Can we don't use bullet in exhaust system for VTEC?

Sil80-13

Mar 15, 2009

Just wondering on the exhaust system for VTEC, can we not use bullet (tabung tengah)? Will this affect the car performance?

Sil80-13

Mar 15, 2009
your exhaust become very loud especially if u using 5zigen bordermax or spoon.
I just change to 5Zigen Fireball but the sound is not nice (fierce) enough. Haha.
This 5Zigen Fireball got SR Jasma tag which stated for road use. Maybe because of this, the sound is not so loud.
If I were to remove the bullet, my main concern is, will this affected the engine performance? :hmmmm:

mADmAN

my old B16A had a Border 304 with no centre bullet/box....just pure pipe....

added a centre box coz it was too loud... and didnt notice a difference in performance... car felt the same...

now my car got centre box...but no rear muffler ha ha ha ha ha ha

Sil80-13

Mar 15, 2009
I will remove the centre bullet tomorrow. If I am not mistaken, VTEC less restriction is more better. Right? :biggrin:

Sil80-13

Mar 15, 2009
Just remove the centre box. It's seems not much different on sound.
Then I go & have a look at d inner of the 5Zigen & the surface design is flat without any hole.
And I look at d inner of my previous Apexi & the surface design is with alot of holes.

Anyone know what's d function of the holes inside? Coz the 5Zigen mufller sound is not fierce enough. Anyone using 5Zigen Fireball muffler have the same experience? Is it not loud on normal driving?

mADmAN

the holes is to allow sound to pass through them and the fiber surrounding it to absorb that sound... to make it quieter,....the more holes...the more quiet it is...

u want loud is it?? then setup centre box only and no rear muffler... just pure pipe from centre box/bullet to the tail...

thats how my car is setup... heres a vid of how it sounds during a dyno...

YouTube - Banshee's Screaming Dyno 29012011

should be loud and garang enough...heh heh heh...

akuma

Jul 16, 2005
Kuantan
1.6 & 1.8 DOHC VTECs,it's BEST u dun remove d center bullet..altho lesser restriction is better,4 less torquey engines like d B16/B18,u'll somehow need sum form of back pressure 2 make power.....it's best if u dyno d car b4 & after...n yes,u prolly won fell d difference coz it might b minute but beware of d AF ratio......dyno won cost u much...but prolong usage w d wrong AF will hurt ur engine...

Sil80-13

Mar 15, 2009
the holes is to allow sound to pass through them and the fiber surrounding it to absorb that sound... to make it quieter,....the more holes...the more quiet it is...

u want loud is it?? then setup centre box only and no rear muffler... just pure pipe from centre box/bullet to the tail...

thats how my car is setup... heres a vid of how it sounds during a dyno...

YouTube - Banshee's Screaming Dyno 29012011

should be loud and garang enough...heh heh heh...
Wow. Bro. That's sound is crazy. What management are you using? E-Mange? Haltech? is that Tobby from GT Auto?... :biggrin:

mADmAN

im using V-AFC :D

its GT Auto but i think his name is thomas... :P

Sil80-13

Mar 15, 2009
im using V-AFC :D

its GT Auto but i think his name is thomas... :P
Oh. Yaya. It's Thomas. forgotten his name. Hahaha. How much he charge for dyno/tuning bro?

Yours is B18CR?

mADmAN

that day was a group dyno day.... so i tumpang abit to get cheap cheap price :P

mine is stock B20 bottom + B16A head.

need new higher compression pistons though...compression with the stock B20 pistons not high enough.

Sil80-13

Mar 15, 2009
that day was a group dyno day.... so i tumpang abit to get cheap cheap price :P

mine is stock B20 bottom + B16A head.

need new higher compression pistons though...compression with the stock B20 pistons not high enough.
Icic.. bro. mind pm me your how much is your torque & hp on wheel? :biggrin:

Sharing is caring...

mADmAN

its in the video mah if u read properly

185.xxwhp and 18.8x torque... forgot exact figures..

---------- Post added at 11:02 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:02 PM ----------

its in the video mah if u read properly

185.xxwhp and 18.8x torque... forgot exact figures..

akuma

Jul 16, 2005
Kuantan
maDmaN,
indeed u need higher compression 2 bump all d power....coz my B16B has higher whp thn ur B20(but u DO know d original power of THAT engine b4 dis,right?hehehehhehe)..n a tad lower torque.....waiting 4 my rebuild engine 2 hit d dyno soon......
n just 2 share...my exos set up is similiar 2 maDmaN's.....pipe only w center bullet..NO rear muffler/box.....

Today morning at 6am my friends proton wira got smash by 6 malay guy's on motor bike . they got away with his defi meters ( boost & egt ) and they wanted to steal his intercooler too by pulling the bumper out , but failed , cause his neighbor shouted and gave them a chase by driving till kayu ara but lost them .

They smash the car and the straight away pop to hood to disconnect the battery to kill the alarm .

By the way his other neighbour new CRV audio also got stolen .