ZTH MINI Club!

• Thread starter skyline86
  • Start date
  • Replies 3K
  • Views 265K
tt tomorrow

tomorrow as usual, tt would be held at...

shell opposite eastin hotel
10-11pm
enroute, prolly would join MOG at subang later after that

more info, browse thru http://www.fotopages.com/cgi-bin/account.pl?page=2 , or call me at 012-2951904 hafez

1972Mini1000Auto said:
Hi all...

Just got back from Rosli USJ on thursday evening. He has lotsa halfcuts... all from Japan. 998 manual & auto and 1275 Manual & Auto. All japanese late 1980's engines which runs on unleaded! So no need to risau piston ring kaput...

The one that i cannot tahan is... he just got an original 997 Cooper engine! (not the same with the 998) ... the 997 is short stroke... can rev like crazy! twin carbs etc etc... tak tahan kome!

Wish my wife can drive manual! hahahaah... but too late now i guess...

Price? 1275 Auto, just engine & gbox i think RM 1500, with disc brakes etc 1800. mention my name syed, sure can get more discount! hahaah

PS: I should be the marketing exec for Rosli Jaafar! :-P

huh...is it in the industry area one,i have been there b4,all the car i seen is either finish modified one already,i din see any half cut leh.but i went inside i see some part.btw,10s for ur info.hehe..

Mini Clubman vs. 1275GT

Just need to clarify things a little...

First, there is no such thing as Mini Clubman 1275GT! (maybe made-in Jinjang got, i dont know)... Mini Clubman is always the long-nose type and typically 1000 or 1100 cc. 1275GT was specifically developed as the spiritual successor to the legendary Cooper S 1275, but never had the same response as the S ... Its slower, heavier, and UGLIER!

Second, mini 1275GT was NEVER offered with twin SU carbs. If you insist it has twin SUs, then ITS NOT original spec! GTs always had single HS4 until the late 70's when it was replaced with the HIF series carb. (Still single carb!)

Just my 2 cents...

Syed

1972mini1000 auto,

Please check the validity of your information before you put it in the forum. Pre-1974 clubmans have the same engines as Mk 3 cooper S, without tappet covers, twin carbs and 10 in wheels. After 1974, it was single carb and 12in wheels! 1275GT were never made in Jinjang, always in Longbridge, UK. I personally had the oppurtunity to see two of clubman 1275GT's which were made before 1974. Both of them had the twin 1 and 1 quarter SU carbs on them. I even have an original product leaflet that BMC produced for the Clubman GT and the specification are clearly stated in there.

May I know where you got your information from?

fastclubman

Technical help

Dear mini enthusiasts,

Am a "new" owner of a 1979 clubman. Bought a mini because am balled over by the go-kart like handling of this car. I am wondering if anyone of u have/had any experience with converting the standard mini clubman subframe to fit daihatsu 1000cc 3cyl twincam engine (similar to kelisa NA)? I have no idea how long my current transplanted 998cc jap "engine lantai" can take the amount of abuse extended unto it. Previous mini engine when during receivership had engine oil leaking like a broken pipe and excessive blowby from the filler cap. Just toying with an idea of a more reliable engine but would not compromise much on vehicle frontal weight and balance.

Anyone out there having ideas on how to reduce the amount of floorpan flex while going around a tight hairpin? how thick should the floorpan metal sheet be if i were to cut and reweld the entire area? how much would a bolt on rollcage cost for mini?

Rgds.

I have a friend who has L2 inside his Clubman

Useless said:
Dear mini enthusiasts,

Am a "new" owner of a 1979 clubman. Bought a mini because am balled over by the go-kart like handling of this car. I am wondering if anyone of u have/had any experience with converting the standard mini clubman subframe to fit daihatsu 1000cc 3cyl twincam engine (similar to kelisa NA)? I have no idea how long my current transplanted 998cc jap "engine lantai" can take the amount of abuse extended unto it. Previous mini engine when during receivership had engine oil leaking like a broken pipe and excessive blowby from the filler cap. Just toying with an idea of a more reliable engine but would not compromise much on vehicle frontal weight and balance.

Anyone out there having ideas on how to reduce the amount of floorpan flex while going around a tight hairpin? how thick should the floorpan metal sheet be if i were to cut and reweld the entire area? how much would a bolt on rollcage cost for mini?

Rgds.

I have a friend who has converted his clubman 1000 into L2 turbo. I will ask him if its ok to post his number here so that u can contact him directly. His name is gerald.

But all i know is, hes constantly having problems: engine mounting, driveshaft, electrical, etc etc. But i will ask him anyways.

