Dilemma - Engine Transplant Help

tatatititututoto

Nov 20, 2004
I'm in a serious dilemma now. I need to transplant my engine in 3weeks mine but i dunno what to choose. First thing's first. My budget is 15k, my car is a 1.3 satria. The part of JPJ clearance from 1.3 to 1.8 dun worry. I got ppl who can kautim for me. Now i need some help deciding what engine to choose.

Selection 1:
4G63t (VR4-RS Halfcut)
4G67 Engine kosong.
Transplant all the VR4-RS parts in to the 4G67 block and pay 1.8 roadtax.
Nissan Fairlady/Lexus/SR20 pistons.

PRO:
Engine modification parts easier to get.
Can take boost up to 1.5bar with out problems.

CONS:
Evo engine mounting f*cking hard to get.
Kenot use VR4 gearbox.
Engine is freaking old.
Petrol guzzler.

Selection 2:
4G93t (GSR Halfcut)
TwinPot EVO/VR4 Brakes.
VR4 Intercooler.

PRO:
Engine is newer, thus lesser headache.
More fuel saving.
Can kahwin with 'MIVEC' head.

CONS:
Engine modifications parts more difficult/expensive.
Engine is quite 'weak'.
Not that durable.

I have listed out my 2 selections, and I wish that all the sifu's out there can gimme a better understanding in which engine should i select. Both also are 1.8. Oh yeah, my ultimate aim is to boost up to 1.2bar. Will also install blowoff valve, wastegate, metal gasket, bigger fuel pump, injectors and piggyback.

Thanks alot.

boosook

Jul 14, 2005
hi there..im not sure watever ill tell u will help..but i suggest u go for 4g93t..im using vr-4 now..if i had a chance i wanna change it to 4g93t...vr4 is heavy,like u said its old..if u get the gsr...if ur willing to spend then rebuilt the engine...and vr4 got alot of prob wan la...i go to workshop until sien oledi la...seriously...think about it bro~ hope it helps...cheers!!

AlucarD

Jan 15, 2004
Urm... evo engine mounting where got hard to get?? Just pay a little bit more for stuff from Ralliart malaysia lah. Last I checked they have the Evo3 mountings on stock wat..

IMHO, Go for 93T, mod a bit and you might be pleasantly suprised!! Good luck

ambayah

Jan 31, 2004
I think its pretty easy to choose.

If you have money to maintain choose 1, if not choose 2.

I will go with GSR because I move a lot, and I'd like an engine that I could trust.

Plunk it in, full service, overhaul, and love the ride.

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
4G63 from VR4 is very reliable... provided u overhaul it b4 installation!

badguy

Jun 15, 2004
VR4 is 2.0 not 1.8 anymore

Stewart

Jul 26, 2005
if u like old skool got for 1 if not go for 2..
haha..

i would take 4g93t if i'm u.. :biggrin:

gsrTurbo9166

Apr 23, 2005
yo bro
i'm driving a gsr
in my opinion this engine is a very reliable engine
no problem at all since i convert till now
it is better to choose gsr than 4g67 with vr4 components

QuickShift

Apr 16, 2005
Option 1 is good only if you can get a standard 2 wheel drive RS gearbox; plunk in a EVO 2 or 3 to and make sweet music on the road. Since you can kow-tim JPJ, grind the engine number off and buy a 4G67 'birth-cert' with engine number for registeration. I know this has been done before.

kher

Aug 30, 2004
Klang, Selangor
If u can kautim JPJ n gila power 1 go for choice 1 la...

I believe it can be abused more than GSR.
But plz check for the wear n tear 1st b4 planting it into ur car.
Otherwise u'll start to get probs n get fed up wif the engine.

N wif ur budget u should afford to get a decent engine management. That'll help u save petrol n jaga ur engine.

dolly

Dec 24, 2003
go for 4g93t. like boosook said, 4g63 really heavy xD if i can turn back time i'll go with 4g93t

cs2000

Sep 29, 2004
same headache

im having the same headache.. im having a 1990 proton saga 1.5 with all the standard equipments and engine.. im thinking of a transplant... wat do u all suggest ? but i need an engine thats reliable,fuel saving n i dun mind spending more cash on it while installing it but i dont want 2 have problem later on... it will be used mostly in town driving n far distance drving also.. is 4993t a good choice ? wat all should i do 2 it so that it meet my requirements? and how much will the budget be >

boosook

Jul 14, 2005
dolly said:
go for 4g93t. like boosook said, 4g63 really heavy xD if i can turn back time i'll go with 4g93t
same here dude..ill change it to 4g93t if i could turn back time..damn.. :(..

jinkl-

Klang
aiyak , this thread reflects my post early 1 year ago :P

for my opinion , if u gonna mod it then its the 63t , if u gonna play standard then its the 93t

63t aftermarket parts are everywhere
93t parts abit harder to get

63t u can alwiz kahwim evo stuff
93t u can kahwim mivec head ler

63t u can boost 1.4bar without a headache
93t u can boost 1bar without a headache

63t u can alwiz opt to 20g turbine without worying bout lag
93t u take td05 also u lag kaw kaw

63t u already have a nice big intercooler in default
93t u take big intercooler u add your lag

63t u got stroker kits to play with
93t stroker errr dunno

63t u got 240-280hp
93t 180hp and to get 240 gotta spend lots of $

63t u got 2.0 default
93t to get 2.0 errr

63t no mivec head to play
93t can play high rev with mivec head bt still low compression

63t evo3 got high compression system
93t only one standard compression

63t upgrade availability is sooo much
93t alwiz got a headache with upgradability

63t in my car
63t very slow
63t no need lar
63t not nice lar

p/s : i tink u got fully confused hahahaha , bt i just need more spareparts , hehehehe

hi every one,

i just own a set of logitech G27 game steering wheel . and now just done my custom racing cockpit with my brother. great feel when playing NEED FOR SPEED (PS3)

just for sharing . thank you