wrx sti

Hi and greetings to all subaru sifus,

Saw in motortrader the 6 speed sti japan export model going for 159k.It stated 320hp/280kmh and ver7/8(must be version 7 i guess) unregistered.

159k for a sti bug eyed isnt it a good buy???..what are the things to look out before commiting? any advice ?? thanks

ps( any good repair workshop in penang)

Standard v7 JDM WRX STi rated at 280ps (about 276bhp) and top speed is about 250+ km/h. RM150k is a reasonable price for one in very good condition. Make sure you get the car checked by someone who is experienced in these cars before you pay anything.

Hi there. I got a fren jus got his Ver 7 STi for ard RM155k+ oso... Jus 2 wks ago! So i guess de price is ard there! But make sure it is a STi version... If it is WRX version... then de car is not worth this pricing... properly 20-30% less or more... For STi, engine code will b EJ207 n WRX is EJ205... Oso differentiate de Steering, seats, exhuast, engine layout (especially de red intake), n etc... It is good to do some research on STi ver7 b4 u really commit urself to de car...

Hope this help!!! Happy Hunting!!! :)

Myself a STi ver8 owner!!! ('',) Cheers!!!

brasso,

Hey fren, if it is rm17xk then de ver8 must b WRX n not STi spec!!! Hehehe... Ver8 STi is selling for rm19xk lar... I bought it for close to rm200k few mths back!!! n my dealer now do hv a very nice n good condition Ver8 STi black color with them... asking for rm198k b4 nego lor.... Seen de car liao... very nice condition!!! Somemore in black color, WoW very Garang lar!!!

Besides, they do hv a unit of Ver9 too... de latest Scooby - STi Spec C gold color!!! Frankly speaking i used to hate de outlook of it... Jus couldnt understand abt de front grile!!! Hahaha... Guess what? After reading few Jap mag... I started to luv it man!!! Suprise Suprise!!! Hahaha... For me, a Black Ver9 with 18" rims n lowered car body with front STi lip really look cool man!!! If got chance, go see de Cusco Ver9 STi u wil understand what i meant!!! hehehe... So now thinking hard whether to change my Ver8 to Ver9 or not... I know if i do it i'll lose lotsa $$$... but it is very tempting lar... No joke!!!

Actually i test drive de car once when it was touching my dealer place almost a mth ago... I felt de car very 'European/continental' car alike... Quiet, very quiet de car... Doesnt feel like a performance car at all!!! And at tht time, i hate it man... Hahaha... Besides de engine with 43.0kg/m of touque didnt seems like hving a big different compare to my current Ver8 (i modded my Ver8 with after mkt ECU + exhuast + air filter + etc)... But de car handling is good!!! Very comfortable car!!!

Cheers!!!

I'm also looking out for a Rex, but probably a version 8 wrx. The version 7 bug eye doesn't really do it for me, even though the price of a version 8 wrx and a version 7 sti are around the same. RM150K for an sti is really tempting... but once again, the bug eyes...
Anyway, would like to know from you guys, do you recommend getting a rex as a daily driven car? Really considering the rex, but would look kinda silly having 280bhp under the hood but getting stuck in the jams everyday going to work and going home.

Bros....I got an offer for a WRX version 8 year 2003 going for RM158k b4 insurance. It is going to be Registered to be 00/06 in the registration card to evade taxes. Do u guys think its a good buy.
What do u think the price should be for a Version 7 WRX 2001 registered ?

crazievitek,

Hello! To hv a STi for ur daily drive wil b great man!!! Haha... No joke! As long as u dun mod it, STi is a very good n comfortable car to drive ard in Town!!! Very easy driving machine!!! Dun b deceive by de 280hp of de car... As for de ori clutch (STi) setting, it is quite soft compare to other performance car such as Evo... So when stuck in jam oso not tht bad lar... Jus like driving any normal manual car... No big different!!!

As for de bug eye Ver7 or Ver8 is totally up to urself reference!!! Hahaha... Myself oso luv de ver8 more than de bug eye!!! Hehehe... no hard feeling!!! If price isnt an issue... go for Ver8 Sti lor... If not Ver7 Sti oso not bad ler... As for WRX hor... there r lots of differences... especially de car chasis, not to say abt other strengthen parts...

