to pop out already and the engine screams shit!!!! :burnout:

when u go from 90kmh into a 90degree corner and drop to 1st gear

:adore::adore::adore:

while everybody stresses on the performance of this BEAMS REDTOP .. i had it in my ae101 when the kedai potong ppl oso does not know what it is

:adore::adore::adore:

Truly sifu & champion...:adore::adore:

Sifu ar, if you use 4A set up suspension for the heavier 3S...sure die one, sure understeer like hell lor. You also said mar, standard-standard also tail happy already, some more now front heavy, no need to say lor.

---------- Post added at 10:11 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:08 AM ----------

Veloc,

Bro... How can an FR be tail happy unless you tune it to be? You nave any chassis bars? Because FR and factory tuned to gently induce understeer at the limit.

FYI, AE101 = FF :biggrin:

Hahahah.... Sorry sorry... Yes I mean to say FF> Dream about FR too much dy... My point is, FF is factory tuned to understeer gently at the limit. Unless one tunes the chassis by stiffening the back a lot, it won't oversteer. And even if the chassis is tuned, I wouldn't say it will be "tail happy". It will be just oversteer biased! "Tail happy" is a big word! It refers to car like fairlady, silvia, AE86!

FR - tail happy = drift
FF - tail happy = uncontrolable rear end... due to powerful engine dragging the rear

:biggrin:

Hahahah.... Sorry sorry... Yes I mean to say FF> Dream about FR too much dy... My point is, FF is factory tuned to understeer gently at the limit. Unless one tunes the chassis by stiffening the back a lot, it won't oversteer. And even if the chassis is tuned, I wouldn't say it will be "tail happy". It will be just oversteer biased! "Tail happy" is a big word! It refers to car like fairlady, silvia, AE86!

No worries, bro. I knew it was a typo, just pulling yr legs.

I can't comment much because I didn't use the Beams "when the kedai potong ppl oso does not know what it is". When I use that time, the kedai potong already knew what it is, I guess that's why they didn't give me the halfcut free of charge. I have also never tried nor dare to drop to 1st gear entering a 90 degree turn at 90 km/h.

I have much to learn. So I'll just shut my mouth & hope to learn more from all the sifu-sifus here, Veloc.

---------- Post added at 10:59 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:50 AM ----------

FF - tail happy = uncontrolable rear end... due to powerful engine dragging the rear

See what I mean ? Damn deep la, I can't catch up with what that means la wei...:hmmmm:

Sifu, slowly la, newbies like me cannot catch up. I thought FF = powerful engine dragging the front mar, no ?:hmmmm: