Why do you like to mod your cars?

RENESIS VIII

7,000 RPM
Jun 13, 2012
Ipoh
Just thought about this question. Just a general topic/discussion asking members over here about the reason why you guys want to mod your cars and how it all started. Probably this can be an interesting topic.

peterj

1,000 RPM
Apr 27, 2010
Kuching
For better handling, higher power to do safer overtake, better braking and other safety upgrades to cooperate with the extra power and because i am a "boostaholic"

RENESIS VIII

7,000 RPM
Jun 13, 2012
Ipoh
Lol, all give very short answers. For me, I started reading and finding out about general car stuffs first back in around 2010. Was only reading about simple specs like 0-100 time, top speed, engine cc, top speed, hp... That time I was mostly looking at supercars and also newer JDM performance cars. Was a complete noob at that time. After one year plus, all these started to get bored for me because I've read a lot about these basic specs already in various cars. Somehow, the curiosity inside me made me eager to find out more. Then I started to read a bit about engine stuffs. It was terrible those days, I don't even know about how different engine types looked like such as V engine, rotary, boxer.... Things like camshaft, crank, valve are familiar words at to me at that time but I have no idea where they are located and how they work. After slowly learning about these engine stuffs, I started to get interested in modifications. Well, that's roughly how my story goes...

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Mar 28, 2004
KL
I started out liking ICE. Played with ICE a lot and wasted a lot of money there.

Then my car broke down and my friend said "Hey.. why not rebuild the car ourselves? Weekend project"

So we did and I found out how easy it was to do everything and how a little tweak here and there can do wonders for the cars performance.

Then I caught the bug from there. Besides, modding is cheaper than women and booze. :biggrin:

RENESIS VIII