RON95 on Evo

pangyau

Oct 17, 2009

Anybody experienced/tried/tested the RON97 on CT9A (E7/E8 or E9).
On stock condition (all standard ECU, Engine & such).
Please share....

Thanks in advance...

kampoon

Mar 4, 2006
Pangyau,

I Guess E6 - E9 stock ECU will have self learning ability and adjust the A/F ratio accordingly base on the fuel u pump......this is not applicable for those monster that have too many goodies......I guess u r in the Monster list.....hehe

Now a days very hard to pump V-Power racing ler....so most of them no choice to go for Ron97 fuel instead......My slow ride is always running on RON95 fuel...

My 2 Cent

Solty8

Pangyau,

I Guess E6 - E9 stock ECU will have self learning ability and adjust the A/F ratio accordingly base on the fuel u pump......this is not applicable for those monster that have too many goodies......I guess u r in the Monster list.....hehe

Now a days very hard to pump V-Power racing ler....so most of them no choice to go for Ron97 fuel instead......My slow ride is always running on RON95 fuel...

My 2 Cent
Just wanna check anyone encounter any problem when using Ron95 on turbo engines ? I am transplanting CM5A 4G93T into my Lancer CK, if Ron 95 can be used do I need to retune ? Or just hope and pray ECU learns to adapt to RON 95 ?

pangyau

Oct 17, 2009
kampoon,

My ride cannot become monster, everything still in stock mode.
Thinking to pursuit for power but have re-think due to reliability.

Thanks for the review/comment.
Actually I try to find anybody experience it first hand.
Nobody in my place using RON97 on their CT9A (coz the rest kaya except me).

The latest reference/example tested on Airtrack Turbo (stock condition).
The owner facing a knocking/pinging in his engine during city driving (no boosting).
Then he revert back to RON97.

Maybe I need to test myself...
But need to prepare AFR gauge & Innovate Knocking sensor la (very costly) :hmmmm:

Kennydydy

Mar 3, 2009
Just wanna check anyone encounter any problem when using Ron95 on turbo engines ? I am transplanting CM5A 4G93T into my Lancer CK, if Ron 95 can be used do I need to retune ? Or just hope and pray ECU learns to adapt to RON 95 ?
My is eterna and covert to 4G63T also and using ron 95 shell...so far no problem....but less powerful lo...and currently using low boost 0.9 bar...

Solty8

My is eterna and covert to 4G63T also and using ron 95 shell...so far no problem....but less powerful lo...and currently using low boost 0.9 bar...
Any said problem like pinging and knocking ? As I know diff petrol diff quality sum say shell/esso better while others claim petronas work wonders. I however find that shell/esso no knocking / pinging petronas i encounter knocking and pinging. This is on N/A car which is my daily driver one is aan avanza while another is a kenari. So imagine on a turbo it will be either have no prob or might hurt the engine. I believe the mech sure will reuse my leftover petrol which on the Lancer CK is Ron95 so hopefully everything goes well. :rolleyes:

kampoon

Mar 4, 2006
kampoon,

My ride cannot become monster, everything still in stock mode.
Thinking to pursuit for power but have re-think due to reliability.

Thanks for the review/comment.
Actually I try to find anybody experience it first hand.
Nobody in my place using RON97 on their CT9A (coz the rest kaya except me).

The latest reference/example tested on Airtrack Turbo (stock condition).
The owner facing a knocking/pinging in his engine during city driving (no boosting).
Then he revert back to RON97.

Maybe I need to test myself...
But need to prepare AFR gauge & Innovate Knocking sensor la (very costly) :hmmmm:
Which Brand of RON 95 tat he is using....my car only suitable for some of the RON95....if not my car will ping also lor.....lemmi know the brand tat he is using than i can provide u some feedback lor...:rofl:

---------- Post added at 10:28 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:23 AM ----------

Any said problem like pinging and knocking ? As I know diff petrol diff quality sum say shell/esso better while others claim petronas work wonders. I however find that shell/esso no knocking / pinging petronas i encounter knocking and pinging. This is on N/A car which is my daily driver one is aan avanza while another is a kenari. So imagine on a turbo it will be either have no prob or might hurt the engine. I believe the mech sure will reuse my leftover petrol which on the Lancer CK is Ron95 so hopefully everything goes well. :rolleyes:
Just pump half tank of each brand and test accordingly, ping or not ping u will know it after 3 round of engine stop / starts.....the ECO knock sensor is quiet smart and can adjust accordingly....but my personal experience that my car only suitable to some of the brand....

Condition / result will be like below:

1. Ping & no power but good mileage
2. Ping & good response sometimes
3. Not pinging, no power, avg mileage
4. no ping, good power, inconsistent mileage

My 2 Cents

pangyau

Oct 17, 2009
kampoon,

He use RON95 by Shell...
I notice on RON97 between Shell & Esso, I could quote up to 360km using Esso.
Compared to Shell only gave me until 300km approximately.
Mode of driving: Slow & steady in town. No boost at all...

Now calculating my budget to get the AFR Gauge & Knock Sensor for RON95 experiment :hmmmm2:
Maybe...

sub8evo

May 26, 2009
Putrajaya

Please share....

Thanks in advance...
Since getting my E9, I've been using only RON97.
My E9 is very much stock, except suspension.

No issue so far, everything runs smoothly, although I can't really compare since I dare not try RON95...
Full tank can reach between 380 to 400+km no problem at all.

clanzkiller

Oct 31, 2006

Please share....

Thanks in advance...
Since first day till today, i'm using Shell RON97 on e9. Still consider stock i guess. Not sure what are the difference as i never use 95 or vpower before. So far so good, but jialat on mileage :S

Since getting my E9, I've been using only RON97.
My E9 is very much stock, except suspension.

