4g93T gsr engine rebuild, need advice

thesyko

Oct 19, 2007
haha... we seriously went out of topic already, from 4G93t to 4G92 Tyrbo edi :p

Anyways, I have just made up my mind on the rebuild plan that I will undertake;
1) Full Balance GSR bottom end - Standard GSR internals (Pistons and Conrod) + ACL Full Race bearings.
2) Replace all engine bolts to newer OEM bolts (Cranks, Head and Flywheel, and others) - No need ARP since this is not a race car, just once in a blue-moon will see the track.
3) Fully ported Head w/3 angle valve job, NA Intake cams, GSR Exhaust cams + Adj Campulleys.
4) Intake manifold also ported and enlarged + bigger TB (GTO or E3)
5) Metal gasket 1.5mm MMC, replace all oil seals and others belts with new units.
6) Do I need kevlar (Power Enterprise Timing belt) or should I just use ORI MMC?

Maybe, an SAFC II to smoothen out the fueling. + BLITZ EBC to adjust the boost.

Judging by the above, do you think I can safely boost till 1.4bar or 1.3bar will be the ceiling limit?
And what is the achievable amount of power (WHP) that I can expect?

speed2horizon

Jun 4, 2006
haha... we seriously went out of topic already, from 4G93t to 4G92 Tyrbo edi :p
haha...

Anyways, I have just made up my mind on the rebuild plan that I will undertake;
1) Full Balance GSR bottom end - Standard GSR internals (Pistons and Conrod) + ACL Full Race bearings.
good choice. Clutch n flywheel too...

2) Replace all engine bolts to newer OEM bolts (Cranks, Head and Flywheel, and others) - No need ARP since this is not a race car, just once in a blue-moon will see the track.
Yes... U don't need those ARP.

3) Fully ported Head w/3 angle valve job, NA Intake cams, GSR Exhaust cams + Adj Campulleys.
Exhaust cams is a good choice to improve on the response... But anyway... If ur turbo is not giving u any lag problem, there's no nessecity.

4) Intake manifold also ported and enlarged + bigger TB (GTO or E3)
E1-E3 or perdana. Super 90 is also cheap nowadays.

5) Metal gasket 1.5mm MMC, replace all oil seals and others belts with new units.
6) Do I need kevlar (Power Enterprise Timing belt) or should I just use ORI MMC?
no need. Just make sure u change them as schedule.

Maybe, an SAFC II to smoothen out the fueling. + BLITZ EBC to adjust the boost.

Judging by the above, do you think I can safely boost till 1.4bar or 1.3bar will be the ceiling limit?
And what is the achievable amount of power (WHP) that I can expect?
u need a 450cc injector at least. I'll go over emanage blue due to the features n more set point. But just remember to set the emanage/safc limit to suit ur ecu rev limit. Else x cukup minyak after 8krpm.

contreasjun27

9,000 RPM
Oct 21, 2004
subang
haha really OOT dy but heck it is a very good chat there hehe
btw E3 manifold can fit in 4G9x series? plug and play or what? btw what is Super 90?

---------- Post added at 10:52 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:48 AM ----------

btw sifu sifu sekalian hehe is garrett AR48 the size of TD04?

speed2horizon

Jun 4, 2006
haha really OOT dy but heck it is a very good chat there hehe
btw E3 manifold can fit in 4G9x series? plug and play or what? btw what is Super 90?

---------- Post added at 10:52 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:48 AM ----------

btw sifu sifu sekalian hehe is garrett AR48 the size of TD04?
E3 manifold cannot fit ler... Cylinder CTC distance not same. 4G6X engine stuff where can fit 4G9X engine..?

SUPER 90 example

contreasjun27

9,000 RPM
Oct 21, 2004
subang
yeah loh this i also know ah but why is ur previoes reply say that what E1,E3 then perdana intake or TB ? sorry confusing here..
btw do you know anything on AR48? is it the size of GSR td04?

speed2horizon

Jun 4, 2006
yeah loh this i also know ah but why is ur previoes reply say that what E1,E3 then perdana intake or TB ? sorry confusing here..
btw do you know anything on AR48? is it the size of GSR td04?
Err... Theskyo said TB. So, he should understand I'm talking about E1-E3 or Perdana V6 TB. Takkan perdana manifold can be used..? V6 ma..?

Ar48 is just a of the turbine/compressor housing. A GT2860RS can have a choice of AR64 or AR86 turbine housing remaining the same turbine fin. So, be specific in turbo selection. U have to specify the turbo model in order to know the size.

jinkl

May 22, 2004
Err... Theskyo said TB. So, he should understand I'm talking about E1-E3 or Perdana V6 TB. Takkan perdana manifold can be used..? V6 ma..?

Ar48 is just a of the turbine/compressor housing. A GT2860RS can have a choice of AR64 or AR86 turbine housing remaining the same turbine fin. So, be specific in turbo selection. U have to specify the turbo model in order to know the size.
:listen:

veilsideboyz

Oct 28, 2008

Yeah !! GT28RS with A/R 64 damn good !! Can get 350whp !! :proud:

speed2horizon

Jun 4, 2006

speed2horizon

Jun 4, 2006

contreasjun27

9,000 RPM
Oct 21, 2004
subang
Well, I really don't know from the picture. Maybe you should ask the seller from what car is the turbo originated from..? It'd gives a rough idea what turbo they are...

AR48 housing, Could be from RB20/25. Lame piece of sxxt that will never even hold 14 psi...
haha yeah I know...sigh right now I'm running on TD05-18G so pretty lag ler...the boost coming at 4k RPM sigh, but when the boost come is syok lah haha

Since buying a used Waja 1.6 (on the road 2002) just about a month ago for about RM15 K, I have been wondering why Waja has such poor resale value. The original Waja 1.6 auto price in year 2000 was RM64K and after 12 years has depreciated almost 80%. Of course this is true also of Continental cars and of Korean cars. The depreciation of the Waja is due to its replacement by Proton new Saga and Persona, also the Preve and the Campro models.
Before I bought it, I was looking at the Myvis and...