B16A Engine Problem

KancilanSazer

Jun 5, 2006
hi all honda sifu i want to ask few problem with my car..my engine is B16A with auto tranny.

1) when i switch on my aircond suddenly engine light on and when i put my gear in D position the engine jerking at 1.5k rpm only at 1.5k rpm(like sangkut2).

2) when i push my car to 140kmh..while change from 3rd gear to 4th gear it feel like slip..the rpm increase till red line..after i release my throttle until 4k rpm only it can move to final gear..is my gb giving problem already?

thx in advanced.

KancilanSazer

Jun 5, 2006
air cond sejuk..only after warning light came out the engine start jerking.

E-Tech

Jun 28, 2005
Johor
Okay....
You need to find out the error code fir the check light,
Then we can understand what could be possible causes...
Go pull the code by 'jumping' a connector under the dash board to find out the code.
Chichi light will blink and by counting the blinks , you get the error code...

KancilanSazer

Jun 5, 2006
bro i got the error code..(i quest?)

it blink like this 1 short blink 1 long blink then follow 4 more short blink

so i presume it is 1-10-1-1-1-1? this is the error code?

mADmAN

short blink = 1
long blink = 10

so 4 short blink means 4 and 1 long blink means 10... so should be 14...but the 1 before the 10 is odd to me...

i may be wrong...its been awhile since ive had to check error codes.

E-Tech

Jun 28, 2005
Johor
1-oxygen sensor ( after the 4-2-1)
14- iacv sensor (behind intake manifold)

A/c related 14 and the 1... Fuel mixture becomes crazy.
Logic for the symptom you are getting.

Iacv can try clean first.

aalto

Dec 31, 2004
For question no 2.

Your G4 clutch is slipping, time to change gbox. Dont bother trying to open it up and fixing...you'll end up spending more..

Still can use but you have to control RPM when changing from G3 - G4. You can reduce slippage by changing the Gbox oil (totally flush out old oil)...but its only temporary.

KancilanSazer

Jun 5, 2006
clean the IACV and problem no 1 solved..thx sifu..

mind share the price for gb change?

from auto to manual
and transplant new auto gb

thx in advance

aalto

Dec 31, 2004
Chop shop Auto GB you can get for around RM600-RM800 (maybe cheaper)
Or find some leftovers GB from someone whom just convert to manual...

Complete swap from Auto to manual is gonna be around RM 2.5K-3K

Jan 29, 2012
Hi guys...

Saw post on B16A Problem.

FYI, I've just fitted a B16A in my EG8. I have and engine check light after a few while driving. However, sometimes it lights up and sometimes it does not.

Through the previous post (Thanks guys) I've checked the CEL message. Funny thing is, I can't really count it.

This is the error blink that I've recorded. My B16A Problem - YouTube

Hope you guys can help a newbies like me.

ddv_nk12

May 18, 2011
PD
Something new to me. I didn't know you could check like this.

From what I saw:
3 fast blinks, pause, 9 fast blinks, pause and then 1 long blink.

What does it mean??

E-Tech

Jun 28, 2005
Johor
Yup. Thats why I can't count it properly....any idea? :idea:
3- map sensor
9- cylinder sensor.... Change distributor to confirm
10- air intake temperature sensor...

Change all those and retest.... Pinjan from friend first....

Please suggest the best solution for a comfortable ride with minimal body roll. At the same time, also to keep car from sinking too much when heavy loaded with passengers. What is the way to go for the best of both world?

All I can think of is either:
1. softer spring + thicker anti roll bar
2. hi-lo soft-hard adjustables
3. progressive spring
Which one? Or any other way?

Currently my car is running on hi-lo adjustables and I don't really like the...