adj cam pulleys function as?

WestCoast

Mar 26, 2006
what can we do with adjustable cam pulleys witout hi cam?
adj cam pulleys without hi cam is useless or worth to spend on it?

raja_emeperor

Apr 29, 2006
hmmm....sorry im not rocket science to explain this, but it is like u want to adv and lagging abit your exhaust port or intake. bout performance wise it can make your engine to rev higher.

WestCoast

Mar 26, 2006
hmm...okay..does explain a bit..wat i act wana knw is does it free out extra hp?
heard it is much more effective on a dohc engine..since my ride is a 4g93 so might wana install arospeed cam pulleys on my ride

raja_emeperor

Apr 29, 2006
it might help increase your hp abit,should be not more than 10hp of power increase on higher rev.
yup..it help alot for doch engine.so go for it,you will notice the diff bro.

jinkl

May 22, 2004
u can adjust them if u gt a experience mech
u give it better low rpms , u will sacrifice high rpms
u give high , u dnt get the low

WestCoast

Mar 26, 2006
act i started this thread cause the main problem tat im worried about is wat jinkl just mentioned..jz wana confirm whether its true or not..since its like tat wihtout hi cam so no point to install it..instead of spending on adj cam pulleys maybe i'll go for fuel regulator or spend smart on sumthn else

raja_emeperor

Apr 29, 2006
its all depend on what do you want from your car, is it better low rev or higher rev and this will sacrifice streetability, or better not to kacau anything and leave it stock.even if u put hi cam also u might facing idling problem.
so if ure afraid of all this,dont play engine mods,makeup only drive slowly and dont forget to put larger exhaust so that ppl will scared to kacau you. :)

WestCoast

Mar 26, 2006
hehe..yala hor
but dowan touch tat valve train la can mod other ma.like fueling n air intake ma

raja_emeperor

Apr 29, 2006
u can start with open pod air filter, i dont think it is wise enough to put fuel regulator, this will only wasting your petrol, better tune your air fuel ratio.use SAFC as a start.
happy motoring. :)

WestCoast

Mar 26, 2006
okok thx for ur advise mayb will opt for e man lah cz nowadays e man so cheap d

WestCoast

Mar 26, 2006
open pod open d ma cai n airbox oso got d la i mention my mods a lot time on zth thread d lor! open gf pot pot havent lah..jaja
piping all oso done d ma sumore close ratio gb ler very the steady i tell u..^^
basic mod done so hiao hiao wana do adjustable cam pulley lor since no diff then nvm dowan do lor..go comment my new thread at car mod im opting for aftermarker intake manifold for 4g93 damn nice 1.. :)

Boink Boink

Bro,

Have you checked out "How Stuff Works" ? There is a specific write up that gives great pictures and stuff.

That said, Laymans terms, adjusting cam timing is equal to adjusting the rate at which you breath in and out.

If your body is at rest, the breathing rate (Cam Timing) will be very much different from when you are running after Ben Johnson in the 100m sprint.

Hence get the two mixed up, like running after Ben Johnson with a breathing rate set to rest.... well... you get the picture now.

WestCoast

Mar 26, 2006
not very understand lah..heh
whr the website to see more details?

As a petrolhead, it's a complete nightmare and something we wouldn't even wish on our worst enemies but auto repossession is a very painful and heart-wrenching ordeal. Reality television being reality television, and having produced other masterpieces such as 'Extreme paint watching' and shows that follow socialite families around with daughters...