[wta] Grounding kit

singleguy

Hi.
i was wondering.. theres so many types of grounding kit in the market.

Seller told me the thicker the better. But since im drving small kars.. like satria and kelisa. Wouldnt the thick grounding wires too much for the car to handle?

thanks.

Originally posted by Jackie Leong@Mar 30 2005, 23:30
thicker wires = less resistance.. not? :unsure:
[snapback]855094[/snapback]​

yes thicker wires less resistant.

but will it like teh flow too much? or since thicker is more expensive.. smaller car actually dun really need that thick?

Originally posted by singleguy+Mar 31 2005, 20:02 -->
QUOTE(singleguy @ Mar 31 2005, 20:02 )
--QuoteBegin-Jackie Leong
@Mar 30 2005, 23:30
thicker wires = less resistance.. not? :unsure:
[snapback]855094[/snapback]​

yes thicker wires less resistant.

but will it like teh flow too much? or since thicker is more expensive.. smaller car actually dun really need that thick?
[snapback]857935[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

It's not necessarily to be all 4ga cables or all 6 gauge cables. A combination of 4 and 8 or 4 and 6 gauge cables will do.

Thicker won't flow more, but flow easier. What one would like to achieve with grounding is to provide an easier path for the electrical current to flow back to the battery (therefore grounding), or for the electrons to flow from the battery to the components. If the cable is too thin, simply judge by the cross-section, it wll not be effective as the body panels, frames, etc will still be the easier path for the flow.

One simplest way of improving grounding is by adding a think cable to the body from the battery that serve as assistance path to the original grounding cable.

these grounding points are 'a must' if one would like to have an effective grounding:

1. body/chassis near the front bulk head (for brighter lights)
2. engine block (to ground the static current due to heat and friction)
3. alternator (beter overall electrical performance)
4. firewall (dash board instruments, HU, meter, etc)
5. ignition distributor (better spark)
6. autogearbox (if applicable, smoother transmission response)

look at the price. more expensive is definitely better.

HKS super earth vs. cap ayam DIY

which one you think better?

Originally posted by coldfish@Apr 1 2005, 12:36
look at the price. more expensive is definitely better.

HKS super earth vs. cap ayam DIY

which one you think better?
[snapback]859258[/snapback]​

If you know about costing, branding and marketing strategy, you will know why some brands are being sold at a price 2-fold than the other. You want functionality or brand? If they don't work the same, how many percentage better is the more expensive one compared to the cap ayam? Well, can you justify the cost versus performance between the two? This might not applicable to certain aspect buy i tell you, DIY stuffs sometimes works equally practical in RM/performance term.

wow. easy does it. :D

"cheap thing no good, good thing no cheap"

compare a Fluidyne aluminium multicore radiator to a chop shop replacement.

just pulling your leg, buddy. i do agree that for grouding kits, DIY works just as well as any branded parts because the effects/gains are so minimal that i would say negligible. but i still can't deny the quoted phrase above. again, it's case to case.

as you said, it's case to case. Everyone agrees on this. :)

Oh yeah.. grounding doesn work? Then you have to ask those who have installed one. Haha!! Simple, every driver focus on different things. Things that one wouldn't appreciate doesn't mean that others don't. Correct?

i have the pivot raizin with grounding. at the beginning, i got better sound from the speakers, the tweeters were more prominent. i think my starting was a lil bit more easy. revving was slightly smoother. but u know, i only felt a very very small difference. and after a while, i didn't feel it anymore probably because i got used to it. i think i felt more umph when i changed my plug cables instead. then again, Honda's are pretty well grounded. and installing grounding kits in a MCSB probably gave minimal effect.

MCSB, ya'll. :D

Originally posted by coldfish@Apr 1 2005, 19:15
i have the pivot raizin with grounding. at the beginning, i got better sound from the speakers, the tweeters were more prominent. i think my starting was a lil bit more easy. revving was slightly smoother. but u know, i only felt a very very small difference. and after a while, i didn't feel it anymore probably because i got used to it. i think i felt more umph when i changed my plug cables instead. then again, Honda's are pretty well grounded. and installing grounding kits in a MCSB probably gave minimal effect.

MCSB, ya'll. :D
[snapback]860395[/snapback]​

in this case.. then install in my satria definately will c a big increase ler i guess.
now i felt my car . to much power being pulled to the soundsystem.. air corn also making noise already. so thought of invest abit to make verything stable abit.

The key player in the grounding is cable resistance. ALWAYS find out the resistance of a cable before buying it. Otherwise a thicker cable may even flow less than a thinner cable coz it's resistance is higher.

By using Ohm's Law :- V = IR hence if the resistance increases, and the voltage remains the same then the current flowing through will definitely be decreased.

DIY kit should cost a lot cheaper and if you manage to find good cables with low resistance at an affordable price, then it would be even better than aftermarket ones.

Cheers man... Have fun experimenting.

DIY kit should cost a lot cheaper and if you manage to find good cables with low resistance at an affordable price, then it would be even better than aftermarket ones.

That would be very, very very difficult.

if I can get this type of product, the price will 3 or 4 time higher than than the current product then u all will say me cos sell so expensive liao better buy at shop rather than me. u will think i not honest person

i have installed and no diff
i guess it was too slighty to be noticeable

ccsoon1984,
When we are into bussiness, no one will care about our honesty, as long as the customer satisfied with what we provide.

et5828,
Yeap.. The effect varies from vehicle to vehicle even the same model, and from driver to driver.