New to Vtec mods, need advise.

DRiftAGster

Known Member
Jul 6, 2004
All Honda Vtec sifus, i'm totally new to honda engines but looking to get a 1600cc vtec engine soon and need some advise on some basic questions. some might sound silly to long time honda kaki but i'm really new to it.

OK, questions -
1) what is the difference between B16 A,B,C in terms of performance, reliability & ease to modify?

2) are there any other 1600 vtec engine series besides the B16 series?

3) i'm looking at mid to top range power i.e. 4500rpm - 9000rpm onwards (if possible). what kind of basic mods are necessary? i guess just like other enines, high cam is a must, what are the specs?

4) i've heard people rojak mix the block with other heads. I know mostly ppl get a 1.8 or 2.0 block to mix match but anybody mix B16 block with other head for better performance?

5) any worshop you know of that can do a neat transplant of a B16 into a proton satria? JPJ is not an issue.

Thanks a lot!!!!

ehdrian

I Don't Care!
Dec 14, 2006
Penang
B series engine into proton cars???..:banghead:

arrowhead

Aug 20, 2004
Damansara/PJ
1) what is the difference between B16 A,B,C in terms of performance, reliability & ease to modify?
the diff - B16A is a normal engine, but its good enough if u ask me. B16B is the type R of the 1.6s. Its from a civic ek9 hatch. pretty much the modded version of the b16a. there is no such thing as b16c (or at least, i've never heard of it). there is however b18c which comes from an integra, and b18cR or b18c5 which is from the integra type R. of course the "R"s are better but its also priced alot higher.

2) are there any other 1600 vtec engine series besides the B16 series?
as far as i know, there's 2. D-series (sohc vtec, some without vtec) and the ZC which is also a non vtec but its DOHC.