Fat tyre

What kind of wheel and rubber you prefer on your ride?

• Stock wheel and tyre

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Oversized wheel and thin stretched tyre

• Fat tyre

• Total voters

YYC

The trend has been into oversized wheel with super thin tyre but I find it impractical for daily use especially when rubber prices keep rising and the the holly road condition of Malaysia.

I am now thinking of downgrading to 16", but the stock 16" of Perdana looks so mundane and lame so I am going to go for wide 16" wheel wrapped with fat tyre to look like those in the photos:

http://www.davescholz.com/public/webgallery/images/DSCN0710.jpg

http://ll.speedhunters.com/u/f/eagames/NFS/speedhunters.com/Images/Linhbergh2010/September/guestblogs/86festival/16.jpg

I am not certain of what kind of spec will fit into my ride to make that fat look, so I am asking fellow forummers here with similar experience to share yours.

As I understand the stock wheel size of Perdana is 205/55R16 16x6.5JJ but no idea of its offset. What 16" wheel and tyre should I use in order to have the nice fat look but still maintain the stock circumference of tyre?

My initial thought is that 16x7.5JJ or 16x8.0JJ wheel to go for. But no idea what tyre size to use. Anyone has fat tyres on this Perdana, please help.

looks nice! :top: By the way, how do these tyres perform compared to the usual big wheels + thin tyres combo? More comfort but the handling is compromised right?

Advantages of smaller wheel and higher profile tyre:
1. Less unsprung weight means quicker acceleration and better fuel economy.
2. Cheaper tyre
3. More comfortable ride because thicker sidewall absorbs shocks better.

Advantages of bigger wheel and lower profile tyre:
1. Aesthetics
2. Allow for larger wheel which in turn allows for larger brakes
3. Less sidewall flex translates to a quicker response to steering input, and better turn in.

That's all I could think of the pros of both worlds.
I wonder would the fat 16" tyre be cheaper compared to the standard 17" tyre.:hmmmm:

More disadvantages rather than advantages in fat tyre in 16" wheel somemore. Especially in this days. It's include in tyre prices for 16" wheels, rubber prices, aerodinamically, stability. Positive side is only "good looking" view.

I can understand about price, but aerodynamic and stability?:hmmmm: Mind to elaborate?

Ok, each wheel size has their max width/height and ratio percentage size. Example like 205/55R 16 16x6.5JJ. All of this is not only a figure but actually mean something. For max tyre size that each wheel can coupe, u can browse in web because different wheel with different JJ will need different tyre size. Like my car, i'm using 17" wheel. Front and back wheels are not in same JJ because it will interrupt with aerodinamically and stability. Different car will has different charecteristic. If u wrongly mismatch it, afraid of oversteer/understeer behaviour.

I not going to have different offset rim for front and rear. I am thinking for 16x7.5JJ on four corners so I am asking what tyre size will fit into this wheel and make nice fat look.

The trend has been into oversized wheel with super thin tyre but I find it impractical for daily use especially when rubber prices keep rising and the the holly road condition of Malaysia.

I am now thinking of downgrading to 16", but the stock 16" of Perdana looks so mundane and lame so I am going to go for wide 16" wheel wrapped with fat tyre to look like those in the photos:

http://www.davescholz.com/public/webgallery/images/DSCN0710.jpg

http://ll.speedhunters.com/u/f/eagames/NFS/speedhunters.com/Images/Linhbergh2010/September/guestblogs/86festival/16.jpg

I am not certain of what kind of spec will fit into my ride to make that fat look, so I am asking fellow forummers here with similar experience to share yours.

As I understand the stock wheel size of Perdana is 205/55R16 16x6.5JJ but no idea of its offset. What 16" wheel and tyre should I use in order to have the nice fat look but still maintain the stock circumference of tyre?

My initial thought is that 16x7.5JJ or 16x8.0JJ wheel to go for. But no idea what tyre size to use. Anyone has fat tyres on this Perdana, please help.

I hope you do realise that the AE in the speedhunters photo is using a really WIDE wheel with WIDE tires that fit, not SKINNY rims and WIDE tires. You wanna make it look like you're running semi slick tires go get tires with a squared off sidewall, a.k.a wannaberacer style like Yokohama Parada's HAHA. Im using them, they look 'fat' like you want :biggrin:

Offset just take off your rim, it should be printed behind on the wheel itself.

