Woofer Issues...

bullet_nos

Hi guys, :rolleyes:

Can any sifu here help explain to me this phenomenon? whereby the sub just vibrates constantly, thus, not producing tight bass anymore. It sort of muffles the sound abit, i've seen a few times on different subs before. is it because of enclosure matters? power? cables? HU? i mean, the song if played in some cars ok, tight bass, but in some the bass just keeps going, got heavy humming sound. :unsure:

thanx guys. i hope u get wat im trying to ask here. cheers :rolleyes:

Tuning.

Caused by the crossover freq.

(just my guess coz i adjust my crossover on my amp, it changes the sub sound from humming to tight bass note)

yes...set it over 75-100...last time set my kicker comp 2 100hz...walan ehh...damn syiok wit the bass...

thanx guys for your expert opinions! i'll go check the amp if its tuned to that frequency.

Morever, it runs from a preamp sub output, if say the frequency is already 75-100hz, then how?

okok, i'll go check the amp and all first and get back to u guys. thanx!

Originally posted by bullet_nos@Mar 13 2005, 22:41
thanx guys for your expert opinions! i'll go check the amp if its tuned to that frequency.

Morever, it runs from a preamp sub output, if say the frequency is already 75-100hz, then how?

okok, i'll go check the amp and all first and get back to u guys. thanx!

if its tuned to that and still have this problem, its could be due to the badly made (calculated) enclosure.

Or a bad quality amplifier.

its not my car, my brother-in-law's car, running cap ayam amp with pioneer 10" sub. box was bought off the shelf.

Among the reasons could be
1. Amp lack of control
2. Sub is "slow"
3. sub not sealed properly to box
4. Try cross it as low as possible, if 70Hz cannot try 63 or 50Hz

If you go buta buta to any greedy audio installer sure they ask you to change to new sub.said that this sub going to kong soon la this la... trust me.... kena many times already hahahaha...last incident i just wanna ask about a cap then the sohai installer wanna test my audio then tell me that my sub going to kong soon. i told him back on what base that he said that my sub going to kong soon... he said listen here ah... pump up my sub then he said see the sub vibrates then not enuff punch... i laugh back , lengchai... i just relocate my amp and sub and not tuned them yet la... then he said nemind we can do it for you... i told him that i wont let anyone that i dun know to touch my system... then afterwerd he become hostile and replied wei ive been in this industry for 5 years la... dun u trust me... i said back.. ok ... maybe i can trust you but how can i pay you...i dun have enuff money...nemid...we accept card oso... ha? i said... cc? how much u gonna charge me... he said aiseh...not much la... rm150 nice nice i do it for you... sohai... seriously this guy wanna rip me... i said...hehehe...if you can swipe my card u terror la...my card already reach limit this morning...

Sad case la... so next time, be carefull.

Actually the "vibration" is known as bass extension which Audiphiles crave for. Usually at 20Hz-50Hz levels. Like real drums, you actually hear the decay of the sound as it dies down. If you want tight bass, set your crossover to cut in at 100Hz for the tight bass you are looking for.

Originally posted by EG8@Mar 20 2005, 02:58
If you go buta buta to any greedy audio installer sure they ask you to change to new sub.said that this sub going to kong soon la this la... trust me.... kena many times already hahahaha...last incident i just wanna ask about a cap then the sohai installer wanna test my audio then tell me that my sub going to kong soon. i told him back on what base that he said that my sub going to kong soon... he said listen here ah... pump up my sub then he said see the sub vibrates then not enuff punch... i laugh back , lengchai... i just relocate my amp and sub and not tuned them yet la... then he said nemind we can do it for you... i told him that i wont let anyone that i dun know to touch my system... then afterwerd he become hostile and replied wei ive been in this industry for 5 years la... dun u trust me... i said back.. ok ... maybe i can trust you but how can i pay you...i dun have enuff money...nemid...we accept card oso... ha? i said... cc? how much u gonna charge me... he said aiseh...not much la... rm150 nice nice i do it for you... sohai... seriously this guy wanna rip me... i said...hehehe...if you can swipe my card u terror la...my card already reach limit this morning...

Sad case la... so next time, be carefull.
[snapback]824317[/snapback]​

hi guys, forgot to update, thanx guys a bunch!!!! :D :D problem solved. the amp was just not tuned. the sub was trying to sing and boom at the same time! :P not i set around 75Hz, ok liow. :rolleyes:

btw, i have a sony amp, but when i set high or low pass filter, or off that function altogether, there is no difference! i was testing it using my 6" components. how ar? can it be due to faulty amp crossover functions?

thanx guys!

Originally posted by bullet_nos@Apr 24 2005, 10:06
btw, i have a sony amp, but when i set high or low pass filter, or off that function altogether, there is no difference! i was testing it using my 6" components. how ar? can it be due to faulty amp crossover functions?

thanx guys!

[snapback]922622[/snapback]​

is it a 4 channel amp? maybe u need to set to 4ch (some amp have functiion to run a 4ch to 2ch and probably disabled the crossover function due to mono stage alreaady)

er, no ler, mine is a 2ch amp, using it to power component set. but filter never used so far, then when i tune it, no difference. :blink: