DIY daytime driving lights

nuggyn

Feb 12, 2004
last week, i was lepaking at eneos...came across those LED 3rd brake lights (thin type). ..which costs about 18 bucks.

I was thinking whether can I replace those red LED with white LEDs and then use it as a daytime driving lights. PIAA is just too dear. Maybe we can DIY our own.

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
can... but do u know how much white LED cost?

one piece is about rm1.50.. some place sell rm2.50

when u multiply by how many pcs liao.. then u'll know DIY not so worth it..

L9Turbo

Aug 18, 2004
I tried b4. bought abt 30 pieces.. each cositng Rm2.40... and it lasted for.... a week? before all went bye bye.

ken12292703

Drives a shopping cart...
SoMeWhErE
What do you mean by daytime driving lights? Daytime also bright maa. Sorry, i don't know. :(

nuggyn

Feb 12, 2004
L9turbo...you said you tried. meaning? the method that i just shared??
maybe should get some electrical sifoo to guide us in this.

ken....daytime driving lights is not for you to shine the road, it's for other road users to see you.

nuggyn

Feb 12, 2004
L9turbo...you said you tried. meaning? the method that i just shared??
maybe should get some electrical sifoo to guide us in this.

ken....daytime driving lights is not for you to shine the road, it's for other road users to see you.

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
L9Turbo,

i think u wired de LEDs wrongly liao.... those LED is 3V max..if u put 12v.. (car batt).. it will be damn damn bright.... (unless u can find 12v LED)

but later.. very fast it will become dimmer... blow off.. u have to connect a resistor in series... value bout 1kilo ohm.. to get de correct voltage to de LEDs

if so many LEDs.. the use a higher wattages...lets say 1 or 2 watts resistor...

u wanto DIY those stuff.. u must have some basic electrical n electronic knowledge... B)

nuggyn

Feb 12, 2004
guan...you know about electrical stuffs? next time i may need you help on these stuffs...can?

nuggyn

Feb 12, 2004
guan...you know about electrical stuffs? next time i may need you help on these stuffs...can?

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
ok.. but i not sifu lar...

i know simple stuff ler... electronic stuff.. done few electronic projects b4.. (amplifier, project kits, lighting wiring, simple car wiring, repair/modify, power supply...do Printed Circuit Board... bla bla)

but long time din touch liao... can repair some simple electrical stuff... many ppl also can do wan ah..

got learn a bit bit from experience n books ler.. kekeke.. B)

ken12292703

Drives a shopping cart...
SoMeWhErE
Thank you nuggyn. Now i know liao. Yeah, LED can most stand up to 3V++ a little only. Just play play, I once tried putting a LED into my 240V --> 12V convetor then *^*(& BOMB ^&%&%. Exploded half. Haih~ :(

Buying one LED is cheap but dozens of them will burn you. :(

khaixtreme

for one LED using 12v, get 2.2k resistor..... having 3 red stripes. To parallel two LED together, u can use 220 resistor. Connect 4 together parallel.... u need nothing......

Burnt?? i used my LED for almost one year liao.... no sign of burning. LEDs are very lasting components la... if im not wrong, can stay light up for almost 3 years...... (without off)

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
khaixtreme,

i think wat u mean is series connection... not parallel.. dats y it din burn...

if u put 4 pcs in series.. then dun need resistor... cos voltage across each LED is divided liao.. 3v+3v+3v+3v = 12v

if one piece if off or rosak.. all 4 also no light

parallel connection is different.... the voltage across each LED is still 3v... B)

e_ti

Feb 15, 2004
Originally posted by khguan@Sep 10 2004, 01:41 PM
khaixtreme,

i think wat u mean is series connection... not parallel.. dats y it din burn...

if u put 4 pcs in series.. then dun need resistor... cos voltage across each LED is divided liao.. 3v+3v+3v+3v = 12v

if one piece if off or rosak.. all 4 also no light

parallel connection is different.... the voltage across each LED is still 3v... B)
willnot work le
each led will still draw 12v...it will onli divide the current

hi.. i've been thinking abt changing my standard wira 1.5 engine with a.. say 4g63.. basically.. coz i want better pickup and horsepower..

but.. my friends are telling me that i should just stick to my standard engine.. they say tht if i change the engine, the price of the car will depreciate more compared to if i stick with the standard spec.. is this true?

obviously, changing the engine would require a lot of money (the engine, wiring, workmanship etc).. so, my friends said i should...