Syed

Hi

Then i guess I might be wrong. I got the info mainly from my 13 years talking, reading, driving, living, with mini. But mainly, from Haynes manual and various mini books.

I will check back and let you know. Its amazing in the last 13 years, while i was here and in the UK, I've never heard of Clubman 1275GT. And im also not aware that the early Hydrolastic 1275GT had the Twin SU 1.25" because my uncle owns one! (1972 1275 GT 10" wheels 7.5" disc and SINGLE HS4) The car is still in ipoh and he claimed its ORIGINAL. SO i guess either someone change the engine, or he's lieing to me...

In any case, sorry for jumping the gun and thanx for the info!

Syed

GSRturbo,
Mini is not cheap initially if you want to restore it to original in a shortest possible time,
it is cheap if you get one n drive it, do it at your budget permissible, your time and your dreams.

there are not many 2nd.hands around nowadays, can look out for you,

tq

1972Mini1000Auto,

For what I know there were clubman 1275GT. I read one about it in mini magazine or mini world, last 2 year about it. And I aslo see original 1275gt, claim by the owner and it shoud be true gt, all the interior are cover with an old leather, disk break, hidrilok absorber and twin carb. The owner reluctant to sell althought he not drive it anymore

not sure about you, perhaps this must be a real clubman 1275GT..who know

need mini head rest urgently. 1994 model (mk5) japanese 1.3i type.

Paddy Hopkirk replica Throttle Pedal extension for sale...

Hi all

As u all know, the mini throttle pedal is too small. I have a throttle pedal extension as per paddy hopkirk rally replica that fits pre-1976 Mini. Since mine is auto and i got quite a big foot, sometimes when i press the brake i hit the throttle as well!... So im back to old 1" X 1" pedal... hehe

If you guys are interested, RM 60 only...

Syed

Steering angle: More right than left, why?

Hi all

My mini has this problem. When i turn the steering wheel full left, the car will not turn sharply enough (at parking speed), compared with when im turning right.

The steering wheel turns the same amount i.e. from center to full left, and center to full right. However, u can visually see that outside front tire is not turning as much when turning left compared to when turning right. The steering feels weird too when u r trying to park especially as u apply full lock.

I have changed both tie rods and both diagonal rods (the ones that connects the suspension to the front fender under the bumber), and sent the car for alignment for toe-in check. The car drives fine in a straight line, the problem is only at parking speed. Why? Steering arm worn out? There is no "play" in the steering wheel though when going straight.

HELP!

Syed

fuel problem...

hi everyone:

I am new with my mini, so many thing I have to learn, hope all of you can teach me....
my mini is fuel injection, 1.3, auto, I had petrol problem with my mini. Before that, I add rm30, can run about 200km, but now only run about 100km plus, of coz, not because the petrol price rise up.

so, hope someone can tell me what is the problem actually.
And, someone told me that the fuel injection is very kacau, may be cannot masuk gear later, is that true???

help.....

bluemini

blue mini,
its true that the injection system is troublesome, best change to original carburetor, trouble free like mine. most probably the injection fault is causing your high fuel consumption or, there mayb a fuel line leak,
i dont think injection system will kacau the gear shifting,

hope i m of help,
TQ

Hi Cooper1275,
Thank for your answer. I'm very appreciated it.
I also think to change to original carburetor engine, but have to spend more, I have to save money first, hehehe...but anyway, as you know, how much it will spend to do this, engine and labour cost.....?
Do you know any good mini mechanic and have a reasonable charges?
thanks you....

bluemini,
i can only recommend the workshop i go to, you can call sam at 012 3700 7378,

TQ

syed,
I had the problem too and i traced it to the steering rack not centred properly before connecting them to the knucklejoints (the hubs). what i did was:
1.disconnect the hubs from the steering rack ends
2. centred the rack (the rod like thing that goes moves in or out as you turn the steering wheel)
3. reconnect the ends to the hubs
4. adjust the steering wheel, which now will not be centre, to be centre again.

bluemini,
i think you do not need a new engine, just a carb and manifold.

sureshn said:
syed,
I had the problem too and i traced it to the steering rack not centred properly before connecting them to the knucklejoints (the hubs). what i did was:
1.disconnect the hubs from the steering rack ends
2. centred the rack (the rod like thing that goes moves in or out as you turn the steering wheel)
3. reconnect the ends to the hubs
4. adjust the steering wheel, which now will not be centre, to be centre again.

/QUOTE]

Hi suresh

Thanx for the info. I talked to my mechanic he said the same thing. Will do it this weekend. Thanx bro.

Syed