HELP~HARD to engage gear

silverchair

After letting car overnight, especially cold weather in the morning, its very hard to engage the gear12345,R... WHY???Got something stuck at it.. But if i off the engine, its easy to put in gear 12345,R..
After moving a distance, its become normal..
Also everytime start car, clutch is low.. WHY??

i juz 1 know some possible causes b4 i send my car to mechanic.. plz help 10s

you have to explain in detail, its hard to understand with what you have said.

if you are using hydraulic clutch, check the fluid reservoir , see if it is empty or low. i don't understand the "when turn off engine it is easy to engage gear.. after moving a while it become normal.." part, just don't make sense to me, or i misunderstand it somewhere?

anyway, please explain further. Sounds to me like your gearbox oil's prob, or maybe synchromesh.

check your gearbox oil as well as your clutch's hydraulic pump.
Could be a leakage or airbubbles.

maybe u can try to adjust the clutch paddle high a bit coz when clutch level very low, means that it was not fully 'use'.. same like when u not fully hit the paddle during engaging gear..

1st of all..do let us know ur car model. coz there r two types of clutch system, one using clutch cable and another one is hydraulic type....

hydraulic type :

check clutch fluid level....if ther is empty...most probably there is a leak...clutch master pump rubber leaking or the secondary pump leakage....

cable type :

- check clutch level, adjust the cable if not correct.
- check clutch cover....

Same thing happened to me.

What silverchair meant was that when the engine is on, hard to engage the gears even if the clutch is fully depressed. But when you shut the engine off, you can shift the gears easily.

I drove around with this problem (only 1st gear hard to engage) for a few weeks and one fine day it went away. Probably cause the clutch is not fully disengaged.

Same thing happened to me.

What silverchair meant was that when the engine is on, hard to engage the gears even if the clutch is fully depressed. But when you shut the engine off, you can shift the gears easily.

I drove around with this problem (only 1st gear hard to engage) for a few weeks and one fine day it went away. Probably cause the clutch is not fully disengaged.
whenever you say that i'm having cold sweat lol.. cuz my clutch problem have been haunting me for a long time until i change the whole master cylinder recently. sometime like press nothing only..

Im also having the same prob. Its just not smooth when changing gear, like feel got sumthin blocking the way.
To compare with my fren iswara, its damn 100% smooth.

I wonder how to make my gear bcome liddat . Even after changing clutch plate also liddat ( 4 months ago ) ...

Could it be gearbox prob ??

all the proton's i drive have gearbox 100% smooth one wor... dunno why.. i thought its what front wheel drive car's gbox behavior? my gearbox also hard to go in gear sometime.. easier when i do rev match.. so mine could be synchromesh worn out already..

hmmm...

here's my problem. i'm driving a 6 speed BT.

my 2nd gear quite hard to engage in sometimes. like from 1st to 2nd and 3rd to 2nd gear.

sometimes when at traffic light tat time, i damn tulan. car already moving with 1st gear, when i was about to engage into 2nd gear, it cannot masuk. argghhh...
so have to throttle more in 1st gear only can engage into 2nd gear.

in my case, sometimes i need to throttle until above 2k rpm only the 2nd gear can be engage into easily.

sifooss... any explanation or solutions?

hmmm...

here's my problem. i'm driving a 6 speed BT.

my 2nd gear quite hard to engage in sometimes. like from 1st to 2nd and 3rd to 2nd gear.

sometimes when at traffic light tat time, i damn tulan. car already moving with 1st gear, when i was about to engage into 2nd gear, it cannot masuk. argghhh...
so have to throttle more in 1st gear only can engage into 2nd gear.

in my case, sometimes i need to throttle until above 2k rpm only the 2nd gear can be engage into easily.

sifooss... any explanation or solutions?

Funny, I'm driving a 20V toyota, rollakid's driving a 20V toyota, you're driving a 20V toyota too. Must be some problem with toyota's gb that comes with the 20V hehe.

imoloq, you're having the same problem also?

i'm not sure, but i wonder if it's synchromech worn out problem.

er i'm using ae86 gearbox wor.. nothing to do with 20v's ori gearbox XD..

my 2nd gear also hardest to shift in compare to all other gears, maybe its the gear we most play with.. everytime need hantam the car sure whack in 2nd gear and drag all teh way.. lol.. maybe thats why..

mine is when 1st gear rev too high its hard to go in 2nd gear.. cuz the higher the rev the harder it is to find the right rpm to shift in to 2nd gear. so the easiest way for me to go in 2nd gear is to shift as soon as the car start moving a little.

downshift to 2nd gear also the same.. 3rd or 4th gear no heel-toe = no 2nd gear for me.. it just won't go in.. heel toe wrongly or din get to correct rpm it also dun wan go in 2nd gear..

grrr...

sry 4 late reply~~ im using gsr 4wd lock gearbox.. n wat i meant is .....
EXAMPLE: At morning in Genting, start engine, engage gear 12345,R (cannot), so off engine, engage gear12345,R(can). So, start engine again, engage gear1 'brutally', let car move for few minutes, then gear become easily to engage liao..

haha hope u all understand, anyways i had change my gear oil n adjust clutch pedal higher. n seem like no prob liao.. not so sure yet, later update.

thanksall

Used to have that problem. Now ok already.

how did you solve that 2nd gear engage problem? argghhh....

rolla, my case is low rpm, hard to engage. high rpm easy to go in. :confused_smile:

how did you solve that 2nd gear engage problem? argghhh....

rolla, my case is low rpm, hard to engage. high rpm easy to go in. :confused_smile:

Mine is from neutral engage 1st gear hard. Damn tulan when cannot engage at tols. I didn't do anything. It just went away by itself. Probably because the clutch wasn't fully disengaged.

Yours should be a synchromesh problem since you need high rpm to engage it. Just my 2 cents.

sry 4 late reply~~ im using gsr 4wd lock gearbox.. n wat i meant is .....
EXAMPLE: At morning in Genting, start engine, engage gear 12345,R (cannot), so off engine, engage gear12345,R(can). So, start engine again, engage gear1 'brutally', let car move for few minutes, then gear become easily to engage liao..

haha hope u all understand, anyways i had change my gear oil n adjust clutch pedal higher. n seem like no prob liao.. not so sure yet, later update.

thanksall
har... so strange one.. first time i hear that kind of case..

kato,
strange ler.. totally different.. mine is more synchromesh prob, any rpm not matching speed is hard to go in... if go in the whole gearbox go clanking and like wan blow..

good also lar.. in a way... can train myself to use a straight cut gearbox, next time buy quaife gearbox woohooo..