superstrut part II

normality78

ok, all SS pls hear my complain. hehehe

1. now my suspension is giving some funny sound. Maybe mostly will straight point to the ball joint but i beg to differ. What happen is 1st sound was something like absorber kong. After driving for few more weeks while searching for absorber replacement, thn 2nd kind of sounds comes in. This time the sound more like crossmember lose or something "ngik ngok ngik nogk".

the weird part is, if i dun drive my car for 2-3 days time. the sound will completely gone. only will come back after 4-5 days driving it. And whn it does have sound, i can even hear it whn i shake my car left right by pushing the A pillar from outside.

any sifu know wat roughly is wrong? bush maybe?

2. I've sourced a set of AE111 superstrut (my chasis was Ae111 but using Ae101 SS). I was quoted Super strut suspension - includes lower arm x2, anti-roll bar, cross member,
standard absorber x2.
Total price : RM650.

What do u think of the price? Does it include everything that i need? I do heard AE101 SS can somehow be upgrade to AE111 SS by replacing a few balljoint part. Issit true?

nappx

Sep 13, 2005
kLaNG-kEy_tEE
my car also sound like that....expecially at uneven surface...wierd sound...just ignore at this time...my friend also like that (vios) after he replace the spring..

what happen arr...anybody knows

KHWONG

Jun 29, 2006
yo.. SS prob start again here..

my SS also got this sound.. can feel it even just turning the left n right....sound come mostly on uneven surface,.,.

wat i suspected is the steering rack bush wear off oledi... but i not yet buka n check la.. lazy ma...hihi...

wat u guys think ?....

20vturbo

Nov 19, 2003
Sarawak
www.club4ag.com
last time i got this sound,i replace the lower arm and grease the ball joint, then change absorber..no sound untill now.

normality78

ok, updated part II. I forgot to mentioned the sound is only from the left side.

today went to a workshop to get it check. while the car was being jack up, i can already hear the "ngek ngek ngek" sound. Thn the mech put the stand to hold the car, thn use the jack to jack up the left wheel, can hear the "ngek ngek ngek" sound.

so could it be?

KHWONG

Jun 29, 2006
bro normality ,,
'
this shud be asb sound when the abs extend or retract?.. own opinion.. can be wrong!!!

anyway,.. can i know wat is the markket price for the front SS absorber from TRD (High low).....cus plannning to get 1 goot abs for my car.... \

thanks ...

normality78

maybe not. coz after we dismount the lowerarm joint, we try to use the jack and push the absorber again, but this time no noise wor

KHWONG

Jun 29, 2006
then sound is came from those lower arm,.. just put back the arm on the knuckle

and then u got dismantle it 1 by 1 on another end of it to confirm which arm is giving problem or not... cus there got 3 arm if i not mistaken...

cheers...

normality78

unfortunately this mech is those use hammer to take out balljoint type. whahahaha. still dare to ask him remove 1 by 1? i run fast fast lor. got to try another 1 more workshop

KHWONG

Jun 29, 2006
wahhhhhh.. used hammer wan ar... fast fast cabut lo... if not all ur ball joint gone lo. hihi

by the way.. my car also lazy to find out the sound.. hihi..

levin818

Nov 29, 2003
... today went to a workshop to get it check. while the car was being jack up, i can already hear the "ngek ngek ngek" sound. Thn the mech put the stand to hold the car, thn use the jack to jack up the left wheel, can hear the "ngek ngek ngek" sound.

so could it be?
This is the sound from the lower arms, the one that c/w a small arm attached.
Either the center ball join or small arm's ball join's cover is lifted/pecah.
Replaced only the problem arm.

normality78

levin818,
ok. i uplink a lower arm pic. issit the one you mentioned?

levin818

Nov 29, 2003
Yeah the sound is either from ball join A or B. You may confirm it by carefully check the joins' cover. The cover which is crack or lifted, will coused the join to be killed by rain water and dust. So if A is gone, replace the A arm, or vise versal.
Before you plug in new arms, be sure that the new arm's cover is in good condition. Also, when the mech tends to seperate the arms by hammer, be sure that he won't hammer on the cover.

normality78

GREAT help indeed. Tks very much bro. you u've mentioned in the PM, this is AE111 lowerarm. Dun wan to mislead the rest of the plp here. im sorry. i shall upload my own SS pic

hi does rr engine fit honda city 2009 body???

---------- Post added at 01:25 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:24 AM ----------

i wan some power in my car but i dunno wat should i do , can give any advice , sum1 tell me rr fit but sum say dun fit , sumore rr engine expensive, any cheaper way??