No issue so far, everything runs smoothly, although I can't really compare since I dare not try RON95...
Full tank can reach between 380 to 400+km no problem at all.
Wa bro, full tank reach 380-400?!

Mine if driving around 20km radius for a full tank, 280-300km only
If drive within 30km radius, 300-320km only.
If drive within 50km radius, 320-350km only..

But that one also after i decat my exhaust and upgraded it, and really can feel the diff or power and fuel consumption..HAHAHA
before that, around 30km radius, should be 340-380 xD. but never ever reach 400km before :(

kampoon

Mar 4, 2006
sub8evo,

What fuel rating requirement is written on your fuel cap ???

sub8evo

May 26, 2009
Putrajaya
sub8evo,

What fuel rating requirement is written on your fuel cap ???
I remember its all in Japanese... will confirm again later.

But, I did search the web and found that for e9 recommended to use ron97 & above.

---------- Post added at 06:19 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:16 PM ----------

Wa bro, full tank reach 380-400?!

Mine if driving around 20km radius for a full tank, 280-300km only
If drive within 30km radius, 300-320km only.
If drive within 50km radius, 320-350km only..

But that one also after i decat my exhaust and upgraded it, and really can feel the diff or power and fuel consumption..HAHAHA
before that, around 30km radius, should be 340-380 xD. but never ever reach 400km before :(
Bro, it very much depend on individual's driving style anyway. I usually up shift before 4K rpm, and always shift to 6th gear on highway cruising, so this should help in fuel consumption. On average I get 9-9.5km/l.

The other day after the K. Klawang run, the FC dropped to 8.5km/l, but its expected !

kampoon

Mar 4, 2006
I remember its all in Japanese... will confirm again later.

But, I did search the web and found that for e9 recommended to use ron97 & above.

---------- Post added at 06:19 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:16 PM ----------

Bro, it very much depend on individual's driving style anyway. I usually up shift before 4K rpm, and always shift to 6th gear on highway cruising, so this should help in fuel consumption. On average I get 9-9.5km/l.

The other day after the K. Klawang run, the FC dropped to 8.5km/l, but its expected !
If your fuel cap written

Unleaded only - U can use any ron rating as long as unleaded
Unleaded 95+ - U can use minimum Ron95 unleaded
Unleaded 97+ - U must use minimum Ron 97 Unleaded

My fuel cap written Unleaded 95+

My 2 Cents

clanzkiller

Oct 31, 2006

before 4k?! I shift before 3k all the time. And even tested full tank and maintain 3k MAX RPM and shift. Cruising in highway with 6 gear and around 3k, which is 110km/h like that. Cause i set my pre-shift light on 3k to control my step on the throttle peddle xD..

That day i nothing to do, and i go pump full tank Esso. And i managed to get 302km! whereby Shell, confirm less than 300. Even currently, 92.8km with shell, the needle already drop down to between second line and the middle line (Full tank first line, then second, then middle, then fourth, then EMPTY) :/.

sub8evo

May 26, 2009
Putrajaya
before 4k?! I shift before 3k all the time. And even tested full tank and maintain 3k MAX RPM and shift. Cruising in highway with 6 gear and around 3k, which is 110km/h like that. Cause i set my pre-shift light on 3k to control my step on the throttle peddle xD..

That day i nothing to do, and i go pump full tank Esso. And i managed to get 302km! whereby Shell, confirm less than 300. Even currently, 92.8km with shell, the needle already drop down to bet:rolleyes:ween second line and the middle line (Full tank first line, then second, then middle, then fourth, then EM:biggrin:PTY) :/.
Bro, it also depends on the mods in your car - large turbo, stroker kit etc will increase the FC too

clanzkiller

Oct 31, 2006
Bro, it also depends on the mods in your car - large turbo, stroker kit etc will increase the FC too
Yeah bro i understand that. But mine is merely mod. Only simple and basic item like enlarge exhaust, air filter, blowoff, higher abit boost but didn't even boost to test mileage on normal driving, means below or exact 3k.

Solty8

Just tried 1st full tank got around 315km from rm 75. Ron 95, never encounter ping or anything I believe can get more out of it, mostly due to lots of high boosting to test out engine and mostly city driving with loads of stop n go driving. Will try to monitor properly on 2nd tank. :driver:

p3jal

Jan 20, 2007
wow nice fc solty8. 315km from rm75? mine ah.. last time fill fuel rm70 can go 105km then finish...aredhghhghghghh veryy veryyy tension.now i want downgrade my turbo to stock turbo,,,fedap already heh

Solty8

wow nice fc solty8. 315km from rm75? mine ah.. last time fill fuel rm70 can go 105km then finish...aredhghhghghghh veryy veryyy tension.now i want downgrade my turbo to stock turbo,,,fedap already heh
U boost too high I think, mine is stock 0.7 or less. If u can adjust ur boost or control it, then maybe u have better fc. Another way is not to let ur bov blow too much, I usually drive with low rpm and never over accelerate but usually jerk jerk alot coz low rpm. :biggrin: apek driving style usually save fuel if drive like gt racer sure fc very very bad.

EVOFans

Aug 29, 2006
What is the Air Fuel Ratio?
Sound like the FC is terrible to me...

Re: Super GT 2010 (Racing machines)

Now, some pictures of the babes shall I? <B></B><B></B><B></B><B></B><B></B><B></B><B></B><B></B><B></B><B></B><B></B><B></B><B></B><B></B><B></B><B></B><B></B><B></B><B></B><B></B><B></B><B></B><B></B><B></B><B></B><B></B><B></B><B></B><B></B><B></B><B></B><B></B><B></B><B></B><B></B><B></B><B></B><B></B><B></B><B></B><B></B>...