Why need to Engage Neutral Gear to Start an Auto Car.

dr.who

Hello everyone,

Need advice from anyone who has experience this.

It's quite an old car, I've an experience when I try start the car when it's in P gear but can't be started. Even though try lots of times.

But when engage to N gear the car able to start.

This happens sometimes when the car stopped for quite sometime.

Pls advice what is the problem.

TQ.

Find a wireman to check it..
Might be the relay (dun knoe the name) kong liao...
The thing (or relay la) I dun knoe the actual name that make it can not start...
Good Luck..

Yeah, my bro's Vitara kena before. Have to push to P and N then P and N then try your luck only can start. Fixing some wiring (mechanic did it though) fixed the issue once and for all!

Agree, something fishy with the wirings. :biggrin:

I drove my car for wiring after manual to auto conversion, it can start at any position. Start at D is like starting your car at first gear. :rofl:

normally, problems with this lies at the Neutral Start Switch. also known as Prihibitor Switch because it prohibits any start other than N or P. its located at the end of your gear link cable - that actuates the linkage into your auto tranny.