Opinions on Oil Additives

yong,

some application, we do still need to use additive.... but i believe under normal situation, not you & me... haha...

for example, in desert, under extreme heat they need to have extra protection or else the engine oil is very fast will be extreme hot and break down easily...

in fact the good shock use additive too... have you been using the motocross bike, where they can tune their shock ? actually they need to use additive, and many type to suit different terrain....

there is also some specific application like the marines... they also get normal engine oil like what we use too because the marine oil is very expensive... so to cut down cost, what they can do is to use normal engine oil and + the selective additives to meet their requirement

yong,

some application, we do still need to use additive.... but i believe under normal situation, not you & me... haha...

for example, in desert, under extreme heat they need to have extra protection or else the engine oil is very fast will be extreme hot and break down easily...

in fact the good shock use additive too... have you been using the motocross bike, where they can tune their shock ? actually they need to use additive, and many type to suit different terrain....

there is also some specific application like the marines... they also get normal engine oil like what we use too because the marine oil is very expensive... so to cut down cost, what they can do is to use normal engine oil and + the selective additives to meet their requirement

That I might agree under severe heat or cold environment :biggrin:

However, that's the first I heard about additive's for shock oils. Normally, (when I was at Bilstein) we tend to have our own proprietary oil for shocks (which then tailored for most Grp-A rally cars). As for extreme condition (for cars, but I don't know much about bike's shocks) is either increase the shock diameter, run's canisters, or have twin shocks at each corners like those Dakar cars (btw, these are 10k's+ shock per-corner).

I have heard some ppl have tried water-cooled shock but I think that's been scraped due to excessive plumbings, and modern technology in-term of materials usually suffice most application. If it still fails, then there could be a design flaw instead :confused:

i read about revo engine treatment, it supposed to reduce frictions between engine compartment thus reducing noise and smoother engine, my engine always make annoying old car ticking sound whenever i start and someone had same problem and used revo and it worked out for him, i never tried it but im going to tomorrow as the feedbacks really promising

check this out:
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newfor...ing-section/313801-revo-engine-treatment.html

This is interesting .... the user did some research and comparison too

http://www.al-fikrah.net/Forums/viewtopic/p=540020.html

antara jenama untuk engine treatment yang bagus adalah:

1. bardhal engine treatment (harga sekitar rm13)
2. X1-R (harga sekitar rm28)
3. REVO (harga antara rm42-rm45)

saya pernah menggunakan kesemuanya tetapi yang paling berkesan dan ketara adalah dari jenis REVO. ia adalah pati penuh dan tak ada campuran2 lain. yang paling ketara adalah enjin semakin senyap dan kuasa pecutan ada perubahan.

untuk fuel system cleaner pula:

1. STP injector cleaner (harga sekitar rm18-rm20)
2. Liqui Moly (harga sekitar rm40)
3. tri-bond engine conditioner (harga sekitar rm50)

saya menggunakan ketiga2 produk diatas. dimana untuk STP sejurus selepas servis kereta....liqui moly pula apabila tinggal lagi 1000km untuk servis seterusnya....manakala tri-bond saya sentiasa ada spare dalam kereta. saya akan semburkan tri-bond pada throttle body dan corong2 spark plug.

It is the human nature in us, we all quest to improves ourselves, to be richer, to be more powerful, to be more beautiful, to be more..more..more..

Likewise for oil additives, for the mis-informed there is the quest for more engine power, efficiency, performance, savings, etc.

So it is up to us to inform and share this information with at least our family members and friends.:idea:and let them cascade it from there.:biggrin:

Just want to share, I also frequently use engine oil additive just to reduce the white smoke as I can't afford to have the car grounded for too long if sent for top overhauls..
and it helps quite a bit too, engine feels slightly smooth with noticeable less white smoke emission and engine won't consume oil as much as before, not bad for my already 280K Km 4G15.. but soon I'll definitely go for top overhaul.
I'm using Goldeagle brand..RM20/bottle, on my bike sometimes I use STP oil treatment (the small can).

hehe, i juz try out this, everyway u can get, Seri Murni Cooking oil during pumping my petrol, still dunno the effect yet, but so far i found my engine less vibration liao.

there might some guy wont believe this......

yalah, even there are some bmw 5 series also using this wor...... Seri Murni Cooking Oil for export quality, veli cheap additive so far in the market

I wonder how long before the oil is going to start to disintegrate..its a vegetable based btw.. oil change weekly then lol?

FYI, early 90's ady in the market that palm oil could be use on the vehicle, but it just some reason that no further research onli, and so far i din found any problem tat try to use this, only found smoother engin during mid/high rev.

palm oil can be used safely even in charged engines, but the cooking oil will evaporate whilst driving, so iam not suggesting it for thrashing events. there is already a proper palm oil based lubricant for high performance engines in the market nowadays, expensive ler tapi..

It is the human nature in us, we all quest to improves ourselves, to be richer, to be more powerful, to be more beautiful, to be more..more..more..

Likewise for oil additives, for the mis-informed there is the quest for more engine power, efficiency, performance, savings, etc.

So it is up to us to inform and share this information with at least our family members and friends.:idea:and let them cascade it from there.:biggrin:

For your info, major oil companies like Mobil spent millions every year on R&D on their oils. So just because there is one oil out does't mean they stop the R&D. They still continue their R&D to make it better, make it more economically viable and all that.

IMHO (Key : personal opinion), adding a RM20~RM40 bottle of 'magic juice' is not going to make the engine oil work any better, it'll probably screw up the formulation and negate its uses and effectiveness. I'd personally rather just buy a better oil to suite the purpose.

FYI, early 90's ady in the market that palm oil could be use on the vehicle, but it just some reason that no further research onli, and so far i din found any problem tat try to use this, only found smoother engin during mid/high rev.

Erm..I also would like to try but I need more info for it to be more convincing..

palm oil can be used safely even in charged engines, but the cooking oil will evaporate whilst driving, so iam not suggesting it for thrashing events. there is already a proper palm oil based lubricant for high performance engines in the market nowadays, expensive ler tapi..

Hmm, maybe can put in some additives to help it perform better, but IDK much about additives meant for vegetable based oil..

BTW I found some extra info over the web:

http://www.americanpalmoil.com/pdf/Ilija%20Gawrilow.pdf

but this was quite long ago back in 2003..

IMHO : Palm oil may cater for the lubrication side of engine oil, but it won't be able to fulfil the other purpose of engine oil - cleaning. It has virtually zero detergent ability so I wouldn't use an oil that does no cleaning at all for too long.

izso, the ability of cleaning of an oil is given by its additive pack, petroleum lubircant itself cant clean dat well sir. i think the same goes to palm oil, give it enough detergent to clean, it will do the same as any good petroleum lube. the processes we have now can allow a plam oil based engine lubricant to be as good as any petroleum based lube, if not better.