Malaysia has really a lack of wide rims + tires so dont expect to be pulling off a look exactly like that AE, sorry im just being realistic :driver:.

Why not just run a 215/45/17 rim like everyone else? :hmmmm:

---------- Post added at 12:59 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:56 AM ----------

I can understand about price, but aerodynamic and stability?:hmmmm: Mind to elaborate?

If you fit narrow wheels with a wide tire, your sidewalls will tend to flex inwards like ----> \ / your cornering is gonna be unstable. Drifters run streched tires because it actually stiffens the sidewall marginally ----> / \ like that over the rim, it feels better when cornering but grip i've got no idea.

Im actually running streched tires on my Nissan now ahaha. The difference of properly sized tires really makes a difference :biggrin:

Dont EVER run fatter tires on a narrow rim. It looks plain ugly and IMO it has no performance benefit either :stupid:

LittleWhiteWagon,
Ya I do notice there are not many choice of wheel and tyre size in Malaysia.
As you can read from the beginning I am not gonna using stock 6.5JJ wheel to wear the fat rubber but 7.5JJ onwards, and I am running on 17" currently but just wishing to downgrade to 16". Peace out.

LittleWhiteWagon,
Ya I do notice there are not many choice of wheel and tyre size in Malaysia.
As you can read from the beginning I am not gonna using stock 6.5JJ wheel to wear the fat rubber but 7.5JJ onwards, and I am running on 17" currently but just wishing to downgrade to 16". Peace out.

Whoops I missed that out. Haha its rare lah, have you ever thought of importing your own set of rims from Japans yahoo auctions or anything? :hmmmm: Some people have done that but i've never tried personally haha :biggrin:

LittleWhiteWagon wrote:

"If you fit narrow wheels with a wide tire, your sidewalls will tend to flex inwards like ----> \ / your cornering is gonna be unstable. Drifters run streched tires because it actually stiffens the sidewall marginally ----> / \ like that over the rim, it feels better when cornering but grip i've got no idea."

Bro, does this means if I put 185/55 on R15 6.5jj wheel, it will handle a bit better than 195/55 on the same wheel?

Whoops I missed that out. Haha its rare lah, have you ever thought of importing your own set of rims from Japans yahoo auctions or anything? :hmmmm: Some people have done that but i've never tried personally haha :biggrin:

Oh ya I did have a thought about doing it, there is some agents who can do that saves us a lot of trouble. Anyway do you notice the Yen is considerable expensive compared to last few years? It ain't cheap I think, set aside the freight costs but maybe still can source some good bargains in Japan.
I did look see look see in Yahoo Japan there are plenty of stuff.

its not the car,the tire the rims or anything.ive seen a lot of cars on speedhunters.com such as rusted e30,180sx,s15 with 15 inch tire.
its all about the stance.
even a rusted 240z with awesome stance would make the car perfect.

This one looks good too :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

fat-tyres-powered-wheelchair-700.jpg

difficult to find deep dish rims in msia..

im currently running on stretch tyres for my 15x7JJ rims..

tyre size is 165/50/15

ride is very uncomfortable, due to the thinner profile as the tyre is being stretched. it all boils down to how u wan it. if u wan comfort, or the car is a family ride, go for thicker and fat look. if u dont mind bumpy ride like forklift, i suggest u go for wide ass rims and low profile tyres.

---------- Post added at 05:20 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:17 PM ----------

i saw some post in some forum last time about a guy who modify his stock wira steel rims somewhere in damansara
to make it super deep dish.

until now i still cant find the place.. wanna make my 15x7jj into 8jj.

anyone know any place that can do that?

p.s: i know its not encouraged or safe to mod rims, but then again.. i dont drive fast on 0 finger stance :)

LittleWhiteWagon wrote:

"If you fit narrow wheels with a wide tire, your sidewalls will tend to flex inwards like ----> \ / your cornering is gonna be unstable. Drifters run streched tires because it actually stiffens the sidewall marginally ----> / \ like that over the rim, it feels better when cornering but grip i've got no idea."