TOMEI-R, Hi there. Jus wanna to comment something... Abt de 00/06 registration hor, yup no doubt it can evade some taxes... But when u wanna to sell off ur car, same thing wil happen to u... u cant sell it high price due to de registration yr oso... U get my point? If u plan to hv de car for urself for at least 4-5 yrs, then ok lar... If not, not worth to buy it... Jus my own opinion... But i guess it wil not b cheaper by much...

As for Ver7 WRX should b ard rm120k+/-... depends on yr of manufactured n registered, oso de car condition!!! :_:

Cheers!!!

crazievitek said:
I'm also looking out for a Rex, but probably a version 8 wrx. The version 7 bug eye doesn't really do it for me, even though the price of a version 8 wrx and a version 7 sti are around the same. RM150K for an sti is really tempting... but once again, the bug eyes...
Anyway, would like to know from you guys, do you recommend getting a rex as a daily driven car? Really considering the rex, but would look kinda silly having 280bhp under the hood but getting stuck in the jams everyday going to work and going home.
Remember that there is a big difference in performance between the base WRX and the STi. The STi has a lot of stuff not on the base WRX, e.g. the EJ207 engine (stronger internals than EJ205) 6speed MT, front LSD, DCCD, etc. Also, the base WRX is rated at 220bhp whereas the STi is 280bhp. But I agree that the ver8 looks much nicer than ver7. So if you cant afford a ver8 STi, then you can always get the ver8 base WRX and just mod it. I understand that the WRX can be easily modded to beat a stock STi in terms of power.

If you can drive a manual car in KL traffic, then driving the WRX as a daily driver will be a piece of cake. Very light clutch, comfortable suspension, seats, etc.

if you want more buyer's info on WRX/STI/Versions do a search on http://forums.mysubaruclub.com/

Cheers

Storm & Wetsprocket,
having driven my manual Civic with B16A for a few years, driving in KL with a manual is ok for me. Although sometimes, just sometimes, when I'm caught in a very bad jam... I wish.... that I had a motorbike. Hahah...
I don't plan to mod the engine, be it a WRX or STi. I've already had my fun modding engines on my civic. On the Rex, what I'm looking for is a car with decent enough low end grunt and high end power. Having 280bhp would be nice, but not necessary (1 year ago, you wouldn't hear me say these words. Heck, maybe because I'm getting old... :p) .
The target for the Rex would be to enjoy the stock engine as it is, and concentrate on some minor cosmetics (rims, bodykit, ride height) and ICE.

crazievitek,

Hey, if u hv been driving a manual B16A I think u wil b more than ok with de Scooby man!!! :regular_smile: So u gonna sell off ur Civic or jus buy another Scooby? Yo... 1 thing to let u know... Hv u really test drive a Scooby b4? Cos u mentioned "I'm looking for is a car with decent enough low end grunt"... For me, i felt de Scooby is a bit lack below 3,500rpm... De turbo actually kicking in ard 4,000rpm n above!!!

So crazie, u better go test drive 1 b4 u make any decision!!! Besides tht, Scooby is a nice good car to drive ard!!! So most likely u wil b going for de Ver8 WRX? What's ur preference color? Hehehe... Myself is silver color... A bit rare as most Scooby in town come in Blue or Black!!! :_:

The main concern about buying a second hand unit is whether the previous owner did or did not trash the car. I've just viewed one unit, the car comes with lotsa modifications like larger turbines, front mounted i/c etc. That actually makes me worry if they car will need hefty repair works.
Also with such modifications, it would be weird that the owner drives the car slowly.
To me, such modifications are turn downs. Think I would prefer an unregistered one. Moreover, the price of those already converted doesnt come cheap too.

Go to Motor Image in PJ (near LRT station near Armada Hotel), and test drive the ver8 WRX. They will be quite happy to give you a test drive, even if you dont buy from them.

