Fat tyre

What kind of wheel and rubber you prefer on your ride?

• Stock wheel and tyre

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Oversized wheel and thin stretched tyre

• Fat tyre

• Total voters
yeap, it is also known as rebarreling rims / rebarrel rims / rims re-barreling

can give a google search and see more :)

wondering where in malaysia got offer such service.. came a cross a thread in some forum, someone had his steel rims done in damansara but dunno where

thanks for sharing bro. currently hunting for 15x8 pcd100 with offset less than 40 due to problems rim hitting rear lower arm..

8JJ more common for pcd114.3. pcd100 seldom see..

---------- Post added at 08:42 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:37 PM ----------

viva bro, small potato only haha. still quite a long way more to achieve hella flush. still hunting for right rims with perfect offset for the car

Ah I see, why not add a slip on spacer? Its hard to look for less positive offsets in the 100PCD, i've got the same problem as you...

I might be converting to 114.3 soon though, then all my problems should be over haha :biggrin:

Uhh no, quite the opposite. Think about this, imagine the path youre walking on is narrower than the width of your feet, you'll have to squeeze both your feet in to fit, then your body is going to be unbalanced.

Same think with a narrow rim, wide tire. The tire is flexing INWARDS to fit haha.

Unlike if you strech a narrower tire over a wider rim, you imagine the opposite lah, wider path for you to walk on and you just strech your legs hahahaha :biggrin:

I've tried driving on my friends avanza a wider tire on narrow rim, the steering feel REALLY feels bad. It feels f*cking mushy due to more sidewall flex, but I dont blame him lah. Finding the proper tire size for avanza's are hard due to their odd size haha.

Unlike streched tires, their steering feels nice cause of the stiffer sidewall, I likeeee. :driver:
Hellaflushing ka dude? Haha what car do you drive? And if I may ask what rims are you using? :biggrin:

I see.. Thanks a bunch for the info! :love: Currently I'm using 195/55 on my 6.5jj rims, thinking of using 185/55 on next tyre change to improve handling a bit. I don't want to use 195/50 coz the speedo would be innacurate.

Another reason is that the difference in price between 195/55 and 185/55 tyre (Michelin PS3) is more than RM50 per tyre, hehe..

I see.. Thanks a bunch for the info! :love: Currently I'm using 195/55 on my 6.5jj rims, thinking of using 185/55 on next tyre change to improve handling a bit. I don't want to use 195/50 coz the speedo would be innacurate.

Another reason is that the difference in price between 195/55 and 185/55 tyre (Michelin PS3) is more than RM50 per tyre, hehe..

Hmm? Why use a narrower tire on a wider wheel? Actually if you have less of a sidewall you'd handle better, less flex. Haha but not too think also, you need a bit of sidewall to feel the cars breakaway.

You're driving a civic right? Whats the ori tire sizing? :hmmmm:

Hmm? Why use a narrower tire on a wider wheel? Actually if you have less of a sidewall you'd handle better, less flex. Haha but not too think also, you need a bit of sidewall to feel the cars breakaway.

You're driving a civic right? Whats the ori tire sizing? :hmmmm:

Yup, 1997 EJ Civic.. The original wheel/tyre size is 185/60 R14 on 5.5 inch rims. Currently I'm using 195/55 tyre on 6.5 inch rims. I want to use narrower tyre on wider wheel because:

1. 185/55 has less sidewall than 195/55 (102mm vs 107mm). So, less flex there. I calculated it using: Custom rims, wheel tire packages for your ride - RIMSnTIRES.com

2. The tyre width is a bit narrower using 185. I may get less grip compared to 195, but I think my slow Civic doesn't need that much grip anyway, hehe.. Futhermore, maybe I can improve fuel consumption a bit using narrower tyre.

3. Perhaps the narrow tyre on wide rim can look a bit 'stretched' maa, hehe.. dunno yet.

4. The narrow tyre can reduce the tyre weight a bit, maybe less than a kilogram, not very significant lah..

5. Lastly the price factor, 185 costs around RM230 while 195 costs around 280 for Michelin PS3.

What's your opinion on this sifu LittleWhiteWagon? I want to avoid making the wrong decision. :bawling:

big wheels + stretched tyres ftw!

anyway YYC, u can look for wide rims + not so wide but high profile tyres .
it will be a bit stretched but still tall.

or u can search for tyres without the rim protector sides.
ie; round tyres not those 'bersegi' type tyres, as in a normal comfort tyres not the performance ones..

Yup, 1997 EJ Civic.. The original wheel/tyre size is 185/60 R14 on 5.5 inch rims. Currently I'm using 195/55 tyre on 6.5 inch rims. I want to use narrower tyre on wider wheel because:

1. 185/55 has less sidewall than 195/55 (102mm vs 107mm). So, less flex there. I calculated it using: Custom rims, wheel tire packages for your ride - RIMSnTIRES.com

2. The tyre width is a bit narrower using 185. I may get less grip compared to 195, but I think my slow Civic doesn't need that much grip anyway, hehe.. Futhermore, maybe I can improve fuel consumption a bit using narrower tyre.

3. Perhaps the narrow tyre on wide rim can look a bit 'stretched' maa, hehe.. dunno yet.

4. The narrow tyre can reduce the tyre weight a bit, maybe less than a kilogram, not very significant lah..

5. Lastly the price factor, 185 costs around RM230 while 195 costs around 280 for Michelin PS3.

What's your opinion on this sifu LittleWhiteWagon? I want to avoid making the wrong decision. :bawling:

Haha its okay using a mildy narrower tire on a wider wheel, it actually improves the response like i've tried personally.

Hmm haha the 'weight' saving wont do much, but the price and narrower contact patch would :biggrin:

Nothing wrong with it in my opinion, and im no sifu laaaaa. Learning also :proud:

Yup, 1997 EJ Civic.. The original wheel/tyre size is 185/60 R14 on 5.5 inch rims. Currently I'm using 195/55 tyre on 6.5 inch rims.
If original is 185/60/R14, it is better to use 195/50R15. You will still have 195 width for better grip, 50 series aspect ratio for lower sidewall (that is what you wanted).
Stretching 185/55 tyres on wider rims, your tyre shoulder may wear off faster....

---------- Post added at 01:52 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:46 PM ----------

The trend has been into oversized wheel with super thin tyre but I find it impractical for daily use especially when rubber prices keep rising and the the holly road condition of Malaysia.

I am now thinking of downgrading to 16", but the stock 16" of Perdana looks so mundane and lame so I am going to go for wide 16" wheel wrapped with fat tyre to look like those in the photos:

I am not certain of what kind of spec will fit into my ride to make that fat look, so I am asking fellow forummers here with similar experience to share yours.

As I understand the stock wheel size of Perdana is 205/55R16 16x6.5JJ but no idea of its offset. What 16" wheel and tyre should I use in order to have the nice fat look but still maintain the stock circumference of tyre?

My initial thought is that 16x7.5JJ or 16x8.0JJ wheel to go for. But no idea what tyre size to use. Anyone has fat tyres on this Perdana, please help.
I suggest you use 17". If need wider tyres go up to 225/45/R17.
If you maintain 16" and want to go wider, there are not much tyres you can choose from and even if have will be very expensive.
Tyre size to fit original size of 205/55/R16 are 225/50/R16 or 245/45/R16. Seldom see this sizes...