ICE question...

phizer

Known Member
Jul 5, 2004
Visit site
im very new in ICE so i got few question to ask.dont wack me ok.
now i got a cheap kenwood HU, 1 pair of alpine comp set with xover and 1 pair of 10" sub but no amp.Is a 4channel amp enough to power all or do i need another amp for sub only?do i need a x-over?
so plzz advice.....thx

Bert

500 RPM
Nov 16, 2003
Muddy Delta
Visit site
yes, a 4 channel amp will be sufficient to pwoer it all for a start. Later on if the ICE bug hits hard, you can wither use the 4 channel to power the frotn full active and another amp for the sub, or you can bridge the amp to 2 channels for the front or midbass or tweeters or whatever the new install is going for.

appleyard

500 RPM
Dec 20, 2004
Kota Kinabalu
Visit site
Originally posted by phizer@Jan 19 2005, 19:52
im very new in ICE so i got few question to ask.dont wack me ok.
now i got a cheap kenwood HU, 1 pair of alpine comp set with xover and 1 pair of 10" sub but no amp.Is a 4channel amp enough to power all or do i need another amp for sub only?do i need a x-over?
so plzz advice.....thx
you dont need a xover as you have some for your comps and most amp has built in xover.

start with your budget. what is your budget actually? do you really want to get a 4 channel forst or get a monoblock first? if you are into spl then get a monoblock. those comp can be powered by your HU temporarily. if you want a all in one solution get a 4/5/6 channel amp. try and find at least 100-140w RMS amp.

phizer

Known Member
Jul 5, 2004
Visit site
thx for all your reply.i think i will get a 4 channel amp.
can a 'cap ayam' brand amp do the job?(low budget)

can tell me what channel to connect to which speaker?i dunno how to calculate RMS n watt.i notice my 10" sub written 4ohm that's all.for my 6'5 comp i think it says 120w 40 rms.

i also have a rockford preamp with 4-band graphic eq with subwoofer output.do i need this?

thx for your reply again. :D

lks

Jan 20, 2005