yesterday rain....

sam1741

yesterday rain lor...
even it is about 3:30am..
i still manage to wake up to go practice.. :D

(lately not rain often... plus me no money buy tyre.. so must practice on wet)

ok la.. first i try the 180 handbrake turn (like drift bible teach)
but i always manage to get 90 only.. :(
then i run fast abit, i can do 180.. ehehehe
so happy.. :D
it is not much technique.. but for me .. as a beginner.. i feel happy liao

then i try go about 70kph to a 90degree corner,
then handbrake n turn....

but then.. i LOst IT~!

i turn in, pull handbrake.....
then the car slide....
then dono whywhen i wan to countersteer..
the steering take control over me and run wild....

then turn is left,.. so at fist is left one
then when i wan to turn.. the steering become very strong and pull left more
then i turn right (countersteer).. then
it become turn to right moree !!

i was like going left right left right... then manage to stop.. just before i hit side of the road....
at first i am really freak out.. then
when stop i feel cool.. (cause as a beginner.. i also not hig anything.. hehe)

=====
so.. any sifu here can teach me how to drift one?
why the steering so strong one?? is it i turn too much?
(p.s. i no money to attend drift clinic + it is organize too far from me)
======

anyway.. later on the rain continues..
but i go home sleep..
cause i saw some extra heavy lorry pass by the empty area i use to practice..
(dono why got lorry carrying sand at 3,4am)

i practice on an empty space lor
about 4 lane width..
tarmac surface..
actually is is like 'end' of a road

occasionally got car pass by then i stop beside let them pass
but the time is 3,4am... very less car

i encountered your situation b4, i did it on the sand surface, but was using an FF car, I somehow thought about it calmly and I think when your car is sliding too much, the steering will go wild as your front wheel is sliding like mad.

Or another thing is, we countersteer too late, the engine mati still don't realise, but when engine mati, steering is locked, therefore it's impossible to countersteer.

ps. i did it at 40kph only, and tried for 180, but when slide till 270 almost langgar tiang, have to pedal brake.

another thing about FF drifting is, try to brake moderately to lock your front wheels, clutch, and throttle, this is wat i've learn last week, but u must go for a certain speed limit....

i wan to ask sifu-sifu here..
when do hb turn,
i turn, then e-brake

the thing is... does 'turn-how-much' count?
or 'turn-how-fast'?

my turn is from 3o'clock to 9 (or from 9o'clock to 3) on the steering
(non power steering)

but i saw in video ppl not turn that much

btw, what is .. lorry hantu?

turn faster counts, no matter how much u turn, it's just the matter of weight transfer...e-brake dun let go, dun throttle, counter steer....

practise makes perfect le bro

its just an old FR car.... nothing special one
and.. very old one.. :P

sam1741 -- is it DATSUN ?? hehe ..

r u the same guy in cari.com.my ??

lori hantu is those lori without license wan, bang you also you cannot claim wan cause they all insurance and some dun even have number plate....

erm, my experiance is, if you wanna do HB turn, (90 degress) come in at a good speed, (not too fast for beginner) then turn the wheel abit and yank the HB, when you turn, its up to you how you want the car to slide, want it slide more angel, try to let the car fish tail first. for example you wannna make right HB turn, you turn the steering left and then turn it hard right then yank the hb while making the rear slide out crazily and also throttle abit to make the car slide foward according to your front steering direction(this is after the right yank and then you counter steer the steering) then try not too let the HB on too long, try like yank yank abit to let the tyres loose traction oni....if yank too long your car sure pusing adi wan....

and erm, when losing control that time, from my experiance also...just let the steering go, the car will automatically gain traction back and go straight....at this time, you must faster get hold of the steering to steer your car back to safety so you dont hit anything...

this is just my few cents on doing it, tried it alot of times already, so far so good, got accident once before also tho, using the satria, hit the inner curb while doing 90 turn, clipped the front and bumper bengkok :P the 180 turn you need to get higher speed in order to make nice nice wan turn.....and normally when doing 180, ill hit the brakes to make the front stay on one spot and the end slide one round..... :D

just my few cents on how i did the 180 and 90 turns... :D
please correct if i did some mistakes

(oh yeah, all this i did without the engine mati larr tho....using charade and also satria, wira i tried the 90 degrees oni....all using manual butthen i see my fren do, use auto, seems to be easier)

Originally posted by sam1741@Jan 14 2005, 12:26
i wan to ask sifu-sifu here..
when do hb turn,
i turn, then e-brake

the thing is... does 'turn-how-much' count?
or 'turn-how-fast'?

my turn is from 3o'clock to 9 (or from 9o'clock to 3) on the steering
(non power steering)

but i saw in video ppl not turn that much

btw, what is .. lorry hantu?
heheh, i think we should not just follow the vids of how people turn the steering, cause if different cars sure got different feel wan, so i guess how much to turn and all is all base on the feeling of your car..hope you get what i mean, im no pro but this is how i do all my tricks with the car....you gotta feel the car....

my two cents larr....

plz correct me if im wrong.... ;)

oic.. like that...

now i begining to understand more....

haih.. hachi rokku ar... i wish so lo..
but mine just simple old car...

anyone staying i n penang
know a closed place for practice?
i come out find many place near me
also cant find any big empty space lor...
i scare hit the roadside then need to repair suspension arm
i have no money...

Wanna play drift also need power engine lahh....
I hv 1 KP61 but damn really hard to drift,no power steering,waja slide also more syiok than my old cacat KP61 drift......

hehehehe...

actually last time i did handbrake turn in my parents iswara (FF)
feel more easy lor.. cause the handbrake more 'light' to pull

not like my old car..
somehow the handbrake seem so 'heavy'...
(or i need to work out my left arm.. hehehehe)

anyway.. lately no rain at night la.. :(
cannot practice

Originally posted by MR_Lover@Jan 15 2005, 12:45
sam1741 -- is it DATSUN ?? hehe ..

r u the same guy in cari.com.my ??
aiks... .being exposed.. ;)