Because the base WRX has a smaller turbo (TD04) than the ver7 STi (IHI VF30/34), it will spool up faster, but will have less top end. IIRC the max boost for base WRX (0.9bar) will be at around 3,200rpm, then it will gradually taper down to about 0.5bar above 6,000rpm - redline at 7,000rpm.

So to get the best amount of torque you need to keep the rpms above 3,000rpm or so. The acceleration is tremendous, and if you're in town you'll run out of clear road very quickly! Have fun!

Stormvolution 9 said:
crazievitek,

Hey, if u hv been driving a manual B16A I think u wil b more than ok with de Scooby man!!! :regular_smile: So u gonna sell off ur Civic or jus buy another Scooby? Yo... 1 thing to let u know... Hv u really test drive a Scooby b4? Cos u mentioned "I'm looking for is a car with decent enough low end grunt"... For me, i felt de Scooby is a bit lack below 3,500rpm... De turbo actually kicking in ard 4,000rpm n above!!!

So crazie, u better go test drive 1 b4 u make any decision!!! Besides tht, Scooby is a nice good car to drive ard!!! So most likely u wil b going for de Ver8 WRX? What's ur preference color? Hehehe... Myself is silver color... A bit rare as most Scooby in town come in Blue or Black!!! :_:

Will be selling off my Civic (my baby :sad_smile:) to get the Rex. I've not tested the Rex yet, waiting for my gf to return from Korea before going to test drive with her. Hmm... correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe that the WRX has more low end grunt than the STi because the turbo spools up faster?

Yeah, will definitely go for a test drive. Colour wise, I'm going for either black or white. After using a special silver/blue colour on my Civic for a few years, I'm going for the basic sporty black or white colour.

wetsprocket said:
Go to Motor Image in PJ (near LRT station near Armada Hotel), and test drive the ver8 WRX. They will be quite happy to give you a test drive, even if you dont buy from them.

Because the base WRX has a smaller turbo (TD04) than the ver7 STi (IHI VF30/34), it will spool up faster, but will have less top end. IIRC the max boost for base WRX (0.9bar) will be at around 3,200rpm, then it will gradually taper down to about 0.5bar above 6,000rpm - redline at 7,000rpm.

So to get the best amount of torque you need to keep the rpms above 3,000rpm or so. The acceleration is tremendous, and if you're in town you'll run out of clear road very quickly! Have fun!

Yeap, I plan to go to MI in a few weeks time to test drive the ver8 WRX. Max boost at 3,200rpm sounds fine to me. If still not happy with the performance, then put on the PPP. Hahaha... just joking.

I know what you mean about running out of clear roads quickly. Even on my civic now, I can usually VTEC through 2 gears only before needing to jam the brakes else would slam into traffic in front already.

crazievitek,

Yo, myself hvnt test drive a WRX b4! But my dad did b4 v decided to go for de STi ver8!!! As what wetsprocket bro said is true, de turbo for WRX spool up faster than de STi version! :_: Yeah oso tht MI r very happy to give u ard of test drive!!! They r very frenly ppl!!! V send out car to MI for servicing too but not modding!!! Knowing from MI, their mgt is trying to bring in more PPP products/upgrade kits to Msia with warranty soon!!! Hurrayyyyyyyyyyy!!! Good newz to all Scooby fans in Msia!!! :regular_smile:

White Scooby looks good too!!! I viewed a white Ver8 STi Spec C in Naza b4 I bought de Silver 1... It was very cool looking!!!

But tht car was total lost (crashed badly - i was being told by another salesperson when i go back for de silver 1) as 1 of Naza salesperson drove de car all de way down to JB for de sales festival there or something... And de worst thing is de salesperson broke both his legs... :sad_smile: I guess de salesperson must b overspeeding insensiby as de car is very easy to go high speed... Too bad!!!

Stormvolution 9
Bro....I think I'll heed your advice coz the resale market must be according to the year declared. Anyway, I dont want to have trouble with the Customs ppl next time coz the importer failed to declare the actual value of the car later. Lately there has been lotsa cases involving under declared cars and fake a.ps.