[wta] exhaust setup for quietness, but got performance

e-jump

Mar 13, 2004
[wta] for quietness, get 2"+FGK centre box, or get new s-flow back-box?

hallo sifoo,
well, i know its kinda odd to ask for slow sound setup, as vtec king all loud loud ones :lol:

well, its bcoz im on stock 1.6 engine non-vtec, manual..
currently i put on oval ayam-brand straight-flow muffler n took out one bullet [came with 2] on my stock piping, n the sound loud ler [can attract people to cucuk] :rolleyes:

i went to JFA for some oppinions
he suggest to change to 2" pipes with 1 mid oval FGK centre-bullet .. [rm500]
but i doubt 1 is enough to keep the sound low?
price wise, izzit ok?

or its better for me to change to better back box/muffler ie 2nd hand ITR/twin-loop [example only :)] ?
i forgot to ask bout those mufflers price at jfa...

e-jump

Mar 13, 2004
btw, i forgot to enquire the pricing of replica twin-loop at JFA [or izzit mugen?]
anyone know the price?
so far that i know, twin-loop n itr back-box r quiet.
any other to add?

EG8

Jan 2, 2004
www.surfer-girl.com
of course OEM setup will be silent, even if it is Type R.
ejump
not necessary to go to jafar if you running on budget, you can actually scouting to any chop shop and get good exhaust provided you know what you need and the spec of the exhaust itself.and when u have find it go to any reliable exhaust specialist.the replica mugen twin loop is around rm450 if im not mistaken.if masuk on sedan have to cut the tips and make it longer coz it was produced for 2 doors ( a bit pendek )

of course using cap ayam brand + no middle bullet will produced loud sound.you pay peanut you get monkey, yes?

for more info, selak balik the older threads, there are plenty of answer on your questions.

and yeah, jpj and police roadblocks are plenty these days, so go figure hehehehehe......good luck!

HanafyEG

Mar 14, 2005
i thinks it depends on the compression la..maybe the higher the compression the louder the sound of the exhaust coming out from the engine..correct me if i'm wrong

soulfly

Jan 25, 2004
Miri
fakhrain.blogdrive.com
I'm using 2.5" piping, 1 bullet silencer in the middle, original route, Tanabe oem muffler s-flow with 2.5" inlet, 3.5" muffler tip. Muffler modified to match original EF hatchback style.

This evening stopped by police traffic, he said nothing about my exhaust because it sounds like stock at idle. Loud roar at higher rev, sweet sound when vtec engages.

http://img160.echo.cx/my.php?image=tanabeoem26ti.jpg
:D

I've read it somewhere in ZTH that ppl have installed a custom switch that disables the fuel-pump. It got my attention but I wasn't able to find one in Penang. Someone kindly point me to the right direction. :)

Thanks in advance.

Oh and btw. Is it safe? As in will it 'accidentally' cut-off the fuel when you DON'T want it to? :shocked: