Overhaul engine

Shoken7

Oct 15, 2006
hi guys

I am planning to overhaul my engine soon

But i want to find my own parts before sending it to the workshops to do it
1.) What are all the parts that i must have for a stock GSR engine?
2.) How much would all the parts cost me?

There was one guy offering me RM2500 including all parts and labour
But not all 100% ori parts (reasonable price?)

reason why i wanna overhaul?
engine making loud noise now..mech said bearing or con rod rosak

haiz...lotsa shark wanna potong me now
i dunno who to trust..haha

lonelylilpig

Feb 26, 2006
Hey bro with lots of shark waiting for u outside, i just found u a quiet pond with small fish.
I've a friend which is an ex technical instructor but now working at home repairing car in Klang. I think the charges would be fairly cheaper than outside mech shop. Btw what car u driving with what engine ?

Shoken7

Oct 15, 2006
oh sorry..forgot to mention
its GSR B18C Vtec in SR3 or some called it eg in japan

Bump: thanks for your info bro, but klang is abit far from my place
looking for kl, pj area

im seeking for parts now before sending for overhaul

Bump: thanks for your info bro, but klang is abit far from my place
looking for kl, pj area

im seeking for parts now before sending for overhaul

lonelylilpig

Feb 26, 2006
i can recommend u Hingan of Jalan Imbi, this is a authorized Honda stockist. I had been dealing with them b4. Their price quite reasonable and they are expert with all Honda parts.

I can recommend u another place which somewhere in Ampang. He is very very very experience with Honda. He prepares Honda track car as well. Craftmanship is good, and also a very good tuner. The price should be fine.

Shoken7

Oct 15, 2006
ic.thanks.whats the shop number? i might go check it out

Shoken7

Oct 15, 2006
nobody willing to discuss/help ?
haha..nvm den..i'll go door to door n ask for price

went to another shop nearby k.i.p
quoted me

1.) Repair, use back some old parts RM2500
2.) Change all parts , still use ori honda parts RM4500
3.) Change engine kosong B18c RM 4500
4.) Change engine kosong B18C-R with manifold RM8000

option 4 is definitely out...too expensive

Bump: this shop said i can use b20b conrod...claiming will give me higher engine compression
true or false?

Bump: this shop said i can use b20b conrod...claiming will give me higher engine compression
true or false?

lonelylilpig

Feb 26, 2006
Bro, sorry for late reply.... The shop no. i really have no idea. But my fren's dad workshop i can help out..... Believe me he is truly good in hondas ..........

eg9_05

Jun 7, 2007
1stly need to know ur budget??
1.more budget change every needed parts that need to change..used ori honda or performance parts
2.medium budget ..upgraded to b20 or take floor engine and use back all the parts but sometime have to depend on the parts still nice onot

if u choose 1....guarantee long life use
choose 2..no guarantee how long u can go bcos u r using used part

correct me if im wrong.....just my2cent

Shoken7

Oct 15, 2006
i have 5 grand to spend
tell me more about 1.
whats the normal rate to change everything?

then i guess option 2 is depending on what parts have to be changed = total price of repair

problem is...i dont know if the workshop is giving me ori or fake parts
any way to check?

im going to be sending my car to the workshop by monday..

eg9_05

Jun 7, 2007
ori honda parts roughly cost u around 3-5k also depending on ur demand, if performance will b 4-8k or maybe 9k la .....just approx only

normally in ur case u can choose to buy the parts urself n send to the foreman,ask him list u the parts that needed to change...he list u buy..thats all at last u only pay him labour charge only..approx 1.5k-2k la + if got xtra work like port n polish also have to add in.

this way is easier for u.....if u still scare ..u can try go there everyday lepak from the shop open untill close ...... monitor their work n how they do ur engine , make sure every parts u bought is put in ur engine.....

good luck

Shoken7

Oct 15, 2006
am TONJET..where is ur garage?

amTonjet

Apr 20, 2009
at shah alam...dont have garage...do it at my house only....

Bump: at shah alam...dont have garage...do it at my house only....

AD_EG

Apr 5, 2009
Wah bro Am,

you do repairs at home? thats cool...the tools must have cost you a bomb.

Shoken,

Since you have the engine out, you might as well go for performance parts..depends on what you intend to change.if youre going for B20,then i think its sufficient.

If ur using the Gsr engine,compression is lower..you can consider changing your piston to b16a,not too pricey...if you have the budget change to type R head...type R head around rm2700 i think can get.Might as well go for a port and polish also..Performance wise i think you will be sattisfied..other than that just do your overhaul and replace what needs to be replaced.Hope this helps.

amTonjet

Apr 20, 2009
no lah...all the expensive stuff like the engine jack i borrow from my workplace...kasi kawtim sama manager la....hahaha :biggrin:

Hi im driving a 4g15t so i was thing swap the 4g15 head with the 4g92 mivec head. Is it possible? I search from the forum earlier some ppl say cant but need to mod, but they didnt say need to mod what to get the mivec head to fit to the 4g15 block. Oh by the way, my 4g15t was sharing the same head gasket with waja 4g18p.