Need Help : Hard to Engage Gear After Change Clutch Plate

aja

Guys,

I just change my clutch plate only (standard to standard) like 2-3 days ago. Now, my manual gears are hard to engaged. Sometimes when standstill can't engage at all. Have to switch off engine & push the clutch paddel few times, then baru ok.

First thought was insufficient gear oil. Already checked. Enough!

Later, I was thinking to bleed it in this evening. Hopefully, this can solve the problem!.

Anyone have experience the same problem before (on Honda)?.

Did u change the pressure plate?? coz if u havent, i believe it would b the culprit!!

SA6YEuro said:
Did u change the pressure plate?? coz if u havent, i believe it would b the culprit!!

The pressure plate is the one with 4 springs on it right?. If yes, actually that was the one i changed. (i use to call it the clutch plate only). My clutch cover still ok.

Thing ok prior to the change, now is like hard to engage already. Car not so driveable.

Last time, i noticed from my younger sister wira 1.6 manual. Gear hardly to engaged due to the clutch pump pressure dah masuk air (morless got bubble, cause she love to go into deep water whenever heavy rain!). I wonder if Honda having the same scenario.

zero4 said:
do u feel like there is something stuck when u change gears?

zero4,
Yeap, expecially downshifting from 5th-->4th & 4th -->3rd. Sometimes happened. Feel like something 'gripped' the gear shaft whenever i pressed my clutch pedal to downshifting!. If long hour drive sometime ok, sometime not.

Y arrh?. Prior to this, sihat jer! Any immidiate suggestion/solution?.

syiokGiler,
Ok. Later petang will ask him to do it. FYI, currently my clutch is consider already 'tinggi' (long). Hopefully it can be done la.

usually as i know if hard 2 engage, its bcoz clutch sudah nipis mah!

like last month i had to readjust my clutch cable eventhough i juz changed mine 6 months ago....... but then if u r usin hydraulic, then its definitely pressure related.....

aja said:
zero4,
Yeap, expecially downshifting from 5th-->4th & 4th -->3rd. Sometimes happened. Feel like something 'gripped' the gear shaft whenever i pressed my clutch pedal to downshifting!. If long hour drive sometime ok, sometime not.

Y arrh?. Prior to this, sihat jer! Any immidiate suggestion/solution?.

my friend is having the same problem, after changing new clutch, very difficult to engage 1st gear, feels like something is stuck, eventhough force into 1st gear, can feel that something is blocking

unfortunately, we still cant seems to find out the reason behind this so far, else can share some info with you

zero4 said:
my friend is having the same problem, after changing new clutch, very difficult to engage 1st gear, feels like something is stuck, eventhough force into 1st gear, can feel that something is blocking

unfortunately, we still cant seems to find out the reason behind this so far, else can share some info with you

Ok lah. Actually i've already informed my mechanic this morning .This evening will ask him to re-check again. Will update the solution here later (hopefully can't solve la!).

For the time being, whoever has other opinion or solution, please share here.
Thanks a lot.

Guys,
I've changed the new gear oil (same brand) & also bleeded the clutch yesterday evening. Same problems seldomly still occured. Was thinking to try to running it within 2-3 days, and see the result. If the still the same, i think better changed back to the ori clutch plate la!.

Yer la. Running in first. But now can feel lesser problems liao. Hopefully the trend will sustain la. Ada ketat2 sikit la.

Guys,

Problems at last SOLVED.

How?. changed back the halfcut clutch plate today. The original plate came with endorsed 'HONDA' word on it!!. The new one I bought is a fake one!. That y the gears all stuck & hard to engaged!

Morale of the story :-
Use only a Honda ORIGINAL clutch plate, endorsed with 'HONDA' word on the plate. Don't use the normal (or fake??) one with no Honda word endorsed, even though outside the box it stated that it's an original plate from Japan etc!!.

The original & the fake one is moreless the same, except for the spring size. As for the original, the spring size is harder & bigger as compared to the fake one.

Below pics are examples of endorsed 'Honda' word on original plate & the fake one !. :

zero4 said:

zero4,
Now seems that the problem is solved!!