Bro, does this means if I put 185/55 on R15 6.5jj wheel, it will handle a bit better than 195/55 on the same wheel?

Uhh no, quite the opposite. Think about this, imagine the path youre walking on is narrower than the width of your feet, you'll have to squeeze both your feet in to fit, then your body is going to be unbalanced.

Same think with a narrow rim, wide tire. The tire is flexing INWARDS to fit haha.

Unlike if you strech a narrower tire over a wider rim, you imagine the opposite lah, wider path for you to walk on and you just strech your legs hahahaha :biggrin:

I've tried driving on my friends avanza a wider tire on narrow rim, the steering feel REALLY feels bad. It feels f*cking mushy due to more sidewall flex, but I dont blame him lah. Finding the proper tire size for avanza's are hard due to their odd size haha.

Unlike streched tires, their steering feels nice cause of the stiffer sidewall, I likeeee. :driver:

---------- Post added at 01:35 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:33 AM ----------

difficult to find deep dish rims in msia..

im currently running on stretch tyres for my 15x7JJ rims..

tyre size is 165/50/15

ride is very uncomfortable, due to the thinner profile as the tyre is being stretched. it all boils down to how u wan it. if u wan comfort, or the car is a family ride, go for thicker and fat look. if u dont mind bumpy ride like forklift, i suggest u go for wide ass rims and low profile tyres.

---------- Post added at 05:20 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:17 PM ----------

i saw some post in some forum last time about a guy who modify his stock wira steel rims somewhere in damansara

p.s: i know its not encouraged or safe to mod rims, but then again.. i dont drive fast on 0 finger stance :)

Hellaflushing ka dude? Haha what car do you drive? And if I may ask what rims are you using? :biggrin:

aVenweilsPoili tramadol

Intriguing article. I realize I’m slightly late in posting my comment nevertheless the article ended up being to the and merely the info I'd been looking for. I can’t say that I believe whatever you mentioned nevertheless it was emphatically fascinating! BTW…I found your blog by using a Google search. I’m a frequent visitor to your blog and may return again soon. Tramadol.

I think you still could find 15x8jj here especially in half-cut shops though it's uncommon, I have see that. Just need some time and efforts to walk around.

thanks for sharing bro. currently hunting for 15x8 pcd100 with offset less than 40 due to problems rim hitting rear lower arm..

8JJ more common for pcd114.3. pcd100 seldom see..

---------- Post added at 08:42 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:37 PM ----------

Uhh no, quite the opposite. Think about this, imagine the path youre walking on is narrower than the width of your feet, you'll have to squeeze both your feet in to fit, then your body is going to be unbalanced.

Same think with a narrow rim, wide tire. The tire is flexing INWARDS to fit haha.

Unlike if you strech a narrower tire over a wider rim, you imagine the opposite lah, wider path for you to walk on and you just strech your legs hahahaha :biggrin:

I've tried driving on my friends avanza a wider tire on narrow rim, the steering feel REALLY feels bad. It feels f*cking mushy due to more sidewall flex, but I dont blame him lah. Finding the proper tire size for avanza's are hard due to their odd size haha.

Unlike streched tires, their steering feels nice cause of the stiffer sidewall, I likeeee. :driver:

---------- Post added at 01:35 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:33 AM ----------

Hellaflushing ka dude? Haha what car do you drive? And if I may ask what rims are you using? :biggrin:

viva bro, small potato only haha. still quite a long way more to achieve hella flush. still hunting for right rims with perfect offset for the car

infinity.melvin, what you mentioned about widening the rim is truly new to me. I came across a site in the UK they call it banded wheels, and this can only be done on steel wheel. They laser cut the stock wheel with precision, custom the width to your spec, constant smooth weld it, and even do the final paint finishing if you require. For me it's an eye-opener. Here is the link.

http://www.bandedsteels.com/2010%20Images/Banded%20Caddy%20Wheels%202.jpg
http://www.bandedsteels.com/2010%20Images/Banded%20Caddy%20Wheels%201.jpg
http://www.bandedsteels.com/2010%20Images/Banded%20GTO%20wheels.jpg